We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnighter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great overnighter”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed in a partial ocean view room just for one night en route to San Francisco from LA; I had obtained a really good pre purchase rate from the Inn directly when I knew my travel dates were firm. It is in a really nice location, offered a better than expected outlook for a partial ocean view room, nice toiletries, quietness and free wifi. Would have liked a safe in the room. Having been on the road all day we thought we would just walk somewhere for dinner but thought options were limited - either the hotel restaurant or one in an adjacent complex but that's the topic of another review. Breakfast in the Spyglass Restaurant was unfortunately disappointing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_AustraliaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. The partial ocean view rooms do have a wonderful view from the third floor balconies. We at the Spyglass Inn and Restaurant were unhappy to hear about your breakfast experience. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations and we appreciate your feedback which will help us to improve our overall product and service. Please contact me so that I may address your concerns to your full satisfaction. We will look forward to seeing you again on your return to Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    272
    125
    37
    26
See reviews for
217
380
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The Spyglass inn. Is nicely situated overlooking the beach. Ocean view rooms are pricier, however we were happy to pay less for a room not facing the beach. 2 sinks were a bonus, nice private patio ( we could see the ocean if we stood up). Rooms include small fridge, a few chairs and desk in a room with one king size bed.
Walking distance to several restaurants, beach and store.
Hotel pool and hot tub are simple, clean and not crowded. While adjacent fancy hotels go for 400 a night, we were well under two hundred. And we did not have to put up with noisy bikini clad crowds at the pool.
Restaurant at hotel is decent with a fabulous view, reasonable prices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lascola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our oceanfront hotel. It was our pleasure to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pismo beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed two nights. First night in a partial ocean view room. The room location was not a problem, but since the balcony is adjacent to the room next door, there was no privacy at all. Also the wall between rooms was so thin, we didn't have any relaxing quiet moment. So we upgraded ourselves to those front rooms the second night. We had more privacy since the balconies were separated. The rooms on the ocean front are in general, much better standards in every way. Just the ocean view worth every penny. We should have taken the advice from Tripadvisor to book ocean front room only.

Room Tip: Take the ocean front room or choose else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent three nights at the Spyglass Inn, originally planning two nights and staying a third after enjoying the experience so much. We opted for an upgrade to an ocean view room, which I believe greatly enhanced our stay because the view from the room was beautiful. Rates in June are more reasonable than the ensuing summer months, and although we thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and restaurant, I would not pay $300 plus per night to stay at this hotel during high season, nor would I stay in a room without the ocean views. The rooms are very nice, and offer balconies, fireplaces and nice patios on the bottom floor ocean view rooms. The pool and spa are nothing special. The restaurant offers a great happy hour menu beautiful views, also - equal to any restaurant in Pismo Beach. Gary the bartender was a great host, and offered helpful tips about local vineyards and attractions. The location is wonderful, close to Hwy 1, and if you enjoy wine, some great vineyards, Avila Beach, Moro Bay, etc. You need to drive into the town of Pismo Beach. I would definitely stay at this Inn again during the more affordable off-season.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JinxHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Booked a room for the night at Spyglass during busy Memorial Day weekend. Just couldn't get past the "minimum days" requirement of the motels/inns in the area. The other beef I had going at these places are the prices. C'mon at almost $300/night for a motel with no a/c?

On the flip side, the place was clean and comfortable but definitely not a Westin...so please do not charge Westin/Ritz Carlton rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trvlcrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations. We always appreciate all feedback from our customers to exceed our guests’ expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience that the busy holiday weekend had caused. Please contact me directly so that I may personally invite you to return to our hotel on your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I decided to come to Pismo Beach to take a trip for our Anniversary and to take a Dune Buggy Adventure with Sun Buggy's. We chose to stay at the Spyglass Inn for three days. It was wonderful. The staff was very accommodating and polite. The room was very clean and we were surprised to find it had a separate bedroom with TV and closet. It also had a very comfy bed and bedding. The living room had a large Flat screen TV and dining area and balcony with a fabulous view of the ocean. It was a large space and felt cozy and very welcoming.
The restaurant and lounge was also very nice, the food was awesome as were the staff. They even loaned us a set of wine glasses to use in our room for our wine. The barkeep Gary is really a nice person and he was very helpful answering our questions about Pismo and the area. Gary was by far the most outgoing of all the restaurant staff. He went out of his way to ensure we were enjoying ourselves. He is a real gem.
Justin at the front desk was also very polite and helpful.
I have to say we enjoyed every moment of our stay and will hopefully return again.
It is really rare for me to give a review this high, but the Spyglass Inn deserves it and more!
Thank you for a very nice time.
Nick and Brenda

Room Tip: All rooms with Ocean View would be my suggestion. they all have a wonderful vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel years ago. It was a welcome place to stay with a nice little restaraunt and bar overlooking the ocean. This trip did not disappoint. The staff was friendly, the room was nice, the view was nice and the food was still great. The location was handy. We were in Pismo for their annual antique travel trailer show two offramps to the South. Had a great time and the hotel was just far enough North of the trailer show to keep us out of the crowds. There is beach access and we had an enjoyable time walking on the beach and looking at the many tidepools with their various forms of life. We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a short getaway to Pismo Beach.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have an ocean view. Be sure to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,290 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,871 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,566 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,112 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing