We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place, good location, worth the stay!”
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent place, good location, worth the stay!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I found the hotel by chance while looking for a place to stay in the area. The property is perfectly located at the beach front and easy to access and go walking from there everywhere. The receptionists were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room was huge and very comfortable with all the little staff that makes it very homy. Views to the ocean were astonishing! It is very centrally located, yet without any noise at night, except of the waves in the beach. Breakfast was not too abundant and with many people in a small place, a bit of a turmoil. Yet, I definitively recommend the hotel for both long and short stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    301
    108
    30
    18
See reviews for
384
495
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
214 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here overnight while in the area and opted for a partial ocean view, full pier view room. I believe our room is the only 2-room configuration that the hotel offers. It was convenient to have 2 TVs. Also in the room is a mini refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Beware that there is no air conditioning; I'd imagine it could get quite warm. They do have security bars on the balcony sliding doors which allow for the doors to be left open a few inches.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with 3 or more, ask for room 305, which is a 2-room configuration with 2 TVs...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank shawnCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A large group of cyclists stayed here on a recent trip. The rooms were all in a good location to view the ocean. There were several places to view the beach scene besides in one's room. An excellent patio was up on top with glass screens for wind protection along with a fire pit for cool evenings. The entire staff was great to work with and the manager held an excellent wine tasting in the late afternoon featuring local wineries. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better noise protection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveParker116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding. We got a room facing the ocean and left the door open at night. The staff was friendly, and our room was clean. We walked everywhere. I loved how close to the breach it was. You could walk right out of the hotel and go onto the beach.
We didn't ever try the breakfast, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Awesome location right on beach, awesome breakfast w/waffle maker & pastries & everything basically you'd wish for in a full breakfast & awesome view if you face beach or have partial view, awesome toiletries by Philosophy, comfy bed, great customer service.

We stopped at this exit on our way home from Disneyland because my 3 year old couldn't handle being in the car anymore. We ended up staying an extra night because it was so awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renni1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The good: The best thing is the excellent location on the beach. Just walk out the doors and you're on the beach. Rooms in main building have outstanding views from the balconies. Listen to the surf while sleeping. Rooms are very clean and well kept with flat screen tv, refrigerator, robes, comfortable beds. Bathrooms have nice bath products, good shower head with strong pressure. Breakfast area is large with 3 waffle makers, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, fruit, juice and excellent coffee. Friendly staff. Easy parking. Pet friendly. Well managed.

The bad: The AC units in the annex building make a humming noise even when off. Staff could not explain why. Also room 152 is next to a utility closet which also makes humming noise and vibrates the wall next to the bed (I slept good with earplugs). My room on first night had dirty sheets (yuck!) in one bed but I switched to the other bed which was clean (lucky I had a 2 bed room). Floors are thin so you will hear the neighbors above so request 3rd floor rooms.

I would return to this hotel but not the rooms in the annex building.

Room Tip: AC units in annex building make noise even when off especially loud in room 152. Floors are thin so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with just steps to the sand and no cliff to climb down which makes it easy to carry chairs etc. You can't get more centrally located to the pier, shops and great food. Ashley at the front desk was very helpful and friendly before we even arrived and even more so through our 3 day stay. Room was very clean. Beds where real comfortable. Can't beat walking up to the sounds of the waves. We will be back !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alljoygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,920 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,181 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 28 in Pismo Beach
806 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing