We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs upgrading”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Needs upgrading”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed at the Spyglass Inn for one night in March. First room we were allocated had a problem in that the toilet would not flush so they allocated us another room which was in a dark dingy corner. Went back to the reception and asked for a room with an ocean view and paid for the upgrade.
Although the room was clean, the decor was quite dark and depressing and not what we were expecting which is a real shame as this was the only down side of the hotel.
We ate at the restaurant which was really nice and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lien1735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service. We will also use your valuable feedback when working with our design team as we continue to look for new ways to exceed our guests’ expectations. Please contact me directly so that I may personally invite you to return to our hotel on your next visit to Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    277
    127
    37
    27
See reviews for
224
387
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great view and beautiful garden. Loved sitting on the balcony and watching the surfers and waves and birds. The restaurant has the best cocunut shrimp around. I will defenitely be back with my whole family the next time I visit pismo beach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbrooks559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The check in staff were friendly & helpful (it was great that i was able to use the printer in their business centre for some last minute printing needs).
The room was clean and a good size.
Great shower!
It was also nice to be able to go for a walk along the beach front cliff.
I would stay here again.
Word of warning though - don't go to the Spyglass restaurant - terrible terrible food - i would recommend either driving somewhere else, or walking across to the restaurant in the little village next door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Our ocean-view lower-level room was just right for the two of us, it was very clean and had a fireplace (although we didn't figure out how to operate it). We checked in and then headed out to catch a sight of the Monarch butterflies that were wintering just south of here. The guide at the grove told us there were about 30,000 butterflies nestled in the trees here, really worth seeing them in person.

The Spyglass Inn Restaurant was a delicious surprise! We had dinner here - great! A little on the pricey side, but there are a couple lower priced options on the menu - the food and service was worth the price! We also had breakfast here the next morning and it was well-priced and a nice way to start the day, full breakfast with a view of the ocean! Highly recommend it!

I would definitely stay here again, it is just far away enough from the tourist main area/pier and has plenty of options close by if we were to spend more time and look for other dining options.

Room Tip: Upstairs ocean view most likely to have a better view, but we enjoyed a small patio amongst the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Spyglass a few times over the years. I like the location- it's the quiet end of Pismo, and there is easy freeway access so I can get anywhere.

I'll admit the view is the prime driver here for me. The ocean-front rooms are more costly, but there are few places in the world with a better view for this price. I'm happy on the terrace with my feet up and the sun on its way down. Add to that the excellent service, the comfortable bar and a fine restaurant, and I don't think you can beat it.

The site is organised like a typical, twentieth century motel, with parking in the centre of the property, so one can always park near the room. There's a sun drenched pool there, too. The gardens and pathways along the cliff top are the real draw- nice for walking, wildlife and solitude.

The rooms are California-modern: maybe a little tired but very welcoming. The bathroom in the room I stayed in recently was clean and tidy- but feels a bit small now compared to other, more contemporary hotels. Still, Spyglass has been offering this level of hospitality for years, and it all comes together. It's good value for money, in my experience- and oh, that view!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to reserve a room at the Spyglass Inn. It was a Friday night on a popular weekend, so I decided not to spend the extra money for an ocean view room and booked a partial ocean view room instead, which was considerably cheaper. Upon entering the room, we were thrilled with our 3rd floor "partial ocean view" with balcony and sitting area, which offered sweeping ocean views, as well as the room, which had a very roomy sleeping/living area and bathroom. The room was first rate overall, modern and spotless.

While we loved the room and view, the best part about the Spyglass Inn is the location. I went to the car to get something and decided to walk the few steps to the ocean. The view from the cliffs in front of the hotel is just outstanding and is a great place to take a walk and enjoy the view, the wildlife. and interact with others doing the same thing.

My husband had researched restaurants in the Pismo Beach area, but after seeing the view from the Spyglass Inn restaurant, decided there was no reason to leave the hotel. We had dinner that night and breakfast the next day there, and were not disappointed. The service was excellent and the food was good, with a good wine list featuring local wines and good happy hour specials.

We are planning on returning to the Spyglass Inn and look forward to a midweek visit in an ocean view room in order to get the better rate. After looking at the location of this hotel vs some of the other hotels in the Pismo Beach area, we decided we preferred this location, as it's less crowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have enjoyed many visits to Spyglass over the years. The views are great, grounds well kept, friendly staff, and wonderful food. However, during our last visit we felt the rooms (we looked at two) were not up to the usual standard we have come to expect. The overwhelming smell of chemical cleaners when we entered the room was terrible. The couch was dirty with ground in dirt and torn, the furniture was worn and chipped, there were stains on the fabric headboard and drippy stains on the walls. The tv cabinet and front door were covered in dirty fingerprints. The bathroom could use some upgrades as well. We stayed right down the street at a spotlessly clean room and ordered dinner from Spyglass which was delivered to our room for six bucks service charge. Best of both worlds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bbqrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments on your stay at the Spyglass Inn. Our staff finds it unfortunate that you were displeased with your stay. We have looked into your comments and are very aggressive about taking care of our customers’ needs. Your displeasure with you room was troubling to us and we will work hard to investigate and resolve the issues that were stated. We look forward to making every guests stay enjoyable, hopefully we can be your hospitality provider in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,182 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,890 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing