We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Ilinois
1 review
“Magnificent Place!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's simply impossible to capture the feel of this place with words.The room we stayed in was right by the shore. We opened our windows, turned on the fireplace(yeah, they have one in every room) and delighted in the sound of the crushing waves! Later on we walked down to the beach and collected sand dollars!

Room Tip: The view of the rooms by the shore are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valsbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    353
    116
    45
    18
See reviews for
359
549
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Spent two nights here and enjoyed the spacious room with excellent beds, nice Philosophy toiletries, ceiling fan (you don't need AC in Pismo), and the special pool/beach towels that were provided. In-room coffee was very good (for a change) and the continental breakfast was above average-it included real oatmeal (not the packets) and hard-boiled eggs. If you get there aroudn 4PM (before they're all gone) there are fresh-baked cookies in the lobby. There's a nice garden behind the pool where you can sit and look out at the ocean, and it's a short walk down the steps to the beach. Very friendly, helpful front desk staff. Only negative for me was the large family group that were talking loudly for hours outside my room, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. If you get an upstairs room, you won't have that problem!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter. If you like a view, it's worth paying more for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank music33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling up the coast.

So glad we found this little place as it's beautiful. Staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was very homely and the free breakfast was excellent.

Our biggest regret was only being able to stay for one night.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kermitthe60poundfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Beach was accessible from the hotel and when we got too cold we headed to the heated pool and hot tub. Pismo was nearby. Hotel got us some milk at 3am for our little one. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cottage Inn for 2 nights last weekend. We booked a full ocean view room and am so glad we did. The view was amazing. When we arrived we pulled back the curtains and we were so happy. We noticed a woman down below us on the patio area intently photographing something. We followed her lens and noticed a pod of dolphins swimming by! SO gorgeous. It's not too often that we see dolphins swimming by our window. :)

The room itself was clean and roomy but you could tell the property is an older one. The bedding was comfortable and clean. The free wi-fi was great. I sat overlooking the ocean and looked up things to do on my laptop. Perfect.

The bathroom was tiny which was kind of a bummer but it worked just fine.

We slept with our windows open and enjoyed the ocean breeze. Perfect temperature.

The breakfast was fine, but nothing special. There were the regular cereals, fruit and waffles. They had some hard boiled eggs and oatmeal too.

I will definitely stay here again for the location and view! So beautiful!!

Room Tip: Definitely pay to have a top floor room. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruin97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here three nights for a Valentines weekend getaway. The service is good and friendly, especially the woman who serviced the breakfast room. The fresh-baked cookies were very good, but you've got to be there when they are put out to get the chocolate chip ones. The location is great for access to the beach (be able to climb about 100 steps, though, or return via the sidewalks through town). It's an enjoyable mile walk along the beach to downtown or 2-mile walk to the butterfly grove. The beds are comfortable. It took us a night to get used to using the switch-operated fireplace to heat the room -- get your room to a comfortable temperature, then turn off the fireplace and crawl under the covers.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdamred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Our family (two teens) had a great time here. The location and views from the Hotel are spectacular! Very clean with comfortable beds and bedding...Staff was very professional and friendly. I will recommend this place to my friends and family....

Room Tip: We had an end room with two Kings and it was huge, as far as the standard size these days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,956 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,670 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing