We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In no way are they accommodating, staff allows late check out on sold out time frames, no real services and even worse customer ”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In no way are they accommodating, staff allows late check out on sold out time frames, no real services and even worse customer ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had high hopes that it would be a great place to frequent due to location, NOT. Learned a hard pricey lesson, what a let down I'd prefer to walk further and not be so accessible to have a few decent amenities. Complete let down, staff is passive, non chalant. I'd recommend a motel 6 before this place ever again. Bummed in Pismo on Spring Break.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bummerplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We strive to provide our guests with the best hospitality experience of any hotel in Pismo Beach. Please contact me directly so that I may address your concerns to your full satisfaction.

Roger Wightman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    294
    106
    30
    18
See reviews for
375
492
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Only stayed one night. Chose a room with balconey facing the beach. Very relaxing sitting there watching the world go by. Short walk from the hotel in to the centre of town is a great fish and chips restaurant. Our room was next to the open terrace on the third floor with comfortable chairs. Great in the evening to sip your G and T. Rooms were spaceous and well presented. Staff were very helpful and great breakfast. Free parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Sandcastle Inn's spa-on-the-terrace provided me the opportunity to view people
strolling The Promenade from Pismo Pier to the Inn.
The Manager, Roger W. suggested a room in the "annex" for the convenience
of our dog, Lulu-- who enjoyed the relatively convenient access to the beach-- and
for affordability.

His attitude of helpfulness and concern, along with the graceful, welcoming
ALOHA SPIRIT exemplified by Krystal Davis (and others) at Front Desk, the
meticulous and helpful HOUSEKEEPING staff, the friendly groundskeepers--
these are, for me, what distinguishes this Pacifica Hotels property from the
"high end" motel chain (Best Western, Holiday Inn Express) properties

And the ocean view from the "breakfast room" is extraordinary!

Room Tip: The third floor terrace is a nicely furnished terrace with outdoor "fire pit" and chaise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papagrande45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Place was clean. Small, but location was great. Oceanfront rooms were very relaxing. No ac though, only heat. Room can get pretty warm during daytime. Temperature drops at night. This is probly why. I thought having a fan in the room for use was kind of ghetto for the price of the room. They should at least provide ac for the customers that want to use ac and not get stuck with a fan. Rooms can use a little upgrade or they can at least lower their rates a little bit. Rooms were kind of blah. If it weren't for the location, room rates arent worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeycritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel is right on the beach. It has a hot tub on the first floor deck over looking the ocean. Its right near everything like the pier, shops and restaurants. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The third floor deck has comfortable lounge seating and heaters for when the breeze gets chilly. It is literally the most comfortable and beautiful place! It is relatively affordable although we stayed on a sunday in march which is off season. We also used the trip adviser coupon. There were three of us in a double bed room and it was great! Only downfall is no swimming pool!

Room Tip: We got a room that was a partial ocean view. It was worth saving the money and not paying for the fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceH235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place has a great location right on the beach and near the pier. We had two rooms, one oceanfront and one ocean view, and both were nice for our weekend stay. The ocean view actually gives you a nice view of the pier and beach. The hotel is a little tired but overall very nice and surprisingly quiet. There is an oceanfront jacuzzi and a third-floor deck which is quite nice. This is the best location in Pismo, and you can walk to many restaurants and through town. There are other hotels on the north part of the beach which aren't quite as "walkable," so this place is good if you like to walk around. They have bikes for rent, and the sand dunes and the Monarch butterfly groves are close. Other activities such as kayaking are a short drive away. Friendly staff were happy to help. The breakfast is OK; pretty much standard fare. Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank tcf999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here once before and both times we really enjoyed this hotel. Location is right next to the beach. We had a partial ocean view and sat out on the porch on the first floor. Beds were comfortable. Fridge in room. Coffee and tea and cold water with orange slices in them available 24 hours. Cookies and fruit when you check in. Great staff. Breakfast was very good. Waffles, hard boiled eggs, assorted cereals, pastries, toast, drinks and the regular offerings. They even had Soy milk which was a plus for our daughter who can't do dairy. Jacuzzi has an ocean view. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singersac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing