We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a family of six with four teenagers in 1 room. The location is fantastic with a view directly onto the beach.
The rooms are slightly faded but clean.
The staff were welcoming and helpful.
The breakfast is chaotic, self service in a small space, with a waffle machine.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkapHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed our beach front location and our welcoming, helpful staff. Thanks for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    293
    106
    30
    18
See reviews for
374
492
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My Family and I stayed here for one night on the 20th July.

We stayed in a 2 queen bed beach view apartment. Stunning location and view right on the beach.

Generally our stay was uneventful, we didn't get poor service and the room was OK and the 'complimentary breakfast was a welcome addition.

My main gripe is that this was not a cheap overnight stay and i would say that the web site makes the hotel more glamorous than it really is.

Nothing more to say really other than i don't think this lives up to the impression left by the website photos.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our stunning location. While it appears that you were generally satisfied with your stay, it seems that we did not fully meet your expectations. if you are not fully satisfied, we are not satisfied. Please contact me so that I may personally address your concerns.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband booked us a suite at the Sandcastle Inn for a few days after our wedding for our honeymoon. After riding a motorcycle down hwy 1 we were ready to cool down and relax. We checked into our suite and were SEVERLY disappointed in the accomodations. The room was run down, there was NO a/c in the room, and for the price I was expecting a whole lot more than free soap! We didn't even stay for 5 minutes before going back down stairs to try and check out. Marissa at teh front desk was rude, and stated we could not get a refund for our stay unless she rebooked the rooms. Not havong teh money to waste we were downgraded from our suite to a regular room with partial view with a/c. I was so livid at the lack of compassion and accomodations of this place. You are basically paying for the view. We were on our honeymoon, and the horrible beds, and run down rooms were not worth the price. I am sorry to anyone who decides to make this their special place to spend their first nights as man and wife.

Room Tip: Don't book with them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank kelly h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
While I am happy that my staff was able to relocate you to an air conditioned room for better comfort during your stay with us, I am very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your accommodations. At the Sandcastle Inn, we are committed to 100% guest satisfaction in all areas, and I am confident that this can be resolved to your full satisfaction. I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Cove, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I along with several dogs, kids, grandkids, etc. have stayed at the Sandcastle for 25 - 30 years. It is three stories high with a boardwalk near the north end, a "spa" with room for 6 - 7 people. Be sure to wear the courtesy bathrobes which come with the room, for use only. (They sell for $75.) The water seems a bit too hot at first but is fine after a few seconds.
The rooms to the south are "pet friendly" rooms. My first choice is #117 for my dog. It has a nice rear patio looking out over the sand and the Pacific, as well as the Pismo Pier to the north. See photos 1 & 2 below taken from that same patio!
Breakfast is self-serve and includes waffles & syrup, cold cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, toast, jelly, English Muffins, pastry, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit and more.

Room Tip: I prefer the ground floor, pet friendly rooms. #117 is by the south exit to the beach, see photos 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks for being such loyal guests.of our beach front pet friendly hotel. We truly appreciate your years of patronage and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not a great welcome during check-in. Ariel at the front desk needs some customer service training and maybe learn to think outside-the-box. We recently stopped in for a one night stay with one of our friends, whom have been to this hotel several times (this is probably her last time). My friend had made a two room reservations to this hotel via booking.com. I arrived 15 min before my friend, but was denied check-in because I didn't make the reservation. Really???? I offered to show her the email of booking.com confirmation but I was told that it's not sufficient. She said I either wait or get my friend on the phone to confirm that I'm with her party. You expect me to sit around after a 4hr drive? She finally checked me in after I called my friend and handed the phone to her. So....lets think about this: 1) I gave you my ID and credit card. Is it going to hurt you even if I wasn't who I said I am? I'm not taking any products away, its a hotel room! 2) How much more secured is it for me to call my friend to confirm. I could have called my wife and have her pretend to confirm the information. Come on Ariel, think about what you're doing...

Side note: When my friend finally arrived, Ariel when thru a list of "don'ts" and "can'ts" during the check-in process. I'm sure you're a good employee, but not at the front desk welcoming people.

Overall, hotel is clean and has a great location. I would rated 3.5 stars if it wasn't for the check-in hassles.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huntingtonbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. While I do understand your frustration, I am sure that you will agree that the hotel's primary concern must be the safety and security of our guests. At times, our security measures may result in inconvenience for some travelers. We will do everything we can to minimize this inconvenience and I apologize that you felt the check in process was mishandled. If you wish to discuss your concerns further, please contact me dirctly.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanger, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Sandcastle Inn on July 16, 2014. Have been to Pismo Beach so many times. First time we stayed at the Sandcastle Inn. We had ocean front view. Couldn't ask for a better view. The staff was great. Very helpful. We didn't have breakfast. Hotel is a little outdated, but clean. Right next to boardwalk and good restaurants. Would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prensesdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We are pleased that you had the chance to finally stay at our oceanfront hotel in one of our full ocean front rooms. Yes, the view is great, ins't it? We look forward to having you back again very soon.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We recently stayed at the Sandcastle Inn in Pismo Beach. I was a little nervous because we typically stay at 4 star hotels and this was only listed as a 2.5 star hotel. I can say, it's just because it does not have a restaurant and a pool, but you are right on the ocean and there are restaurants all around. We were so impressed by the nice beach decor, very clean rooms and the 3rd floor ourdoor area is just wonderful!!! We had a partial ocean view, not a full view because they told us they were sold out, but our room still had a nice view of the ocean. This hotel was such a great find and it was in part to all of the great comments on Trip Advisor. The comments are what made us take a chance. The only negative thing I would say, is the staff is pleasant, but they are very by "the rules", no accomodations for any reason. I would say no flexibility, kind of robotic not what we are used to in a 4 star hotel where they are more helpful and accomodating, but with that said we will be back again, but this time I have booked an ocean view and we hope to get the room we requested vs being told they can't guarantee anything.

Room Tip: Full Ocean Views are the Best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyPlanner44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
As a first time guest, I'm very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at our beachfront hotel, and that you have already booked a return visit. Thanks so much for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,871 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,566 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing