We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old favorite!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An old favorite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been coming to the Sandcastle for almost twenty years and I am happy to say it has never lost it's charm. I have only stayed in the ocean-front rooms so I can't speak for the desirability of the non-view rooms, but just the location right on the beach would make a stay worthwhile. I love being able to walk out the sliding door and step onto the beach. I love hearing the sound of the ocean all night. I love not hearing any traffic sounds. I love walking up the street to Rosa's for dinner and walking along the shore afterwards. And in the morning, sitting with coffee and the paper on the balcony or patio watching the people running their dogs. Try it, you'll like it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurieann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    292
    106
    30
    18
See reviews for
373
486
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This review is long over due. We originally wanted to stay here since it was pet friendly and it was right on the beach and close to downtown. We asked for a downstairs room when we reserved our week long stay, they agreed I even called twice to confirm this before we went since it was a huge deal to us. We had two dogs and wanted to be able to be down stairs. When we arrived they gave us a 2nd story room. After asking for a 1st story, and telling them we confirmed that is what we asked for...they didn't even really apologize at all and said that was all they had.

Overall the place was OK...it sucked having to take the dogs up and down the stairs every time they needed to go potty though. The staff was mostly my complaint. We had a few other issues during our stay that we called the front desk about and each time they were not very pleasant.

The rates are not cheap, so next time we will probably NOT stay here. We come to Pismo frequently and have tried many local places on the back and there are better stays for the money. Location is good, rooms were decent, staff...eh?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had high hopes that it would be a great place to frequent due to location, NOT. Learned a hard pricey lesson, what a let down I'd prefer to walk further and not be so accessible to have a few decent amenities. Complete let down, staff is passive, non chalant. I'd recommend a motel 6 before this place ever again. Bummed in Pismo on Spring Break.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bummerplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We strive to provide our guests with the best hospitality experience of any hotel in Pismo Beach. Please contact me directly so that I may address your concerns to your full satisfaction.

Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Only stayed one night. Chose a room with balconey facing the beach. Very relaxing sitting there watching the world go by. Short walk from the hotel in to the centre of town is a great fish and chips restaurant. Our room was next to the open terrace on the third floor with comfortable chairs. Great in the evening to sip your G and T. Rooms were spaceous and well presented. Staff were very helpful and great breakfast. Free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sandcastle Inn's spa-on-the-terrace provided me the opportunity to view people
strolling The Promenade from Pismo Pier to the Inn.
The Manager, Roger W. suggested a room in the "annex" for the convenience
of our dog, Lulu-- who enjoyed the relatively convenient access to the beach-- and
for affordability.

His attitude of helpfulness and concern, along with the graceful, welcoming
ALOHA SPIRIT exemplified by Krystal Davis (and others) at Front Desk, the
meticulous and helpful HOUSEKEEPING staff, the friendly groundskeepers--
these are, for me, what distinguishes this Pacifica Hotels property from the
"high end" motel chain (Best Western, Holiday Inn Express) properties

And the ocean view from the "breakfast room" is extraordinary!

Room Tip: The third floor terrace is a nicely furnished terrace with outdoor "fire pit" and chaise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papagrande45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Place was clean. Small, but location was great. Oceanfront rooms were very relaxing. No ac though, only heat. Room can get pretty warm during daytime. Temperature drops at night. This is probly why. I thought having a fan in the room for use was kind of ghetto for the price of the room. They should at least provide ac for the customers that want to use ac and not get stuck with a fan. Rooms can use a little upgrade or they can at least lower their rates a little bit. Rooms were kind of blah. If it weren't for the location, room rates arent worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeycritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach. It has a hot tub on the first floor deck over looking the ocean. Its right near everything like the pier, shops and restaurants. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The third floor deck has comfortable lounge seating and heaters for when the breeze gets chilly. It is literally the most comfortable and beautiful place! It is relatively affordable although we stayed on a sunday in march which is off season. We also used the trip adviser coupon. There were three of us in a double bed room and it was great! Only downfall is no swimming pool!

Room Tip: We got a room that was a partial ocean view. It was worth saving the money and not paying for the fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceH235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing