We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Location, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
ESQUIMALT
Level Contributor
212 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our first time in Pismo Beach...Booked directly with hotel for a pet friendly room. Others were having problems having booked online through travelocity/expedia etc, so would recommend always booking directly here. Checkin was swift on a busy Friday night, and the room was ready on time, with a lovely towel arrangement and gift pack for the dog which was a pleasant surprise. Even though our room was by the road it was not noisy. The room was a bit dated, but clean and roomy, even with 3 people sharing with two queen beds. Perfect access to the beach and beautiful sunset walk to Pismo Pier, and a short distance to excellent dining. Self serve breakfast was definitely one of the best we encountered on our trip, with lots of choices and fresh good food available.

Room Tip: book early for a waterview room away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b4i4gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    302
    95
    42
    18
See reviews for
299
457
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We travel up or down the California coast twice a year, so we have stayed in a lot of hotels in Pismo beach and Avila beach, but we had not tried the cottage inn by the sea before! Check in was pleasant and quick and our room (which we got a good deal on) was clean and roomy, big king bed nice bathroom ,good size tv and a lovely gas fireplace!
Access to the beach down forty odd steps ,nice walk to pismo pier then a walk back thru the village was nice before breakfast. Breakfast was a nice self service extended continental affair ,with loads of choices including make your own waffles. There was a computer for guest use , came in handy for printing vouchers for premium outlets only minutes away!
Yet another great choice of hotel for people passing thru or even staying a few day like us!
Pismo is only minutes away from great towns like paso Robles and San Louis obispo with lovely town centres with nice shops and great restaurants and all around great vineyards with tasting rooms that are friendlier than there northern counterparts!!

Room Tip: If you want a treat opt for sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The rooms were charming and spacious with a great view. Beach access and a gorgeous cliff view of the ocean. Continental breakfast was free, and not half bad. The service was excellent, very helpful and friendly! The price was extremely competitive. We will be coming back for our next trip!

Room Tip: Two beds are the same as one. Sometimes its nice to have an extra bed, just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in Pismo. The charm and quaintness is the first thing one notices, aside from the perfect spot so close to the ocean. As soon as I get into the room, I open all the windows to hear the waves for the whole visit--regardless the weather. There is a convenient path to follow to the 72 stairs to the beach and many people walk through with their dogs and kids from the next door motel, as well. The path is well groomed and maintained.

The employees, constantly moving, are the next thing one sees. The front office staff is very friendly, greeting guests as they pass through to breakfast. The next employee guests encounter is Rebecca, the friendliest breakfast room attendant I've ever met. She greets guests and always make sure things are going well. The housekeeping staff makes sure that you return to a nice clean room after a day exploring the area, and usually your towels are folded into an animal to greet you. Who would not want to return? I've been staying at the Cottage Inn since 2008!


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5150rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Rooms are like cottages, not a boring building. Room was clean. View of the ocean was amazing. Free included breakfast was better than restaurants. Definitely recommend it. Plenty of parking, fireplace in room.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shadi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I have reviewed the Cottage Inn in the past, so I will not be overly detailed. The location on a cliff is superb, and the service continues to be exceptional. I will point out a few differences I noticed most recently.

Pool towels: Two sets of towels are stocked in the room now, bath and pool. The bath towels are more plush than previously.

Breakfast: not too much difference here, although you can choose prepared oatmeal or Quaker packets now.

Afternoon cookies in the lobby: seemed to be better stocked...and tasty.

Room lighting: new, yet annoying energy-miser switches. The lights turned off on me while taking a shower since motion was not detected. I am energy conscious, but it was pretty silly.

Bedding: comfortable, pillowy, plush, the best.

I come here at least once a year and thoroughly enjoy it every time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have been going to Pismo my whole life and drove past the Cottage Inn by the Sea many times wondering what it's all about. We were impressed. We were located on the bottom floor (Room 513) with an Ocean view and a door to the back porch with chairs. Here are my thoughts:

Rooms- Having an Ocean view is the way to go. There are two types of ocean view rooms. The rooms upstairs have a better view but no porch/balcony. The rooms downstairs have a porch and a view of the ocean (when we go back, we will make sure to be downstairs again).

Fireplace- Our room had a fireplace which is a must have!

Free Breakfast- The breakfast was really good for a continental. They had waffles, scones, bagels, cereal, oatmeal, and more to eat.

Towels for pool/hot tub/beach- There are white and green towels in your room. The green towels are for your use at either the pool, tub, or beach.

Beds- This is hard to evaluate because everyone has different preferences. We slept decent but I find it hard to get restful sleep when I'm in new places. The sheets we nice and pillows soft.

Internet- We were never able to connect to their free internet. That was ok for the purpose of this trip as we spent most of our time away but this would have been a problem if it were a business trip.

Dogs- Throughout our stay, we noticed most of the people had dogs. I'm not sure if dogs can stay with people in the rooms or if there is a special place for them but this could be an issue for guests. I'm not a dog person my self but this never bothered me (partly because there were not many people staying there during this time of year). However, I could see this really being an issue for many people. I MUST say, our room did not smell like dogs at all. If it did, that would have ruined the trip, but it didn't and we really enjoyed out time.

To sum it up, I would stay here again, especially during this time of year (December).

Room Tip: Rooms with Ocean View on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcorrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing