We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid week getaway”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I went to Pismo Beach for a mid week getaway. I had reservations at the Sandcastle Inn in a 2nd story beachside room. We have always wanted to stay there and it was all we had expected. The view is spectacular !!! The hotel is right next to the beach and is only steps to the sand. Nice room with comfy beds, flat screen TV, mini fridge, and a large bathroom with granite counter top. Tile tub/shower, lots of towels and robes hanging in the closet ! Very clean room with a balcony overlooking the beach and Pacific Ocean. Breakfast was well stocked and the staff helpful and friendly. If your looking for the beach front experiance, the Sandcastle is the place.

Room Tip: Lots of places to eat a short walk away. Try Hoagies Sandwiches and Grill. 1 block away. Excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

As a first time guest with us, my staff and I are very pleased that you fully enjoyed everything about our hotel. We are honored to have been your hosts and look forward to your return visit.
Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was impressed with the cleanliness of this facility, everywhere I turned there was someone cleaning! Breakfast was amazing, rooms were inviting and comfortable. The location, view, staff and service were more than what we had expected. I would recommend staying every visit!

Room Tip: second floor partial view is still an amazing view, would recommend if trying to stay on a budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celestina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

We are so thankful to have had you are our guest and are so very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay. We too look forward to your return visit. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was staying a couple of doors down from Sandcastle Inn when I went online just to check prices. I saw that it was a little higher than the hotel I was staying at, so I decided to walk over and ask them if they would give me the room with the view (oceanfront) for the same price. It does pay to ask----they said yes and didn't even blink! The staff was so friendly, the rooms clean, and the continental breakfast very good!

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront--it is well worth it! Isn't that why you booked on the water???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susangC1170YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad that our rooms and continental breakfast exceeded your standards and that you enjoyed our friendly staff. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and wish we had stayed for longer! Rooms are not large but perfectly adequate. We had 2 queen beds on the ground floor facing the beach. What a marvellous view! I'm glad we paid a little more to have a room with a view, partial view rooms have a very good view too. The bathroom is also small but perfectly functional. There is no air conditioning in the room, which could make a stay in summer more unpleasant. Because we were on the ground floor I didn't feel comfortable leaving the sliding door open to catch the breeze all night - a room on the 2nd or 3rd floors would be better in this regard. Towels for the beach are available. Breakfast is complimentary and there is a good selection of breads, muffins, cereals etc. The staff were friendly and provided a good recommendation for dinner.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for a room with a view, whether a partial view or a room facing the beach. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel to your satisfaction and we do look forward to having you with us again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our stay at the sandcastle Inn was great. Our room was perfect and great location. We could hear the ocean and just steps away from the beach. We will be returning back. The weather was great and also plenty of restaurants to choose from. We ate at Mo's they had really good sandwiches and that night we ate fish and chips right down the street from the hotel. Then the next day we had breakfast at the hotel contenial breakfast then for lunch we ate at Brads restaurant and we had the blue cheese burger and it was great.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraDumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

I am very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay, especially our Ocean Front rooms. My staff and I look forward to your return visit. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Was just impressed from check in to departure . The room was very clean and the staff was great.
The breakfast was good and chose to eat it on the patio. I had never stayed here but will definately
Be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

My staff and I appreciate you being our guest. We are very glad that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to your return visit. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Sandcastle Inn while attending the Pismo Beach Clam Festival. The hotel is very attractive and the location is fantastic, right on the beach, near the pier. Our room on the second floor had a nice balcony overlooking the beach- a great place for a glass of wine watching the sunset. The staff was very helpful, giving us tips on restaurants and nearby wine tasting.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

I am so glad that you could join us over Clam Festival weekend. Thanks for your kind review and I am very happy that you had the opportunity to relax and enjoy our thrid floor balcony overlooking the ocean. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again.

Sincerely,
Roger Wightman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,037 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,252 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,761 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $166 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing