We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Repeat Customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stay here every time I go to Pismo Beach. The hotel sits right on the beach, and is walking distance from the pier. It can be pricey, but that is typical for beachfront hotels in Pismo. If you want to book a hotel during a holiday weekend or even in the summer, you need to book in advance, as this one fills up quick. Make sure and try the clam chowder restaurant on the pier called Splash!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    264
    97
    25
    18
See reviews for
350
440
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel advertises "Pet Friendly", but charged $75 for a dog for a single night stay, however this is not disclosed at booking time. Once you have a guaranteed reservation, which allows no cancellations within 24 hours of arrival, then adds the $75 at check out time. Even at check in time, your credit card is only charged the standard rate, but the $75 is added at the check out.

The $75 is on the small print of the 4 pages and 10 initials you are required to check during the check in, but you could not at that point cancel as it is within the 24 hour period.

The manager was singularly unfriendly and deferred to "Company policy". As an explanation he cited "Extra Cleaning" as the reason for the charge. For $75 I could hire a cleaner all day! there is no justification for this charge.

The "corporate office" has not replied to my complaint or query, which gives me cause for concern for any other issues with this hotel.

Avoid this hotel if you have pets!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel if you have a pet.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank barcelonans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager423, General Manager at Sandcastle Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the initial miscommunication regarding your reservation. We do charge a one time per stay pet fee of $75 plus tax for up to two dogs per room. I would be more than happy to discuss this further with you if you would please contact me directly at the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The staff at the front desk were very friendly, although we seemed to be the last one to check in that day...everyone else managed to get in on early check-in but we had to keep coming back to check in..got in at 3:50..check-iin is 4:00. Great location on the beach with clean, comfortable rooms. Compare to the quality of high-dollar rooms at major hotels in major tourist areas or convention hotels. I thought the room was a pricey ($200 including taxes) but was told that was average for the area. Robes were provided which was a nice touch. A tremendous selection of items was available in the free breakfast. Hot chocolate chip cookies were provided in the afternoon. All very nice touches. I thoroughly enjoyed this relaxing anniversary weekend. (There was no pool or restaurant). Great way to enjoy the beach and sunset.

Room Tip: Don't opt for the higher-priced ground floor rooms..you can't keep your patio doors open at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrag55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our room ( second floor) had a balcony overlooking the beach and ocean, however, there was a private sidwalk between the beach and hotel where people could walk. A 1st floor room is not advisable. The breakfast room is very nice and so is the breakfast. There is an area outside this room where people can eat facing the ocean. This hotel is in an older section of town but has alot of shops around this area. The beach was clean and flat and there were no cliffs in that area so it was a great beach for families.

Room Tip: Besure and reserve a second or third floor facing the ocean for a view. First floor rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired9844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a really outstanding place to stay. Fabulous location right on the beach, very well kept up. Convenient for exploring Pismo Beach, which has some really good restaurants. Rooms are spacious, beds extremely comfortable. Staff is always very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

had a ocean front room.was well worth it!!!!!first time staying here excellent service will definently return again. walking distance to everything. shopping outlets are one freeway exit away..!! theres a really nice patio with a fireplace on the third floor nice for people watching.pretty good breakfast and there was a happy birthday sign in the lobby which was sweet and unexpected!!! sandcastle inn is a must for pismo...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flora r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Each time we stay the service is excellent--- Will always return again and again. This is the best location and price in Pismo Beach. The rooms are always excellent,clean and well stocked.The location is central to a lot of good food within walking distance. The Breakfast Bar is always a added bargain for the Hotel Guests. The new exterior renovation was a very nice, parking is never a problem.Once you walk into the lobby and talk with the Staff-- you know you are at the Jewel Of Pismo.

Room Tip: Annex rooms have A/C under cover parking . Needed A/C warm weather in Nov is common.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeliGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing