We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Great place near the beach”
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful little hotel. We were able to bring our dogs because they have rooms for this purpose. They also have fireplaces in every room that is nice on a cool coastal night. It sits on high bluffs that overlook the Pacific. There is a short walk to the stairway that leads down to the beach. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mielyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    343
    115
    44
    18
See reviews for
344
541
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We stayed at the cottage inn on the 27th and 28th July 2010.

Location... the location of the hotel is on a cliffs edge overlooking the sea and the state beach to the left. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk into the main part of Pismo however there are plenty of restaurants on the way. The hotel has steps down the beach which is a great asset.

Facilities...the hotel has a small pool and hot tub. Both are very nice, also there are deck chairs around the pools edge. The hotel also provides seats on the cliffs edge which gives amazing views over the sea and beaches. (there is a fence between you and the edge so you are not in a dangerous spot)

Rooms... we had a ground level ocean view room and it was definitely worth the extra money. The rooms are not huge, you get a king bed, TV, two chairs and a small table. There isn't lots of room to move about to be honest. The real plus of this room is the little patio area you get which over looks the beach and sea.

One downer to this hotel was the WIFI, it was awful. It kept cutting out and when you did connect it was like going back 10 years. The speed was so slow we gave up.

We loved this hotel and really didn't want to leave, the views were just priceless. I'm not sure we would of loved it as much if we didn't have the patio and the view. So i would recommend people paying the extra as it is definitely worth it. We could always tell when new people arrived because they would come around to the front and you would just hear 'wow' and they would stand there for 5 minutes just looking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sturich19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Stayed here for the 4th of July and the view of the fireworks were perfect. My son insisted that we also watch from the beach which was ok, because it's just a few minutes walk down to the beach. Rooms were clean, the staff was very helpful and the free breakfast each morning was nice. During the 4th of July, the hotel made sure only those with authorized parking were in the parking lot which was a big help. In the morning, running or just taking walks on the beach was refreshing and biking down to Shell Beach was a good change of pace. We also enjoyed the pool and hot tub and taking pictures from the cliff. If you like seafood try the Cracked Crab and Splash Cafe for really good clam chowder. Heading back towards Shell Beach there's a nice deli called De Palo & Sons. Costco is only about 10-15 minutes away so getting gas and stocking up was easy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZMZKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Cottage for three nights for the 4th of July holiday. Everything was perfect, from the moment we checked in until our departure. Hotel staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel was so quiet, even on a busy holiday weekend. We are planning another stay for the Labor Day holiday. Stay at this property, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherylM58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My family and I visit the Cottage Inn at least once a year. Their grounds are beautiful, including a well-kept, garden area overlooking the ocean. Personally, I find the view from the oceanfront rooms more scenic than when I stay in Maui. The rooms are not too large, but extremely comfortable. It would be nice to have more than one option of pillow, but most should find them comfortable. The in-room gas fireplace makes provides a great touch during winter. While the rooms do not have air conditioners, I have never had an experience in which I needed one. Simply open the windows and take in the fresh ocean air.

My kids especially enjoy the expanded continental breakfast, which includes items like pastries, bagels, oatmeal, fruit, and make-your-own waffles. Plus, you can either eat inside, with plenty of tables, or outside on the patio, with the partial view of the ocean. They even have high-chairs for the little ones. Also, they offer cookies in the lobby in the afternoon from a local bakery.

The service is another quality of the Cottage Inn. The frontdesk staff is very friendly and is willing to help with ideas for dinner or directions. They are equally helpful online with securing your booking preferences. I have found other members of the hotel staff to be friendly as well, greeting us while walking to our room.

Overall, the Cottage Inn is a wonderful hotel to visit. It is not large or extravagant, but offers a calm and relaxing environment. I would strongly recommend it. If you are staying in Pismo Beach, the Lighthouse Suites and Cottage Inn are the best by far. I believe that the Lighthouse Suites offer some bigger accommodations with multiple bedrooms, but the Cottage Inn has left with me the most memorable experiences.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Our room was big and nice. The pool is small but has great views. In general this is a great place to stay. I would recomend comparing rates with the Pismo Lighthouse Suites which is right next door and stay at which ever is cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bignastysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHRIDGE
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This place is absolutely wonderful! The staff makes you feel right at home! The rooms are spacious, have very comfortable beds and are equipped with a fireplace. They also have an amazing continental breakfast every morning in the main lobby. I have already been twice in the last two two months. I recommend it to everyone as a little getaway!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NINI2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing