We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great view”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a great view”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

It was my pleasure to stay at the spyglass inn in Pismo beach. I did upgrade to an ocean view and well worth it. My balcony had the most perfect view of the ocean, so beautiful I painted a picture. Quiet room, spacious, great bed, big tv and a fridge. I stayed two days and loved the weather. The restaurant and bar have a dynamite view way up on the cliffs. Four stars for this place

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olsenecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    284
    128
    37
    28
See reviews for
232
392
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crestline
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We've been coming to Pismo Beach for years and we've never explored Shell Beach. Spyglass is near Pismo but not walking distance to the pier. This spot is more secluded but near two other larger/more expensive hotels. The walking path along the cliffs is beautiful and the stairs down to the beach are fine. The room with a partial ocean view was more than 'partial' as from our private deck we could see the mountains or the ocean. I was grateful for the small conveniences in the room, small fridge, qtips, extra outlets and the room was clean and the bed comfortable. I wished we would have been able to stay longer - next time!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are right across from the ocean and partial views still have nice ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsnutpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I truly appreciate the time that you took to let us know how we performed during your visit. As the part of the team at the beautiful Spyglass Inn in Pismo Beach, I’m happy that we more than met your expectations overall. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The location of the hotel is very nice. It sits right on the bluffs, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The room was rather large, more so than your typical motel room. Our main problem was the lack of cleanliness. The bathroom floor was covered in someone else's hair, and the coffee pot had old coffee in it. The beds were comfortable and the sheets appeared to be clean. We just stayed in a Comfort Inn and that place was spotless for half the money. We told the front desk, and they offered to clean the room. We were checking out in 3 hours, so a maid doing her job again was not going to make the situation any better. The front desk stated that they would adjust our rate, but gave a late check out instead. We will not stay here again, as there are much better hotels for the same money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pairacones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We are all troubled by the challenges you experienced during your stay at the Spyglass Inn, I can assure you that myself and the staff are working together to make the necessary changes to ensure that these challenges do not happen again in the future. We strive daily for excellent cleanliness and the opportunity to make all of our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We will continue to work hard to make every guest's stay an enjoyable one. Your comments will help us improve both our service and our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed thr for business, but wld love to bring my family for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Excellent site, quite, beautiful rooms, large and open, great location. It was great!

Room Tip: Rooms away from freeway are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobes313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have travelled all over the world but few have stand out experience wise and the spyglass is one of them the,Jim and Jason were very gracious so does Amber ,upon arrival i did not have any expectation but i was pleasantly surprise with the room was imaculately clean ,bathrooms to balcony ,was done nicely toiletries and linen was good quality and room had enough room not compact ,our room was right next door to the restaurant i was not sure of the noise level but i was surprise how quiet it was the restaurant staff was very nice and our meals were great every night we had the dinner over at the spyglass restaurant ,I definitely recomond this place you will be surprise with the kindness of Jim and jason and Amber thank you .

Room Tip: All rooms are great with amanities but my choice is beach facing are the best one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aruddin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed one night with family, wished we could stay longer. Great rate, nice size room. Hotel was renovating landscaping and walkways. Right on ocean cliffs, great views. Restaurant with indoor and outdoor seating with ocean views. Good food, reasonable price. Comfortable beds, mini-fridge in room, large rooms, free wifi. Close to highway 1, easy to find. Second floor room must use stairs to access.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyandDaveTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,951 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,196 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,938 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing