We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Alameda, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Always a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

As usual, had a terrific stay at the Spyglass Inn. Can't beat the place for the price. Have stayed there several times and always have a great room and service. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KTP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    270
    123
    37
    26
See reviews for
210
378
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2010

Rooms have nice decor - seems to have been updated from an older motel but nicely done. We had an ocean view room on the second floor and the views were incredible (see attached photos). If you have time, drive up to Montana del Oro state park (25 min. away) and walk along the shoreline trail. It is beautiful and well worth the trip.
We ate at the restaurant twice and the food was great. The cheese bread is really delicious! We went for three nights to celebrate my husband's birthday and had a wonderful stay. For a moderate price with spectacular views, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

In Pismo for a short 3-day get away and chose this hotel because of their dinner package which included dinner for 2 for each night of the stay at the Spyglass Restaurant.
The hotel was very nicely located but the room was outdated, bed wasn't comfortable, maid service was marginal - didn't clean the room at all one of the days.
The food at the restaurant was over priced and except for the baby back ribs - the food was poor - would have been very unhappy if I had paid full price for the meals - wouldn't eat there again and not sure that I would stay here again.
Hotel manager was nice - offered to try and accommodate a request for a different room but the problem was the mattress was terrible and we were located in the rooms with newer mattresses.
If budget is the main consideration - stay but if you have other options - take them

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smc698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas12345
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

We got a second floor room at this hotel while driving from LA to San Francisco. I can't say enough positive things about it. At night, we could hear the waves crashing against the shore. It was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dallas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

We had to attend a Memorial Service in Central Coast so we decided to stay by the beach. We enjoyed our stay; the property itself is fine. Great view from our partial ocean view room (see picture), however the rooms are a little tired and could use updating. No flat screen TV and very slow maid service (one day room wasn't cleaned until 4:00 p.m. and we had to call and ask about it. Restaurant deck is under construction. Would recommend this property to folks with dogs and also who are on a budget as the cost is less than other properties nearby. This could be a great place with a little updating to the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABKBPeoria_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

We loved this hotel. The rooms were big and comfortable! The room was decorated beautifully and the beds were comfortable. The service was excellent! We would definently stay here again and would recommend it to anybody who was coming to this part of California.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We were in town with our dog, Murphy, and needed a nice dog-friendly hotel with easy access to San Luis Obispo. We have been traveling to this area together for 29 years, and used to stay in central Pismo Beach, which, though gradually improving, is still a bit, ah, old-fashioned. Over the last 10 years, we've spent more and more time in Cayucos or places north thereof... But we needed to stay in Pismo this time... Much investment has been poured into northern Pismo Beach/Shell Beach; Spy Glass Inn is on the southern end of a short row of tony hotels/resorts (next to Dolphin Bay Resort and Cliff Resort). We were attracted by the reviews and reasonable room cost. Very friendly staff greeted us, checked us in, and provided us the promised room (with fireplace and king size bed). We were impressed with the decor and found the bed to be extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the hot spa outside. A number of folks had brought their dogs with them, but we never heard any other animals at night, though we left our sliding door open (the roar of the ocean kind of has that effect)... The view was nice, though all of the hotels at that location are high on a bluff; only a broad view of the ocean or distant shoreline are available. However, there is a nice path that leads along the bluff edge towards the north from Spyglass Inn and across all of the properties, to a beach access trail. We had read only one recommendation for the restaurants in the immediate area, but all of the restaurants were packed while we were there (okay: wedding next door and a college outing at Spyglass Inn); but we did eat breakfast at Spyglass Inn on our last morning and found the service and food excellent (better than top breakfast joint recommended on TripAdvisor in Pismo Beach). Access to San Luis Obispo was excellent (restaurants and event we were in town for)... All in all, we intend to return soon, but would like to spend less time in the car next time: it appears that one can readily enjoy an excellent weekend here without ever getting into the car, once arrived. That means more wine at dinner for me!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFeet16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing