We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view alone is worth the price of admission!”
Review of Spyglass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spyglass Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The view alone is worth the price of admission!”
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We were guests at the Spyglass Inn from 5/12-5/15/2011 for a wedding, short vacation. Everything about our stay was exceptional, from our room with a fabulous view of the ocean and bluffs up the coast, to the service provided throughout our stay. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional. The food at the restaurant was very good. The wedding and reception were held at the hotel - it was amazing! Again, the staff and food was excellent. We will definately be back in the future. Our room was on the second floor and the view took our breath away - really got us in vacation mode quickly!

Room Tip: We were in room #215 - best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SealBeachCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    275
    125
    37
    27
See reviews for
219
384
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at this hotel during a mini vacation. We wanted something not to expensive but still as close to the beach as we could get. The online price for a regular room with a king size bed was $100 a night, but to our suprise the rate was cheaper when we called the hotel direct. ($89 a night)
The room was very very cute and looked much more expensive than what it was. The cleanliness was normal...nothing to rave about but just fine.
The best thing about this place is that there is has basically a private beach for guests who stay at that hotel and the surrounding much much more expensive places. About a 5-7 min walk, leads you to the most gorgeous beach. If you explore a bit there are coves and such to wander about. Gorgeous! The spyglass is about 10-15 mins away from downtown pismo and San luis Obispo so that was a plus! The pool and hot tub at the hotel were also great!
The one thing I will complain about is that when we asked to upgrade to an ocean view room, they wanted to charge $50 bucks a night extra! We thought that was a bit steep... especially for off season. We kept our regular room.
The other downside was that the walls are extremely thin and could hear the man next door sneeze! Bring earplugs if your a light sleeper.
Overall.....amazing.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvamuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Beautiful spacious clean rooms with comfortable beds and awesome pillows. We try to always get the ocean view rooms with fireplaces. Helpful, courteous staff. I love the fact that the rooms are not perfumed, but smell clean and fresh, never musty. Beautiful decor, also. We stay here whenever we are travelling through this area. My ONLY complaint is that I can't get to the beach due to it being up on a cliff and I can't do stairs. Other than that we love to stay here!

Room Tip: Reserve the ocean side rooms. They go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronsmysharona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This is our favorite inn on the central coast of California. The ocean view rooms are fantastic. Actually the views from the grounds, dining room/bar, and patio are wonderful. The price for such quality is a wonderful surprise. Finally, the staff throughout the facility are focused on the care of their guests.

Room Tip: 2nd floor ocean view is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfox_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Negatives:
- The main reason we booked this hotel was so that kids could walk to the beach. The photos on their website lead you to believe there is beach access but there is not. There's a big cliff to get down the beach so unless you're into cliff diving, you won't be walking to the beach below.

- The pool and spa are in the middle of the parking lot and are miniature. I feel they only reason they have these amenities is so they can tell people "yes, there's a pool and spa." What they should say is "the pool will fit about 10 people and the spa fits about 5."

- The heater inside appears to be from the 60's. Seriously guys, upgrade your old heating system. I have a 2 year old baby who could have been burned if he touched the heater because it's got the metal grate and is low to the ground. There is also no AC (yes, I know it's next to the beach but not everyone likes to sleep with the windows open).

Positives
+ The lobby check-in process was efficient and the hotel clerk was very nice

+ Hotel inside was clean inside and balcony has chairs and a table to enjoy the ocean view.

+ Easy freeway access and a 3 minute drive to Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chai714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for your recent review about our property. You will be pleased to know that we do in fact have a beach access along the path way of our bluff. It is a very popular area with tide pools and great surfing spots. We regret that you did not get to enjoy it upon your visit, but hope you will take the time in your next trip to Pismo Beach to enjoy the scenery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Nice hotel. Fireplace is a little on the cheesy side but works fine. Plenty of room, could use some updated entertainment system, still has tube television and video on demand is 15 bucks. No A/C in the rooms so if your someone who gets hot at night better leave the slider open. Nice beds, no tub just shower. Great views of the ocean but beach access is a little bit of a hike. Great weather all day! Wonderful place to stay. I'll be back Just want everyone to have a good idea of the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dveitch08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JgentrySpy, Manager at Spyglass Inn, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Thank you for your recent review about our property. You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of replacing all of our televisions. Every room will soon have the luxury of a flat screen television. We hope to service your accomidations for your future returns to Pismo Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We met some out of state family members in nearby Avila Beach, which was booked up in all of the 3 or 4 hotels available there. The Spyglass Inn was highly recommended per the reviews here on TripAdvisor and price was FANTASTIC for a Saturday night on the coast. We opted for the non-ocean view room, only because we spent the entire day at the beach and it was nice to save money on the room with that option. The Spyglass was immediately off the exit from the 101, so very easy to find. The room had a great little patio with chairs overlooking the pool area, was very clean and the beds were super comfortable. If you're a stickler for cosmetic appeal, then you might find while looking around, that some little nooks and crannies might be separating from their backing or whatever it is that joined them to begin with, but nothing terrible. We always prefer a hotel with doors that access to the outside, as opposed to doors that exit to a hallway that you then have to exit at the lobby. Just makes for easier movement of personal belongings :) Overall, would definitely stay here again. Oh, the hot tub; perfectly HOT for a nice cool, coastal night. The front desk staff both the night we arrived and the next day were very cordial and friendly. We'll opt for the ocean view next time, since the price is still way less than others in the immediate area and we'll make our stay longer than one night! :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang0829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spyglass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spyglass Inn

Property: Spyglass Inn
Address: 2705 Spyglass Drive, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1795
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Spyglass Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Spyglass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spyglass Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing