We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Spyglass inn in Pismo Beach. We stayed in room 110 which has a very nice patio and an incredible view. The food at the Spyglass restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The inn is moderately priced considering hotel/motel costs in San Luis Obispo, and has a much better view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 864 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

The service was excellent! We were able to pull off checking in 3 hours early and the staff was very friendly all around the hotel.
The rooms were lovely. The room was clean and had what we needed: coffee maker, microwave, fridge, TV, outlets, etc. It was definitely worth it for us to get the ocean view! We were able to just step out to the patio, sit around and tan like we were on the beach!
The only thing that wasn't great was that the walls were thin and so we could hear the people above us walking around and the people next door as well. Also, the gas fireplace wasn't too worth the extra cost.
Location was convenient. Right by the 101/1 North and by a gas station and several restaurants. Also, the hotel grounds were well-kept and you had access to what felt like a private beach!
They also had a pretty good sized pool and jacuzzi perfect for just chilling.
So, we paid $250 for 2 nights and it was well worth the price!

Room Tip: Definitely opt for the Full Ocean View! It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melimund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful Wedding on the ocean in front of Spyglass Restaurant....Nice glass of brew in hand ....Bride walks down to "Somewhere over the Rainbow" ...after married leave with a great beach song ..could not have been more perfect...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slurrieluri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at the Spyglass Inn for one night in March. First room we were allocated had a problem in that the toilet would not flush so they allocated us another room which was in a dark dingy corner. Went back to the reception and asked for a room with an ocean view and paid for the upgrade.
Although the room was clean, the decor was quite dark and depressing and not what we were expecting which is a real shame as this was the only down side of the hotel.
We ate at the restaurant which was really nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lien1735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service. We will also use your valuable feedback when working with our design team as we continue to look for new ways to exceed our guests’ expectations. Please contact me directly so that I may personally invite you to return to our hotel on your next visit to Pismo Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great view and beautiful garden. Loved sitting on the balcony and watching the surfers and waves and birds. The restaurant has the best cocunut shrimp around. I will defenitely be back with my whole family the next time I visit pismo beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbrooks559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The check in staff were friendly & helpful (it was great that i was able to use the printer in their business centre for some last minute printing needs).
The room was clean and a good size.
Great shower!
It was also nice to be able to go for a walk along the beach front cliff.
I would stay here again.
Word of warning though - don't go to the Spyglass restaurant - terrible terrible food - i would recommend either driving somewhere else, or walking across to the restaurant in the little village next door.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our ocean-view lower-level room was just right for the two of us, it was very clean and had a fireplace (although we didn't figure out how to operate it). We checked in and then headed out to catch a sight of the Monarch butterflies that were wintering just south of here. The guide at the grove told us there were about 30,000 butterflies nestled in the trees here, really worth seeing them in person.

The Spyglass Inn Restaurant was a delicious surprise! We had dinner here - great! A little on the pricey side, but there are a couple lower priced options on the menu - the food and service was worth the price! We also had breakfast here the next morning and it was well-priced and a nice way to start the day, full breakfast with a view of the ocean! Highly recommend it!

I would definitely stay here again, it is just far away enough from the tourist main area/pier and has plenty of options close by if we were to spend more time and look for other dining options.

Room Tip: Upstairs ocean view most likely to have a better view, but we enjoyed a small patio amongst the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RG_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,493 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,059 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#4 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,163 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,188 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $116 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing