We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This charming hotel was so lovely! The rooms were so great and large beds so very comfortable, breakfast was great! We really enjoyed the hot tub and pool with awesome view to the ocean. Cows on the mountains behind. Loved the fireplace in the rooms! Great location, nice to walk the beach. Friendly staff!! I thought it was nice a quiet too. Good price too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suttona003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    323
    109
    44
    18
See reviews for
327
501
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Travelled down highway 1 on our California trip with my sister and hubby in April, decided to stop here for 3 nights before moving onto Santa Monica. Lovely cozy hotel beautiful sea views from our room, very clean and enjoyable continental breakfast. Make sure you go to hotel lobby at 4.00 pm and get your free homemade cookies they are delicious. Would probably not stay here so long as we found there wasn't much to do in Prismo itself but if you are passing through hotel is ideal stop over. We found a great reasonable restaurant about 5 minute walk from hotel called Marie Chandler they do great pies.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

A nice hotel that is great for the family. We stopped here on our way to Monterey both kids loved the style of the hotel and the breathtaking views of the Ocean. The beach is accessible via stairs and the hotel has a small outdoor pool and spa. The rooms are of a good size and are very comfortable. Breakfast was good, the waffle maker was good fun for the kids! The staff were polite and helpful. The hotel does need a little maintenance , for example the external fly screens could do with an overhaul, nonetheless a very nice hotel overall!

Room Tip: An ocean viewis a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel rooms are very cute, with fireplaces in each. You wont need to leave the fireplace on long, because it heats up the room very quickly - which you may need if the weather is gloomy! I didn't like that the hotel wouldn't allow us to park two cars in their lot, and instead instructed me to park in a public "beach access" lot (who knows if it would have been towed/vandalized?). I called back later in the night and they agreed to let me park in the lot bc they weren't sold out.
The hotel itself has beach access with its own flight of stairs leading down. They serve breakfast in the morning, with a decent spread: bagels, pastries, yogurt, cereal, fruit, waffles, juice/coffee.
It's location is convenient to downtown Pismo, the outlets, and just about anything else you would want to do in the area. They also have pet friendly rooms. I recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a nice, affordable (~$180) room in Pismo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here just one night connected with a memorial service over Easter. We really enjoyed the spacious room, the garden overlooking the sea, and really easy access to the beach. Also a decent breakfast-room with DIY waffles--great idea. Place is quiet, simple, and they have worked to keep it in shape. Never stayed in Pismo before, so don't know how it compares with other spots. We would go there again--good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErnDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a reunion with family from Northern CA and Southern CA and met half way at Pismo Beach. So glad we picked the Cottage Inn. Hotel was nicely maintained, clean and the rooms were perfect for our needs. The views are incredible, especially from the beautiful cliffside garden. Add direct access to beach and we were set. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We drove from LA to San Francisco and this was our first night's stop. We loved it. We didn't have the warmest weather and this was very warm, clean and cosy. Great location by the beach which was wonderful and must be amazing when the sun is out. Good value - we paid nearly as much for a Travelodge which wasn't anywhere near as nice. Good "motel" breakfast". Only minor complaint (although this applies to just about everywhere we stay) if there are 3 people in the room could we please have 3 cups and 3 tea-bags!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyC6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing