We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We used Pismo as a halfway between LA and SF. This property sits right on a beautiful cliff, overlooking the ocean. Pay extra for an oceanfront room - the view is incredible! Would love to say again!!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the oceanfront room. Open the windows and feel and smell the ocean breeze. Fabulou...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amymc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

The drive down the 1 Highway from San Francisco is one of the most beautiful in the country. We are glad you used us as your rest stop, and glad that our views were as nice as you saw on that scenic route.
Kind Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
There are newer reviews for Cottage Inn by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I stopped for one night on our way to LA from Lake Tahoe. We were celebrating our Anniversary and the GM, Jed Bickel, arranged for a welcome bottle of champagne on our bed in the room when we checked in. All the staff was very friendly - our room was right on the ocean with a terrific view. It was easy to walk down to the beach from the Inn. There are several places to walk to nearby for a dinner as well.
Overall, a great find - we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmerlot14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Congratulations again on your Anniversary. Thank you for allowing The Cottage Inn to be a part of your momentous occasion. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and loved the bedroom - two queen beds and a fireplace. It was our error that we expected more of a resort so had to walk to a restaurent for dinner - the one just along the road was excellent (Mexican) and we highly recommend this if you go there. Breakfast limited continental but otherwise a good stop over with laundry room which was handy.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank BettywithOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed the fireplaces that are in every one of our guest rooms. Ventanna Grill is a great Latin seafood-fusion restaurant with great views. We are lucky to be only a 5 minute walk to that and many other local dining options.

Kindly,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband, I and our dog stayed her in mid May. We have stayed in a few of the Pacifica Properties in the past, but none were as warm and friendly as The Cottage Inn! We love running away for 1-3 nights and this will definitely be our new "home" in the Central Coast! If you want the very best guest service you will ever have, look NO farther. Kelsi handled my reservation with ease; I was so impressed by her level of service. Jennifer answered questions for me and was so helpful especially when it came to where we should eat. (Ask her about the White Pizza!) Day two we had a flat tire and it was Kevin to the rescue! Traci provided us with a repair shop that charged us $0.00!! I wanted some additional coffee since I’m an early riser and Cathy couldn’t have been sweeter. Did I mention I heard one of the maids singing? Great view, spacious rooms, “Philosophy” bathroom products and they cater to the furry kids too! Thank you Jed for having such outstanding people who truly enjoy their jobs and make the guest feel as though they too are part of the Cottage Inn family! We will be back in September!!

Room Tip: When you call for your reservation, ask for Kelsi...she is outstanding and will take care of all you...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy195942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Cottage Inn with other potential travelers. I am very proud to read that our staff made a wonderful impression on you. Should you need anything from us in the future, please do not hesitate to give us a call.
Best Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Another great stay at the Cottage Inn with my wife and our little pup. This was our third time staying here and we love it. Since finding this gem we stay here every time we visit the Central Coast. This was the third different room category we have stayed in - we were in the pet friendly rooms with the dog run (not ocean front). Of the two pet-friendly room types, we preferred the ocean front from our last visit, but this was much more affordable during the holiday weekend. Our only issue was the lack of owners picking up their dog poop in the common dog run. We actually stopped going out there with our dog because it was a big turn off from the rest of the grounds. But overall we loved our stay and we will certainly be staying here again soon. Likely on a non-holiday weekend so we can spring for the ocean front room again :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrew3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. While most rooms are not pet friendly, we are glad you have had the opportunity to stay in the various types of choices for those that are. I apologize for other owners not being vigilant cleaning up after their pet. This is not usually a problem with our guests as we provide ample resources for pet owners to clean up after their dogs. Please feel free to bring up any questions or concerns to our dedicated staff and we will handle any issue to the best of our ability. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Kindly,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Small feel hotel, which had a good sized room and 'Philosophy' designer toiletries. Check in was quick and efficient. Great views of the ocean and easy access to the beach. Short 5 min walk to the centre of Pismo beach. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Pismo Beach. We are very glad you enjoyed our Philosophy amenities. Come back soon to see what is new at The Cottage.

Regards,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I took my son on a road trip to this quaint beach community and it did NOT disappoint. The greeting at the reception was warm and informative. The room was quite spacious for both of us and located steps from the pool/Jacuzzi, the information book contained a lot of helpful information including activities around the area, which is how we booked our ATV excursion the next day. A lot of care goes into the upkeep and maintenance to the garden that overlooks the amazing view of the ocean. My son was pleased at all the amenities in the room and the continental breakfast was perfect for us as well. the only draw back was the pool was closed during our stay...but that wouldn't keep us from staying at this lovely place in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliGirl_90245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $147 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing