We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed one night and had pleasant experience. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We were tired from long drive but were greeted with cookies and friendly staff. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The price was good....it is a family destination..pool adequate... great views of beach..

Room Tip: ocean view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Fresh baked cookies and hot coffee--the perfect remedy for the “Long Drive Blues!”

Best Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

This place has all you need to stop halfway San Francisco and Los Angeles on the Pacific Coast Highway. Spacious rooms, great bed, good bathroom. An easy drive from the highway. Pismo Beach itself is nothing special, but who cares after a day's driving?

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank EppoDied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We agree that Pismo Beach is a perfect location to stay over when travelling from between San Francisco and Los Angeles. We also hope that you will have more time on your next visit to discover the hidden attractions and scenic beauty of our area. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Location is great. Walking distance to restaurants. Driving distance to excursions and attractions. Opt for the oceanfront room. Wish we had, the view is great and you might get more of the ocean breeze. Our room had no a/c and was a little warm during the day. The free breakfast was good. Waffles, toast, etc, with added outdoor seating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ale32931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed the location of The Cottage Inn in Pismo Beach. We highly recommend our oceanfront rooms and we encourage you to reserve in advanced for the best selection.

Kindly,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed in june. My wife and mother in law with me. It was a saturday night. The property is nice. Great views of the ocean and pismo beach. However the property is wide open and people pass thru all the time and run past your room which can make u upset late at night. Especially when u just paid close to 400 for the night. The room was niceand the fireplace was cool. But our brand new car received a large dent in the door from the cramped crowded parking lot. Anyway it was ok except for that. Oh the breakfast was so crowded with families with lots of kids that i had to slip in grab a yogurt and run. Well worth about 200 a night but 400 is pushing it.

Room Tip: Pick something away from where everyone walks thru which is the rooms with the good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank hydrostaticman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to hear about the mishap with regards to your car door. Please contact me at your convenience so that I may personally discuss your concerns with you.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager
805-773-4617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

From the time I made the reservation to check out was a great experience. Cathy was very helpful when making my reservation, she even called me back to mention an event going on that weekend that I could surprise my husband with for our anniversary . We weren't expecting to be welcomed with a nice set up in our room to congratulate us on our 15th anniversary , or having display welcoming us at the front desk. That was a very special touch. The room was clean, beautiful, ocean view with steps to walk down to the beach. Couldn't ask for better scenario. And to top it off, there were whales easily seen from our room window as soon as we arrived. Kimberly provided great customer service upon check in and check out. We plan on taking the drive from Long Beach again to return to this beautiful getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4evermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you so much for celebrating your special Anniversary with us. We appreciate you mentioning the great service by Cathy and Kimberly, two of the best in the business! We look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My kids and I stay here every July for a reason. It is clean, the beds are comfy, the staff is great, the price is right and the view of the ocean is perfect. We also love the morning breakfast. I have been here many times over the past years and it never fails me. I am already looking forward to next July's visit to the beach and the Cottage Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank imshell68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your continued patronage. We are so excited you will be coming back next July again. I think you are going to be pleasantly surprised at what will be new at The Cottage in July.

Kindly,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I'm a seasoned Pismo Beach traveler having stayed at The Cliffs Resort and Pismo Lighthouse numerous times. This time around I decided to try a different place (also because it was last minute and everywhere else was booked)

I went with Family

With all that said- check-in was friendly and nice, the rate wasn't great but thankful they accept tripleA which helped.

Breakfast that came with the room (being included) was GREAT. Better than Lighthouse and considering at Cliffs you pay 14-17 dollars - you cant beat the free breakfast of oatmeal,yogurt, fruit, cereal, bagel,waffles, hardboiled eggs aka the basics.

The room got really hot in it but thankful the weather was in the 70s to where this didn't make a difference. Before going to bed and upon waking up we had to open the door to let some cool air in as it got stuff.


The room itself is BASIC- and since we were out exploring Pismo and San Luis Obispo it was okay. Only issue is that this is a pet friendly hotel and we were placed in a pet friendly room (due to last minute booking) and outside our room was a courtyard for pets to use the bathroom and not everyone cleaned up after their pet unfortunately.

The biggest issue I had was that the jacuzzi wasn't that great. Although it was nice and warm it had absolutely no jets- but still better than nothing.

One perk that is has VS. Cliffs and Lighthouse is that you don't have to walk a distance to get from your parking spot to your room. Also the location is fantastic on the edge with all the other hotels and you can easily drop down to the beach with ease.


I'd probably opt for an ocean view room on a higher floor for an even better experience next time and will be booking earlier to do so.

Honestly, I really enjoyed this place- it wasn't mind blowing nice but it was really relaxing and the room felt very comforting.

If they renovated the rooms a bit it would be a five star no doubt! Also improve the wifi- as the free wifi really didn't work well unless I was next to the lobby/registration areas.

I wish the rate was less, but otherwise pretty solid hotel.

Room Tip: I'd opt for a non-pet friendly room (if you don't have a pet) and ocean view for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JrTheFuture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. If you reserve with us in advance, you may be able to take advantage of our Advanced Purchase promotion. We would enjoy the opportunity to have you back for a stay in one of our ocean front rooms.

Kindly,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $136 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing