We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful place - worst I have ever stayed in the USA”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A very poor experience - easily the worst hotel I have stayed at in the USA!

I have stayed in many Pacifica Hotels and most are very good, e.g. Half Moon Bay, Belamar and Laguna Beach. The Spyglass is an embarrassment to the company.

I like to start with the good points on a hotel but the Spyglass Inn didn't have any good points, so here go the bad ones:

a. The bed was a cheap. low quality bed which sagged a lot and wobbled.
b. The mattress was upside-down (the pillow-top was underneath) possibly because the hotel wanted to get another few years life out of a worn out mattress.
c. The pillows were cheap, nasty, polyester which were very worn and uncomfortable.
d. The bed sheet was put on upside-down, possibly to get a few more months wear before replacing
e. The sheets and blankets were very thin and cheap.
f. The two spare pillows smelt like the pillow cases were not changed from previous guests
g. The we could hear all the conversations in the room next door through the connecting door.
h. Guests arriving before the official check-in time of 4 pm were aggressively to come back later because rooms were not ready.
i. At 10:40 am we were called by the housekeeping manager who happened to be in the room next door and asking us if we had checked out (the check-out time is 11:00). We felt we were being chased out of the room.

All in all our stay was very unpleasant and I was embarrassed that I booked the hotel. It is the first hotel I have had to cancel our extra nights check out early!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

I am truly sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit. We strive to provide our guests with the best hospitality experience of any hotel in Pismo Beach. Please contact me directly so that I may address your concerns to your full satisfaction. Jason Gentry 805-773-4855

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
There are newer reviews for Spyglass Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 844 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very nice room, ocean view, balcony, very spacious, comfortable bed for a very fair price. We loved the restaurant too. Delicious food, ocean view, fantastic service & reasonable prices too. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: higher floors have the best partial ocean view. That is what we had.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMWriders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My daughter and I had a fabulous time. The room was clean, the staff was very nice and the price was very fair. We just couldn't believe that a place right on the ocean would be so affordable. Absolutely beautiful view.

We went over to the Spyglass Inn restaurant and had a marvelous breakfast at a great price. The staff was very nice and the food was tasty.

I will definitely return and refer others to the Spyglass Inn. Thank you for a great time.

Room Tip: They have specific rooms that look directly out to the ocean. Open your door and there you are. Even...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Needed an ADA room and was pleasantly surprised. Room was easy to access and had a great roll-in shower. The attached restaurant was close and also easy to get to. Good food and great views. There's a coastal walking path close by. Didn't use the pool or spa but noticed they were also ADA accessible. Very affordable. Will definitely come back in or out of the wheelchair..

Room Tip: Our room didn't have ocean view but was in one that did. Highly recommend.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view room with a balcony specifically to get a snapshot of the sunset. We were not the only ones with the same idea and we were NOT disappointed. This sweet coastal inn is indeed along the coast line, shared with several other vacation properties. There is access to a small beach and surfers were in the water each day. Dog friendly, there were many people walking their dogs. There is a nice restaurant on the property which has a fantastic view, heated outdoor seating, and a well-stocked bar. The pool is super small, not heated but we used it anyway! Room was big with plenty of space and towels. It was very comfortable and affordable. Go there!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFJess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Pismo is about 4 hrs from SF and 4-3 to LA. Good stopping point for those not in a rush. As with the vast majority of hotels, one needs to select and pay for a view. We found it affordable and the staff helpful in picking the best room available within the confines of what we were paying. Ours had a little balcony outside. Believe a small fridge (not mini bar but a proper small fridge was standard). The queen beds seemed to be true queen beds (not the scaled down "queens" so many hotels have) but the pillows were foam, which gave us neck cramps. (we are picky about beds, sheets, pillows...and noise). There's a string of hotels right next to each other all along the beach and freeway - many might be in the reach of freeway noise. Our room was OK, but we could definitely hear trucks much of the night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravelwKids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The spyglass inn was an affordable place to stay in Pismo! The room was clean and the staff was incredible. We just need to stay the night and this was the perfect place. I wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the beach views!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelsea712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,012 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,443 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,165 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,049 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $139 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing