We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Incredible Hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible Hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I took my elderly parents to this hotel. Neither of my parents had ever seen the ocean before so when I booked the room, the manager gave us a great deal on 2 ocean view rooms. I must say, we were not disappointed! We loved everything about the hotel, the rooms and the views were amazing! ALL the staff was friendly and helpful and always asked what we did today or how our day was. Will definitely go back and recommend this hotel to ANYONE!!!

Room Tip: From what we seen...even the rooms with a "partial" ocean view even had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    273
    100
    25
    18
See reviews for
353
451
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We've been staying at the Sandcastle for many years--we travel between San Diego and San Francisco often, and it is a nice half way point for us, and also just a great place to stop. The Sandcastle is especially nice, as it is right on the sand, walking distance from town, restaurants, shops, and of course the beach.

Pismo Beach is California beach, top to bottom, surfers, beach culture, a little funky, lots of fun and not expensive. Can be cool and foggy, part of its attraction.

We've watched the Sandcastle evolve from beachfront rustic to a remodeled, refurbished, clean and increasingly upscale hotel, without losing its friendly ambience, complete with a great buffet breakfast every morning and low-key amenities throughout the day. Much of the clientele drives over from the eastern valleys, although there is the 101 crowd as well, and you'll enjoy the blend of families and couples.

High recommendation.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building, and ocean view or partial ocean view is worth the extra rate, part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Ocean Front KING, soft bed AMAZING views, the hotel ordered up a PERFECT sunset especially for me, award winning customer service, GREAT Value.... Yummy breakfast with plenty of "FIXINS". I can NOT wait to return.......... LOVED IT

Room Tip: any room is the PERFECT room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetBeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

First, let me say we stayed in a room listed as "Newly Renovated" and I don't know how much of the hotel is still undergoing renovations. That said, our room was amazing! The view - spectacular and ours was just a partial ocean view room. The room was a good size, and very clean, and it had a wonderful balcony. One of my favorite, little, things was the room had a recycle wastebasket. A nice little surprise was the hotel's common, outdoor seating areas on the 1st and 3rd floors. Nice touch - nice hotel!

Room Tip: Any ocean front or ocean view room, especially the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunter_1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We really loved our stay at this hotel. The staff was very warm, friendly, and helpful. It was so great to relax on the back porch outside our room and see the beautiful view of the beach and the pier. Our young girls loved being so close to the beach and being able to run back to our room from time to time when needed. It was nice to have a hot breakfast in the morning and the waffles were perfect. The location was very close and convenient to the pier, shops and restaurants. We would definitely love to stay here again and would recommend this place to all of our family and friends!

Room Tip: We recommend getting a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel is old and worn down, rooms are small. I stayed here based on reviews, if not for the location would stay elsewhere.it is on the beach and a couple blks from town. Breakfast was very basic, cereal, toast, oatmeal, breads, ran out of coffee, took 15min to replenish, people were getting irritated. Breakfast room was small.
We originally had reservations at a Hilton garden inn a couple miles farther but my sons wanted to stay on the beach, next time will choose HGI.
We were on 1st floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelling4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My girlfriend and I were traveling up the coast back home to the Delta and came across this little ocean gem. The room we had was on the third floor and had a view of the mountains. The room was updated and and had a large LCD TV and free WI Fi. The king bed and clean soft sheets were to die for. When looking online for hotels in the area, there was nothing that even came close on the beach for this price. On top of everything we also got a free Continental breakfast. When there be sure to walk through the town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,057 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing