We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Oceanview and Fireplace Too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Oceanview and Fireplace Too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What more do you need? Peaceful, comfortable. Separate sitting area at fireplace. Clean room. Bathroom was a shower only, but that's all we use anyway. Check in and check out friendly and quick. On site restaurant was good, but nothing special. Diffinitely would return if traveling through the area.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are mostly oceanfront with fireplace. Second floor has balcony - better view but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennyinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    257
    115
    36
    25
See reviews for
198
351
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for only one night, but found it very cosy and accommodating. The staff were friendly and attentive to any problems we had. The room itself was very well presented and the beds amazing for a motel. I did ask for a ocean view when we arrived and was told it would cost an extra $70, so we gave that amiss as the sun was already setting.
Give the restaurant a miss and try heading into town.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and could hear every movement from above, so get a second floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We are wrapping up our stay at the Spyglass today. The week of New Year's is the only time my husband can get away from our business, so this was our only vacation for the year. We were looking for calm and relaxation. Access to the beach for long walks was a must. I needed to find a good hotel on a tight budget. I found it in the Spyglass - which was about $85.00 before taxes with AAA discount. The hotel accommodations were terrific. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, beds extremely comfortable with lots of comfy pillows. We had a nice-sized flat screen and small patio - non-ocean view. There are rooms with full and partial ocean views available. We had a coffeemaker and small refrigerator in our room. This hotel does not provide breakfast, but the Spyglass Restaurant on premises gives a $2 discount on the Spyglass Special, which is two eggs, two sausage or bacon, and two pancakes. You just need to show your key for the discount. The restaurant has great views of the ocean, with some outdoor seating. There is stairway access to the beach where you can stroll and watch the surfers. There is also a heated pool, which we did not use.

The only problem we seemed to encounter were with other guests. There was what seemed to be a family of monkeys up above us who ran, stomped, and sounded like they were constantly moving furniture. At 9pm I finally had enough and called the front desk. They dealt with the situation promptly and the noises calmed down considerably from that point. And then the family next door - their kids were up fighting, screaming and crying at 7am. My husband and I do not have children, so we are not used to, nor do we have a desire to be a part of that chaos. I suppose we could have asked for another room, but by this point we were settled in. We just gave up the idea of sleeping in. Once they were out for the day, all was quiet and lovely.

All in all, it was a great getaway for my husband and I. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe you should inquire if you will be surrounded by young families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMyChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have been staying at the Spyglass Inn for years. It is in a fantastic location above the ocean next to much pricier hotels. It is an old motel that has been remodeled. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Many have fireplaces. We always ask for ocean view with fireplace. It is dog friendly. The room amenities surpass those of fancier hotels. The in room coffee is actually good. The robes are comfy. The Spyglass Restaurant on the property serves excellent meals with an unsurpassed ocean view.

The hotel and restaurant staff are friendly and provide true service.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view with fireplace. The rooms facing the ocean are quiet and have lovely patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy3154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We booked because our friends asked us to stay in a "dog" friendly hotel. We lucked out, because it ended up being a perfect base for us to visit Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo, Hearst Castle and Pismo Beach. Hotel was somewhat typical beach hotel, a little age on it, but clean, fantastic bed, great views and a terrific value. We had a King Size room on the 3rd floor looking out over the top of the beach access two story units. Awesome view of the sunset and the ocean, from our room & deck. For the price, we scored with a comfortable bed, awesome view and a cozy room near the beach! It's where we'll being staying for our next trip.

Room Tip: If you don't want to pay for beach access rooms, see if you can get the 3rd floor room #306, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Because of everyday cost of living and overly high medical bills over the years my wife and I have not had an anniversary getaway in 11 years. I looked online at many beach hotels and found that the spy glass inn has great ocean views from the room with reasonable rates. My family and I drove 250 miles to visit this resort. As we approached the four hour driving time my family was getting tired of being in the car until they saw the ocean in Pismo Beach. The excitement began. Check in was very quick and the manager was very knowledgeable about the area. They also gave me a printed map of shopping areas and restaurants. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We visited during rain season but the resort was so nice it made for a better experience in my opinion because we love the weather. The Spy Glass Inn restaurant is just the right size for the guests. Not to big and not to small. I would recommend the Alaskan King Crab diner. Awesome flavor and the drinks are made perfect. They do not cheat you on the alcohol. The drinks are made the way they are supposed to be made. I really liked that. Many pictures were taken. Humming birds stopped by to hang out on my balcony during the rain and stayed. They were less than five feet away and didn't scare off. The Spy Glass Inn is one of the best resorts I have stayed in on a long history of finding new and exciting places to visit. The staff was very polite, respectful, knowledgeable of the area and well customer oriented. I thank the Spy Glass Inn for a well accomplished 11 years anniversary I planned secretly for my wife to getaway.

Room Tip: For couples, get the room with the hot tub inside. Very nice. I had children with me so I got a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardofogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed there as a family for a night on our way down to LA. The hotel was easy to find, very close to the highway. There is plenty of space for parking, even just in front of the room. Unfortunately we had a ground floor room, so couldn’t enjoy the views – but didn’t really matter. We had booked via booking.com, and check in and out was easy and efficient. The room was ok, warm, neat and clean, with a spacious bathroom. We enjoyed a very nice dinner at the restaurant, with friendly and competent staff. Breakfast on the terrace was great as well. Would come back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank just_travelling_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,335 reviews
4.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#10 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing