We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property & Exemplary Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful property & Exemplary Service”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We came to the Cottage Inn to celebrate my daughter's 16th bday, and I can't tell you how impressed my husband and I were with every single aspect of our stay. From the moment we checked in and my daughter saw the sign saying "Happy 16th Birthday," she was on Cloud Nine! The staff had also left a bottle of sparkling cider in her room perched between two towel swans and a birthday card signed by the staff. These kinds of personal touches are what makes the difference between a hotel and a lovely and charming place that we will look forward to returning to every year! My husband and I stayed in Rm 315, which had a very comfortable king size bed, a lovely ocean view and a private seating area outside all to ourselves. While my daughter and her two friends stayed in a separate building, they were really very close to us - a 1 minute walk at most. The spa was very hot, the pool was heated, and the ocean and beach were visible to enjoy without even having to getting sandy! The breakfast included fruit, muffins and danish, yogurt, old-fashioned oatmeal (as opposed to the instant kind), and a waffle iron to make yourself waffles if you were so inclined. The staff were very pleasant, especially Jennifer, and we thought the CIBTS had 5 star service! I would definitely recommended staying here to anyone. We met some honeymooners from England one evening and they were also totally impressed with the choice digs! Overall, a 10 on a scale of 1-5, and I am VERY particular about hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tberger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    345
    115
    44
    18
See reviews for
348
543
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night en route to LA but wished we stayed longer.

The check in staff were friendly
The room was spacious and clean
The bed was HUGE and really comfortable
The Views over the beach was fantastic
The pool was small but adequate with a hot tub overlooking the beach
Plenty of parking
Breakfast was okay

Would definitely stay again

Room Tip: I'm not sure how much the sea view rooms are but more than a few bucks extra and I don't thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CptChunderpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed for one night at this cliff side hotel which was easy access from highway one. The reception staff was very very helpful and friendly and gave us great information on the area with a map and recommended restaurants.
Only 2 were walking distance from the hotel but were very good and popular especially in the evenings as they both had very good views from a cliff face location.
The one to the left was called the Ventania Grill and the one to the right was called Steamers.
The cottage style room was clean, large and had a large bathroom with a great shower.
Breakfast was included which was continental which had a good choice with a help yourself buffett.
There was a walkway down the steps to a clean beach.
The only negative I would give this hotel is the location as there was only 2 restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 301 which was exellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrfarandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Cottage Inn has some great rooms with double beds and an enclosed dog run. No view and some road noise, but overall quite comfortable. Great beach to walk with or without the dogs.
Wouldn't delay start in the morning waiting for the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view room and it was amazing. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and well put together - I loved having a working fireplace in there, and the staff was crazy nice. The cookies at check in are a must, the free breakfast was delicious and filling. The hot tub was very relaxing, and it seems that as long as you're quiet no one will bother you about being in there past 10PM.

Just realize that this hotel is not actually on the beach, it is on a cliff overlooking the beach. However, there are steps that access the beach on the property, and it only takes a minute to get down there. The Inn is also within walking distance of a great seafood restaurant called Steamers. Downtown is a quick drive away as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellablu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourges, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good hotel, good rooms, but many rooms are too close from the Freeway. It is quite noisy. Only beach view rooms are silent. The little garden facing the see is really nice. Breakfast is average. There are no transparent curtains on the windows, so when you walk out of the bathroom, either you are in the dark, or anybody can see you.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are away from the Freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertdespammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibbre, General Manager at Cottage Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
albertdespammie,

Thank you for your feedback. Our traditional rooms are only steps from our English garden with dramatic ocean views. These rooms do offer value to many of our guests. It is also true that our full ocean view rooms are perfect for any special occasion. We sincerely hope that you will have the opportunity to experience this option in the near future.

Brett Gibbs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It looks just like the pictures--it's such a nice hotel! We stayed in an oceanfront room, and goodness it was amazing! Sleeping to the sound of the waves. The room was immaculate and gorgeous. The fireplace was wonderful. Most of all, what made our stay wonderful was the staff. Everyone was SO helpful and cheerful. From the time we arrived until we left, we felt like top-priority. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prestonwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,920 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 28 in Pismo Beach
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,888 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing