We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice room and comfortable beds. Nice touch with the chairs overlooking the ocean in a small area out by the pool. We spent hours enjoying some snacks that we brought and reading our books. We also took a nice long walk along the beach in the morning. The complimentary breakfast that was offered is better than most other places I have stayed. Will be coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here on our Highway 1 road trip. We realised when we arrived that in the USA, "Inn" really means "Motel" but that was ok. Nice room, with a gas fire and ceiling fan to cover all weather options! Slightly old fashioned bathroom. Breakfast was fine, with a good choice of cereals and baked goods, and also a make your own waffle machine, which was fun. Excellent cookies free in the evening. The Inn is on a cliff overlooking the beach and it is an easy walk along the beach to the pier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Not a great experience at this hotel. Room had no air con, was next to a busy road and with the window open the traffic kept me awake at night. More like a roadside motel than the secluded beachside hotel we were expecting. There are good rooms here though - my advice is to ensure you get a beach/sea view and you'll be much further from the road with a great view.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonCDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Perched on the cliff with phenomenal views over Pismo this quaint little place was one of the best places our family stayed in 4 weeks in the US.

The staff were extremely helpful & friendly, the little touches like our towels made into swans, the gas fireplace & one of the better continental breakfasts we found all made for a brilliant experience & we wished we were there for more than one night.

Oh & the bed was ridiculously comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deejayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Nestled between the the standard bland motels it is quite distinctive with rather eeird Disney cootage roof. Rooms were nicely decirated and the long sandy Pismo beach is directly down the steps. Breakfast is standard Californian motel fare which is ok but not great. Pismo had a reasonable choice if restaurants and a semi-cool beach feel. We dined at the Cracked Crab which is a popular seafood joint - very buzzy - great fresh crab, shrimp & stuff. All said would recommend Cottage Inn for a short stopover.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PabloBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

They rugs were recently cleaned and still wet when we arrived.
Management showed us two other room with the very same issue and offered to check us OUT of the hotel!
No response from upper management.
With so many choices along that same road, we will certainly choose another hotel next time!

Room Tip: we were offered a 'pet friendly' room...or the option to 'check out'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edyth-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely hotel! It's in a great location right on the beach. The rooms were nice, nothing fancy though. Felt very welcome and safe. Within walking distance to two sea food restaurants. Heated pool and small spa over looking the beach.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,065 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
864 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $130 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing