We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel on a cliff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My family and I visit this hotel at least once a year and are always pleased. The staff is very friendly. This time our warmest greeting was given upon exiting the lobby by a maintenance employee, someone who might ignore you elsewhere. The garden along the oceanside rooms make the setting even more picturesque. The rooms, while not grandeur or spacious, are very cozy: gas fireplace, ceiling fan, flat screen TV, comfortable bedding, etc. It looks like they have addressed a previous concern of mine and now offer more than one type of pillow. Also, the continental breakfast is presented nicely in a nook setting, which includes bakery items from a local bakery and diy waffles. Plus, you can eat inside or outside on the patio. Many people take their breakfasts back to their rooms. Overall, I cannot compliment the Cottage Inn enough. Every stay is a memorable one.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a great escape in a popular vacation spot. Hot tub, heated pool, beach access (stairs), great views, and in-room fireplace.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the edge of the property with a beach view. The first floor tends to have patios wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EngineerTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in pet-friendly room. Great experience from start to finish. Dog run behind the pet rooms was perfect. Room was very clean, and we loved the fireplace. Our room didn't have an ocean view, but it was just a short walk to the heated pool, hot tub, and garden area where table and chairs were available to sit and enjoy the gorgeous view! Stairs to the beach were great for the kids. Staff was friendly and very accommodating of our needs. Given the opportunity, we will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DancinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here just for 1 night on our way up to San Francisco and it was quite a nice place with excellent views of Pismo Beach. The room clean and well laid out however, there was a very annoying electrical hum in the room that caused us to not get much sleep. The breakfast (which was included) was a pretty basic spread but good enough to help us on our way. I would probably not stay here again though because we are light sleepers and the humming sound was really quite bad.

Room Tip: Be sure to visit "ALEX" BBQ restaurant just up the street for some great ribs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaotic363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stopped here for a night on our way up the coast and couldn't have been happier. The room was clean and spacious, the gas fireplace was a nice touch. The spot on the beach is great, easy access for a walk up and down the coastline (as long as you don't mind a few stairs down.) For the price, I was impressed.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the beach, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gael11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

From the minute you arrive it is pure bliss!!! I have traveled the world (13 countries - 42 U.S. States) and I never realized that paradise and the BEST OF THE BEST was in my backyard. I am from California and when i came here I just have to say one thing....I found my HOME AWAY FROM HOME!!!! The room....UNBELIEVABLE....the view....BREATHTAKING ... the experience....PRICELESS!!!! The service was... SECOND To NONE.... My wife and I will be returning many many many times for sta-cations and get-aways and just for fun as much as we can. Stop wasting your time and money on everyhing else...you have Romance....Privacy....and LUXARY right HERE!!!!!!

Room Tip: "Get a patio....Get the view....the best I have ever Seen"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very large room with fireplace and comfy beds, and views overlooking Pismo Beach. Breakfast is included with make-your-own waffles. Good restaurant nearby called Ventana.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin so you can hear other guests. if you're a light sleeper, ask to be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank panamtravelkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,474 reviews
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,760 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Inn by the Sea

Address: 2351 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $138 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cottage Inn by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We promise you a good night’s sleep, but we warn you there’s so much to do nearby, you may not want to sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Inn By The Sea Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel Pismo Beach
Cottage Hotel By The Sea
Cottage Inn Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing