We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in. SPECTACULAR!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandcastle Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandcastle Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
“Best hotel I have ever stayed in. SPECTACULAR!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

The Sandcastle inn was the best hotel I have ever stayed in. the view was SPECTACULAR! we stayed in room 109 on first floor and you have full view on the ocean and beach, and even the Pismo Pier. The staff was very professional, and responded to all my family needs. The complementary breakfeat was fantasic. waffles, cerel, bagels, orange juice, the works. the two queen beds was enough for my two young duaghters and wife and me. the room had a flat screen TV and WiFi for labtop(I was able to do school work with no problems). We drove for 10 hours from Arizona (south of Phoenix) on our vacation, to stay at the Sandcastle in Pismo Beach, and let me say we were NOT DISAPPOINTED. We were even offered a great deal for a second night. If you plan on a having a great trip to the central valley coast, I recommend staying at the Sandcastle Inn.

Room Tip: Spend the money, Get the view, Worth it!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanleer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    278
    104
    25
    18
See reviews for
359
464
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Great hotel right on the beach and walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The staff were incredibly welcoming to our dog and even had a sign with his name on it. The hotel doesn't have a dog size restriction which is another big plus. They even had a preprinted sheet indicating all the dog friendly restaurants. The room was great and you couldn't tell it was a room designated for guests with dogs. The beds were comfortable and they provided free bottled water. Even though we were at street level, it wasn't noisy at all. I definitely will come to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jedfrancois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

We have stayed here multiple times. If the sound of the surf is your thing DON'T MISS IT! Right on the ocean and a great staff. If you can splurge stay in an ocean view and you'll have a hard time tearing yourself off the balcony. If you're bargain hunting try small ocean view. We've stayed full-price and on a walk-in special. Not tons of amenities, but with the beach ten steps away, what more do you need?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarnDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

well-maintained hotel, near the beach
the rooms are well, very indivual designed,
good mattress, the breakfast room is on the beach side
complimentary cookies, apple and orange at the reception desk
very friendly hotel staff

Room Tip: rooms without view are okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prosper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed here from one night after visiting some more low key wineries in the area. Nice to walk right onto the beach. Breakfest was fantastic in the morning.

One thing that I did notice is that my room noted that the thermostat was for heating only. I am not sure if in the summer the hotel is cooled centrally but our room was very warm when we arrived and it was cool outside so I can imagine this might get warm in the summer.

Great service with a nice beach view room. AAA rate was sub 120 and so value was fantastic.

I would highly recommend this place - http://www.pismowineshop.com/ also for some local wines. Ash and Lissa know their stuff. Sadly, it is 21 or older only so you can not even sit with your kids....in any case, you can taste all they have by the glass and take a bottle away - discounted versus drinking it there. We did this and had dinner Giuseppe's next door and paid corkage. Loved Giuseppe's also.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

This was our second stay at the Sandcastle. We loved it so much when we visited last year, we just had to stay again! We love the close proximity to everything. Great restaurants are within 3-5 minutes walking distance. If we feel like driving to another nearby coastal city, it's easy to do so.
We love that the beach and pier are just steps away. This time we had an ocean view room and it was great, but the other rooms are nice too.
We love the spa for relaxing. The expanded continental breakfast is great and a wonderful time saver for busy travelers. Just get up and have your breakfast before you leave for your day. It's wonderful! Love the late afternoon fresh cookies too!
Friendly and helpful staff, always kind to answer questions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
345 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

The location can't be beat, it is directly on the beach with amazing views. We booked a view suite and had a great view of the beach, pier and town. The main drag of the old part of town is just a block away, so there are many choices nearby for restaurants.

Parking is free behind the hotel and felt fairly secure. I wouldn't want to be on the first floor though. Anyone can access your patio day or night. Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Be sure to book a room with a view. The annex building behind the main building has no view at all.

Our suite was huge with a sofa, chair/ottoman, dining table with 4 chairs, gas fireplace and wet bar with refrigerator and microwave, plus coffee making supplies. The king size bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The balcony ran the entire length of the room, but it was too windy to use it. Beware though that the view suites adjoin a patio area on the 3rd floor that can be noisy during the day.

The room was spotless and the amenities provided were nicer than expected. It was noisy during the day with lots of unruly kids running up and down the halls constantly, but it did quiet down at night.

The free breakfast is OK, but nothing to rave about. It is all sugary pastries, waffles, sweetened cereal and whole fruit. It is no wonder the kids staying here are hyper if they are eating this breakfast! It is fine to get you started in the morning though.

We found the staff to be fine, but not as spectacular as some of the reviews may suggest. They were all nice and did their job, but I expect hotel staff to be like that. They weren't extraordinary in any way.

Two things I really disliked: The free wireless internet service was very poor. It dropped out often and was slow even with a strong signal. The worst thing was the terrible water-saving showerhead. It was like trying to shower in a mist. It took forever to even get wet. I live in So. Cal. and I understand water restrictions, but this went way too far.

Overall, I think this place is overpriced for what it is in spite of the location. Almost everyplace in Pismo Beach has a great view. I would probably stay here again, but definitely not during the busy season when I expect it is full of kids. Otherwise, it is very nice and a safe choice.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davegidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
3.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Inn

Property: Sandcastle Inn
Address: 100 Stimson Ave, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2644
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s so much to see in Pismo Beach and it begins with our property, featuring an upper deck with lounge chairs and a fireplace and some of the best views in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sandcastle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle Hotel Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Inn Pismo Beach
Sandcastle Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing