We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sandcastle was wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salinas,CA
1 review
“Sandcastle was wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Sandcastle this past weekend, it was very enjoyable! On the beach, 1 block from the famous Splash cafe, very reasonably priced. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, great pillows, great staff! We are all ready planning another trip! Great place for us to celebrate our 34th anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    259
    93
    25
    18
See reviews for
339
436
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The sandcastle Inn was amazing! The rooms were so nice and so was the staff. The location is the best part! I would come back here in a minute to enjoy the beauty that is right outside your window. It's just minutes from the little shops and restaurants. I highly recommend the splash cafe and Mo's Smokehouse BBQ!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishgirl0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

On our family holiday driving back from Lake Tahoe one of our stops was Pismo beach.

We arrived late at night and the check in was very easy. The receptionist was friendly and allowed is to check out the rooms before we committed to it.

It's a beachy like vibe, a little bit grundgy but not too grundgy that would make me feel uncomfortable. It's for a really relaxed, easy going vibe. Rooms were spacious.

In the morning we realizes that this property was literally right across the ocean, so we walked around the area and it was very pleasant indeed.

Restaurants were walking distance which was great.

I can see this place for someone who is taking a long break and just wants to be near the beach so that you can go for strolls and smell the sear breeze. It's not a hotel where you expect top notch service and amenities or food, nothing luxurious about it, but it does give a sense of beach southern Californian vibe.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here on accident for a business trip as the hotel I was to stay in had some property issues. So it was a last minute reservation. Check in went very smoothly and parking was easy. Room was very clean, nice with a comfortable bed. Had a balcony with a wonderful view of the beach and Pacific Ocean. Walls are a little thin so you do hear people in their rooms if above average noise. That didn't happen but once. Morning breakfast was okay nothing special, make your own waffles, yogurts (two kinds), toast, coffee and juices. It is located in a very nice spot to walk downtown where restaurant's and pier are.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the second and third floors with ocean views. First floor is right next to walk wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortugueseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked weekend night for quick beach vacation with young family staff are friendly and accommodating. Location is excellent rooms are ok Beds a comfortable

I felt price ( I paid 515 for 2 weekend night with trip advisor discount during off peak season) was a bit high for no pool, no real breakfast , non suite rooms. There Wes misses in bathroom cleaning . But overall it was ok .

3rd floor balconies are tiny - you can hardly fit 2 a patio chair and 10 inch table. They should mention it somewhere

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

W booked weekend night for quick beach vacation with young family staff are friendly and accommodating. Location is excellent rooms are ok Beds a comfortable

I felt price ( I paid 515 for 2 weekend night with trip advisor discount during off peak season) was a bit high for no pool, no real breakfast , non suite rooms. There Wes misses in bathroom cleaning . But overall it was ok .

3rd floor balconies are tiny - you can hardly fit 2 a patio chair and 10 inch table. They should mention it somewhere

Room Tip: Third floor balconies are extremely small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CantStick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

So happy we stumbled across this resort on the internet. We have always stayed at another motel in Pismo. We didn't know what we were getting into with the Sandcastle Inn, but what a treat! Right in the heart of Pismo, next to the pier, directly on the beach. Who could ask for more? But we did get more! Beautiful room with a beautiful ocean view and a full balcony. The people that work there are so friendly and helpful (and they had fresh made cookies at the front desk while we were there). The included breakfast was plentiful and delicious, with many different offerings. It also has an outdoor patio on the first floor with a fireplace and a spa. The second floor has a large balcony with a fireplace and plenty of seating for Sandcastle Inn guests. I just wish we had more time. I could have stayed there for at least a week maybe two!

Room Tip: We had an ocean front room. I don't know what the other rooms are like, but we had a suite and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing