We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Upgraded to beach front room, decent view with exception of screened windows. Very comfortable bed. Rooms do not offer AC but facing ocean offered a cool breeze which kept room comfortable.

Room Tip: No A/C Units. Heat with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkshoaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently stayed at this Hotelfor a couple of nights, and we were a little disappointed, if you don't get a beach view you don't get any sort of view. No air conditioning was a surprise, the pool was small, great for small kids but not for relaxing.

On the upside, the rooms were clean and the one we stayed in was large.

We were hoping for a ciuple of relaxing days by the beach, swimming in the pool and general chilling, this isnt the hotel for that, we wouldn't return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay for a beach view or enjoy views of the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here one night end of May whilst on a three week vacation celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary, it was a nice surprise to find on checking in that they had a sign on the counter wishing us a happy anniversary and again on entering the room there was a card and bottle of wine, the card was signed and decorated by the staff themselves clearly showing a great personal welcome which did not go unnoticed by us, it was really nice of them and totally unexpected, none of the other hotels on our trip noticed. The rooms are clean and have all you need for a comfortable stay, the location is amazing, the photos on trip advisor are exactly true and the views from the garden at the rear of the hotel are amazing. We did not have a sea view but did not see this as a problem for one night and you can enter the garden at any time day or night. Great for sunrise or sunset I even saw rabbits running around the gardens and they are well kept and relaxing, many people we gazing out at sea or sitting quietly reading etc. Staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was plentiful you can have as much as you want and you can even make fresh pancakes, the variety was a lot more than most hotels normally provide, it caters for all people. you would not be upset staying here. And Pismo is bigger than most people comment. There is a shopping outlet 2 minutes away, a Dennys and lots of other restaurants/shops, you just need to explore by car. If I did a road trip again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on a trip from San Francisco to Santa Monica as that drive was a little too long.

The location was great for this. The hotel is on a cliff with great views, I imagine (We arrived at night and then it was really foggy the next morning so couldn't see)

The rooms are lovely but not all room have sea views and out of the 2 rooms we had, one had a nice balcony but the other only had a small window. Both facing the car park. We weren't that bothered by this though as was only staying overnight.

There is a small pool and jacuzzi which looked fine.

The buffet breakfast was ok too but be aware that there is NO BAR at this hotel which was a disappointment after a long drive. We were told there was a restaurant next door a there was probably a store nearby but we were too tired to go exploring.

The service was great though however I wouldn't want to stay here for a whole holiday as it looked very quiet around the area itself.

This may be, of course, exactly what you are looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank doomster73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Pretty standard beach hotel (really more of a motel). Get an ocean view room. I would recommend a second floor room as terraces outside the rooms (at least the first floor rooms) aren't pleasant to sit on and are essentially sidewalks. People walk by at all times. Bathrooms are basic, but they provide plenty of towels. Beds are comfortable and the linens are nice. Pool is very small but adequate. Beach access is good, although the hotel is on a cliff so it's a bit of a walk.

Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. They provided me with band-aids and antibiotic ointment for my son who got a cut on the beach and appeared sincerely concerned.

Breakfast was crowded with overeaters, so we passed. Dining room is small and what I saw of the breakfast offerings didn't appear appetizing.

Overall, not a high-end experience, but good for what it is.

Room Tip: Second floor ocean view are best. Avoid first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveltogetherDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

stayed here one night on our way from Ivanhoe to san diego. first time to stay here and had a great time. We stayed In an ocean front room upstairs and it was well worth the few extra bucks although you will have to attend to the outside stairs. The King bed room was very roomy but had the romatic feel. we could see the Pismo pier and beach from the room and when the windows were up the waves crashing on the beach were very pronounced and soothing through the night. did see some dolphins playing relatively close to the beach. the continental breakfast was OK with the waffles and traditional quick breakfast items. the staff was great and I look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred3235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, the room was clean and comfortable if a little dated. The staff were friendly and the hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere. Not a lot to do in Pisimo so we had a bit of down time sat in the comfortable chairs taking in the view and a dip in the pool, a bit small but there were only two of us in it so not a problem.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, the local thai restaurant does great food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $136 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing