We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“beautiful view of the ocean and pier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful view of the ocean and pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Quiet, peaceful rest. patio door opened out to the ocean waves crashing along the beach. beautiful fire pit area with heaters. continental breakfast was normal nothing special. friendly staff, clean rooms, and plenty of parking.

Room Tip: get ocean view, second floor, first floor could be sketchy as it is by a main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
My friendly staff and I are very happy that you were able to enjoy some peace and quite from your clean and comfortable room while also being able to listen to the waves crashing along the shore. And, I am so glad that you enjoyed our fire pit area on the 3rd floor deck as well. Thanks again for being our guest.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    264
    96
    25
    18
See reviews for
349
440
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed here twice and love it both times. Love to sit on patio and drink wine and watch the sunset. Beautiful. Breakfast is wonderful. Staff is so nice. Hot tub is great. The room is wonderful and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
My staff and I thank you for being our guest. We are very appreciative of your kind words and are very happy that you fully enjoyed yourself during your stay. I am so glad that you were able to relax with a glass of wine while watching our beautiful Pismo Beach sunsets from your patio as well.
Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed one night in February as a treat after 4 nights in a less desirable property down the coast. The view was stunning, cold, local brews available from the front desk a real treat, furnishings comfortable and room nicely appointed. The rate we were offered was even a bit better than their off season rate posted online, a nice surprise.

Breakfast in the morning was delicious and coffee with cream in the room was appreciated over whitener you see most places. We will make a beeline for this property next time we are in Pismo Beach and will recommend it to anyone who will listen!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jess152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I am very pleased that our hotel fully met your expectations and then some, from our local mircobrew offerings to having real cream with your in room coffee. Thank you for being our guest and we eagerly await your return.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The bar was set high by the staff member who assisted me with my initial reservation, which I did by phone. She listened to me as I described my dream room of falling asleep listening to the surf and waking up to the morning light reflecting off the beach. I told her I needed a pet friendly room too. Then I blurted that I wanted to be within walking distance of the pier and the beach town part of Pismo Beach. Viola! She confidently described the full frontal beach view room, second floor, king size bed, pet friendly with a balcony. The reservation was made and the room honestly my Pismo Beach dream place to stay in every way. From check in to check out each staff member showed me (and my dog) every courtesy. The parking was plentiful and secure, but due to the walkability location of the Sandcastle Inn my vehicle stayed parked! The room was very clean and rather posh; I felt like I was a guest at a resort due to the plush towels and even a plush robe to wear while lounging on the balcony which felt like a private beachside cabana. If you plan a visit to Pismo Beach, plan a stay at the Sandcastle Inn!

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room with a full frontal beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgepuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I am glad that you discovered our hotel and found it to be your dream place to stay while in Pismo Beach, and that our location and service were stellar. We certainly look forward to having you and your family pet as our guests again and again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplarville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My sister & I stayed here while I was on a visit to California. We had a double full ocean view room. Very Nice! view was wonderful love you can walk to downtown or right onto the beach right from the hotel. Room was clean, bed was comfortable staff was very friendly. Price was reasonable. Will stay again when we visit Pismo

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for being our guest. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff in a nice clean room with a comfortable bed. And, that our hotel provided easy access to the beach and downtown area for your convenience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We planned a girlfriends get-away. We had wanted to find someplace on the beach. A quiet little place that we could spend a few days laughing, talking and catching up. And it had to be nice but affordable We found the Sandcastle Inn in Pismo Beach and booked rooms

When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. It looked really nice! Check in was easy and the staff were so pleasant. Our rooms were so nice and well appointed. We opened up the sliders on our balconies to wonderful views of the Pacific Ocean
We walked a short distance to a very nice restaurant and had an excellent dinner. Then came back to the inn to enjoy a bottle of wine sitting around the fireplace on the third floor deck.
On the way back to our rooms one of us commented that she was waiting for the other shoe to drop. The inn is so nice and so inexpensive that there had to be a catch. She thought perhaps breakfast might be disappointing
She was wrong! Breakfast was just fine, a nice selection of cereals, waffles, eggs etc.
Overall, this was a great place to stay. Everything at the Sandcastle Inn is just as it should be and at a great price Our friend never did hear the other shoe drop!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your girlfriends get-away with us. We are so very happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, including a nice bottle of wine while relaxing on our third floor observation deck. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The Sandcastle Inn is the perfect place to stay at Pismo Beach. The rooms are nice and comfortable and the location is right on the beach. They had a great breakfast selection with nice and helpful staff. I had a partial ocean view for my room but honestly with the beach right there, you can save money with a regular room. They also have two great observation decks to look at the view.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank KDubAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I'm glad that you found our hotel to be the perfect location to stay in Pismo Beach. We appreciate having you as our guest and look forward to your return visit. Thank you.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing