We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The rooms in this hotel are certainly worthy of a WOW! This was my favourite hotel on our tour of the west coast of America. The rooms are big and have a wonderful log fire in them. Only sorry it wasn't cold enough to use it. Breakfast was given at this hotel, it was very much a help yourself to croissants, bagels and fruit etc. there was no rush everyone got a seat, the cereals, bagels were constantly being re stocked. It was run so well. A BIG thankful to
KELSI who was kind enough to help me with my computer. Thanks you so much you were so patient. Also worth adding Internet was free in this hotel. It is situated on a cliff above a beach. Only wish we could have stayed longer. Would I stay here again definitely. Loved it.

Room Tip: Good restaurant just next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. Being your favorite hotel on the entire West Coast is really something our team is proud of. Please come back soon to see what is new at The Cottage Inn.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great location- it's just a few minuets from the downtown area of Pismo Beach, and in the other direction, it's just a short 5-10 min drive to Availa Beach. The rooms are fantastic! Very large and spacious with plenty of room for luggage without feeling cramped. There are areas where the rooms could be improved- touch up paint, updated bathrooms, etc., but I would highly recommend this hotel to someone in the area. I had a room without a view, but if possible, I'd recommend one with a water view. This hotel sits on a cliff (of sorts) that gives you great ocean views. Also, from the outdoor courtyard you get great views of the sunset.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. Regarding your comments about the bathrooms we will be remodeling them in the very near future. We hope to see you on your next visit to the States.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Cliff top location with hot tub overlooking Pacific Ocean and breakfast included for $115? How can you go wrong! Yes the oceanview rooms are great but IMO not worth the extra $60. The pool, hot tub and seating area give you plenty of great views. Yes the rooms are a bit rustic but the name is Cottage by the Sea after all! Awesome.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review of your recent stay. The seating in the gardens with ocean views are so popular we will be adding more in the future. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed 1 night, one of last rooms available, road facing with all the noise that comes with that, slightly dated decor, from memory no airco so room was hot, bf included but basic, we found it slightly over priced

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank FD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your experience during your recent visit to our area. I sincerely apologize the stay did not meet your expectations this time around. Please contact me directly as I would love the opportunity to exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Jed Bickel
General Manager
805-773-4617

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a nice hotel on the cliff side above the beach. I had a room with 2 double beds and they were very comfy. The room was clean and it was fine, nothing great and nothing bad. The best bit was you could walk to the beach easily and there was a nice hot tub and pool. Again nice not fantastic.
I did like that you can park your car right next to your room which is cool if you have a lot of luggage. I didnt get a sea view and to be honest I am glad I saved the $50 as you can walk right to the view really quickly.
Breakfast was included and again was fine, had a waffle machine,cereals,bagels etc. All in all I enjoyed the one night we had there and would stay again but not for more than the $200 I see it charges at peak times.
The staff I met were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We appreciate your feedback especially the nice comments about our staff. On your next stay with us we hope that you have the opportunity to visit the nearby San Luis Obispo Farmer’s Market. There is live music, food and a great selection of fruits, vegetables and flowers. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed one night in September 2013, a week night. We booked ahead of time. Had a ocean view room, upstairs.Room wasn't over spacious, but there was only two of us, so it was fine. Enjoyed listening to the ocean from room all night.Room was quiet didn't hear our neighbors. Breakfast had a nice selection, but not much protein.From outside it doesn't look really nice, but inside it look clean & well kept. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonkoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottageInnGM, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. There is nothing better than waking up to the sound of the waves rolling up on the beach in the morning. Couple that with the spectacular sunrises and there is no better way to start your day. Please come visit us again soon at the Cottage Inn by the Sea.
Thank You,
Jed Bickel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in September 2013 having booed a room in advance with a sea view. On arrival the girl in the reception desk clearly did not want to be there and showed us very little interest. The room was very good, not overly spacious but very clean, all towels made into decorative shapes and the sea view was to die for. Another down side was finding the room safe needing a key from reception; we were not asked if we required the safe key on arrival. On returning to reception the same person was on the desk and more or less tossed the key in my direction then produced a form saying "sign here!". I asked why I was not offered the key on arrival and her reply was basically I didn't ask!

Pismo beach is about a 15 - 20 minute stroll away but there are virtually no cabs to be had. We had a fantastic meal in Steamers - a fish restaurant 10 mins stroll into town and would highly recommend it. The resort itself is basically the beach and pier both of which would merit a visit. The town is small very your obligatory t shirt and surf shops but is not particularly pretty or interesting. We had a really great Italian meal in Giovannis which is on State Street. We did not book and had to wait 20 mins but the excellent relatively inexpensive food and exemplary service was well worth it.

Two final downside of the Cottage Inn, we returned to our room at just before 4pm to find it had not yet been made up, the maid was just about to start. Also the included breakfast was a free for all for very little food. The two waitress type ladies were only interested in trying to refill the coffee creamer pots ( which were full to overfill anyway) and had no interest in refilling the food trays even though they continually looked at the them.

Overall the hotel is ok. The rooms were good especially for the sea view and the view over the beach from the garden excellent ( we saw sea otters and seals from the garden). There is no bar or restaurant or shops within a 15 minute walk. The biggest disappointment was the poor service we received and would not go back to this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, it's well worth the extra few dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMFTEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer V, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and the town of Pismo Beach. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room, but very disappointed that the reception you received was not up to our standards. Please contact me at me your convenience so that I can further address your concerns. Our goal is to exceed the expectations of all our guests.

Sincerely,
Jed Bickel
General Manger
805-773-2351

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,785 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $136 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing