We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Cozy hotel on a cliff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottage Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel on a cliff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family and I visit this hotel at least once a year and are always pleased. The staff is very friendly. This time our warmest greeting was given upon exiting the lobby by a maintenance employee, someone who might ignore you elsewhere. The garden along the oceanside rooms make the setting even more picturesque. The rooms, while not grandeur or spacious, are very cozy: gas fireplace, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, comfortable bedding, etc. It looks like they have addressed a previous concern of mine and now offer more than one type of pillow. Also, the continental breakfast is presented nicely in a nook setting, which includes bakery items from a local bakery and diy waffles. Plus, you can eat inside or outside on the patio. Many people take their breakfasts back to their rooms. Overall, I cannot compliment the Cottage Inn enough. Every stay is a memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    302
    95
    42
    18
See reviews for
299
457
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a great escape in a popular vacation spot. Hot tub, heated pool, beach access (stairs), great views, and in-room fireplace.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the edge of the property with a beach view. The first floor tends to have patios wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EngineerTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in pet-friendly room. Great experience from start to finish. Dog run behind the pet rooms was perfect. Room was very clean, and we loved the fireplace. Our room didn't have an ocean view, but it was just a short walk to the heated pool, hot tub, and garden area where table and chairs were available to sit and enjoy the gorgeous view! Stairs to the beach were great for the kids. Staff was friendly and very accommodating of our needs. Given the opportunity, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here just for 1 night on our way up to San Francisco and it was quite a nice place with excellent views of Pismo Beach. The room clean and well laid out however, there was a very annoying electrical hum in the room that caused us to not get much sleep. The breakfast (which was included) was a pretty basic spread but good enough to help us on our way. I would probably not stay here again though because we are light sleepers and the humming sound was really quite bad.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit "ALEX" BBQ restaurant just up the street for some great ribs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaotic363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stopped here for a night on our way up the coast and couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and spacious, the gas fireplace was a nice touch. The spot on the beach is great, easy access for a walk up and down the coastline (as long as you don't mind a few stairs down.) For the price, I was impressed.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the beach, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gael11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

From the minute you arrive it is pure bliss!!! I have traveled the world (13 countries - 42 U.S. States) and I never realized that paradise and the BEST OF THE BEST was in my backyard. I am from California and when i came here I just have to say one thing....I found my HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!!! The room....UNBELIEVABLE....the view....BREATHTAKING ... the experience....PRICELESS!!!! The service was... SECOND To NONE.... My wife and I will be returning many many many times for sta-cations and get-aways and just for fun as much as we can. Stop wasting your time and money on everyhing else...you have Romance....Privacy....and LUXARY right HERE!!!!!!

Room Tip: "Get a patio....Get the view....the best I have ever Seen"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very large room with fireplace and comfy beds, and views overlooking Pismo Beach. Breakfast is included with make-your-own waffles. Good restaurant nearby called Ventana.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin so you can hear other guests. if you're a light sleeper, ask to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank panamtravelkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,290 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Property: Cottage Inn by the Sea
Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing