We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed in an ocean view room with a balcony specifically to get a snapshot of the sunset. We were not the only ones with the same idea and we were NOT disappointed. This sweet coastal inn is indeed along the coast line, shared with several other vacation properties. There is access to a small beach and surfers were in the water each day. Dog friendly, there were many people walking their dogs. There is a nice restaurant on the property which has a fantastic view, heated outdoor seating, and a well-stocked bar. The pool is super small, not heated but we used it anyway! Room was big with plenty of space and towels. It was very comfortable and affordable. Go there!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFJess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    257
    115
    36
    25
See reviews for
198
351
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Pismo is about 4 hrs from SF and 4-3 to LA. Good stopping point for those not in a rush. As with the vast majority of hotels, one needs to select and pay for a view. We found it affordable and the staff helpful in picking the best room available within the confines of what we were paying. Ours had a little balcony outside. Believe a small fridge (not mini bar but a proper small fridge was standard). The queen beds seemed to be true queen beds (not the scaled down "queens" so many hotels have) but the pillows were foam, which gave us neck cramps. (we are picky about beds, sheets, pillows...and noise). There's a string of hotels right next to each other all along the beach and freeway - many might be in the reach of freeway noise. Our room was OK, but we could definitely hear trucks much of the night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwKids4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The spyglass inn was an affordable place to stay in Pismo! The room was clean and the staff was incredible. We just need to stay the night and this was the perfect place. I wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the beach views!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are clean and decorated well. There's a big difference where your room is located as far as the view. If you want an ocean view you'll have to specify and possible pay more. The hotel is located on a bluff over the ocean near other nice hotels as well, so you can take a nice walk and visit other bars/ restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel sits on the cliffs on Pismo beach, it's an older but well kept. We didn't have an ocean view but the view was just a few short steps away. Other than the location being great, the restaurant that is connected has the best food. We ate there several times and even had dessert in our room. Housekeeping was very efficient and friendly. We enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zimabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was truly a welcomed and pleasant surprise for me and my family. We were driving up the coast from San Diego to San Francisco and we thought we would drive straight through but decided to stop in Pismo as everyone was tried from the drive. I quickly did an internet search for hotels in Pismo Beach and several reasonably priced hotels came up (around $89 / night). I checked all the hotels on TripAdvisor and the Spyglass Hotel had recent glowing reviews. We were not disappointed! The hotel looks good inside and out. The property is well maintained and the view of Pismo Beach is AWESOME. The rooms exceeded our expectations. Although the rooms are not "new" they are very well maintained and huge! There is also a decent enough restaurant on the site. If the Spyglass Restaurant does not suit you there is a gourmet grocery store next to the Shell gas station with baked good, coffee, sandwiches, wine, beer, etc. If I am every in Pismo Beach again I will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anointedhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

great value hotel right off highway overlooking ocean. we had a back room but the front rooms had a wonderful view. lovely walk along coastline in the morning. the restaurant overlooks the ocean and food is varied and reasonable. service good. hotel room quite spacious with large bathroom. very pleasant front desk staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susie971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing