We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay, nice hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We booked for one night here as a stop over. Really pleasantly surprised and wished we could have stayed longer. The room had been recently renovated and was comfortable and well equipped. We had a view over the pool and out to sea. The free breakfast was good (bagels, cereal, muffins, porrdige etc) and could be enjoyed on the ample seating areas outside, overlooking the beach. They offered free beach towels for use in the pool etc. Free internet access in the lobby. Free parking. Direct access to lovely beach. Heated pool and Jacuzzi. All in all, a nice stay in a nice hotel. Pismo itself is great too - relaxed surf resort with a nice atmosphere. There's a retail outlet mall for shopping just down the road as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,041
    584
    144
    64
    38
See reviews for
624
830
64
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
redwood city, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2009

My cousin got married this past weekend to his girlfriend of a few years and all of my family and their friends were invited to come to see the wedding. They have been down there many times before and did some research into the places for their guests to stay.

My boyfriend and I were looking at places to stay since we didn't want to stay with my parents & sisters, just too many people in one hotel room. So my cousin told me about the advance reservation rates at Seacrest. It was an awesome deal, if you book 21 or more days in advance, the price is just about cut in half. The only catch is there is no cancellations and they charge your card as soon as the reservation is made. but since I knew we were going for a wedding, I went ahead and booked a partial view ocean room.

it was late when we got there, so i didn't see much of what was around there. It did look to be one of the nicer places on the strip of hotels along the freeway in Pismo Beach. I went ahead and checked in and came to find out that my room was among the worst placed rooms available. We were on the bottom floor... already not my preference and I came to find out there was little insulation from blocking noises, because first thing on Saturday morning, I'm awoken at 7:30 from a kid right outside the lawn area yelling and screaming and running in and out and down the hallway. Not to say that is the Seacrest's fault because it's obviously a lack of respect for others and the parents really should have handled it. Next, we were about 2 doors from the ice machine & right down the hall from the housekeeping dept and the laundry rooms. So needless to say, we didn't sleep past 8, which is not my preference when I'm on vacation. The room was nice, but the bathroom needed to finish being retouched as there was about 2 different shades of white on the ceiling from where a repair must have been made and the fan was the noisest fan I've ever heard in a bathroom.

Overall, we didn't spend that much time here because a lot of my family stayed at the Pismo Lighthouse Suites, but when we did stay at the hotel it seemed to be noisy from every angle. The beds were nice and the DirectTV was nice to have, but I could have done without a LOT of the noise.

Once again, I'm not blaming the hotel for all of the noises, but just making everyone aware that maybe a nice pair of earplugs would be something to bring.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyss413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2009

There are a bunch of things to recommend this hotel, and overall though there are numerous niggling annoyances the overall impression is positive. It recently underwent a major renovation, and though we hadn’t stayed there before we had stayed next door and the place looks much nicer now.

Most significant of the hotel’s assets are the magnificent ocean vistas; proximity to well-maintained stairs leading to great, open beaches for walking, wading and sunbathing; and the cliffside pool, jacuzzis, lounging areas and decks from which to enjoy world-class sunsets. The staff, particularly the maintenance crew, are pretty good and helpful with recommendations of the local area. (Kudos to the guy who swept the beach stairs of all the sand.) The hotel is also situated close enough for a 15-minute walk to several good restaurants (Giuseppe's on Price Street is excellent for Italian), though parking downtown is generally not a problem either. The shower is very large and constructed well, but does not include a bathtub. The free ice tea in the lobby is a nice touch.

On the flip side, they could be four-star worthy with some minor tweaking:
• making people ask for towels at the front desk for the pool is annoying (worse when there's only one person at the desk and people ahead of you checking in);
• the in-room coffee pot is the most ridiculous and pointless contraption ever;
• the continental breakfast is anemic (as were the yellow oranges);
• the refrigerator is loud and sounds like either Lloyd Bridges in SCUBA gear on the old “Seahunt” TV show or the inside of a Cylon base star on “Battlestar Gallactica” (we couldn’t agree). Speaking of the TV, unless you already subscribe to DirecTV, expect to need at least a master’s degree in engineering to decipher the remote control. S.F. Giants fans beware: the hotel does not subscribe to the Giants’ games and the clock radio does not have an AM outlet to listen on the radio, which can still be received in the area. (Too bad since Giants color announcer and former ballplayer Mike Krukow is from adjacent San Luis Obispo.)
Some problems are more structural and design-oriented:
• the slate floors nearest the door are nice, but be prepared to wake up any time someone above walks on them (or particularly if they drag a barstool across them–get rubber knobs for the bottoms of the stools!);
• the layout of the rooms is baffling–a desk sits right beneath the TV and blocks the remote sensor, and the blinds leading to the deck facing the ocean slide side-to-side, but don’t collapse, so at least half of the view is always partially obscured;
• there is very little insulation between first and second floors, so you hear much from above including squeaking beds.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmasallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF BAY AREA
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Moved my son to Cal Poly this weekend and wanted a mini vacation for husband and I. Sitting on our balcony looking out to the ocean, with the rolling grass grounds and the palm trees reaching to the sky and soft breezes blowing ,was like being in Hawaii.

The room was very tastefully decorated. Bed very comfy and TV modern. Nice touch with the IHome docking station. Bathroom was nice with the waterroom shower (no tub).
Breakfast was pretty adequate and the coffee is Seattle's Best. Landscaping imaculate.

We took several walks, both north and south, along the ocean. Lots of breathtaking scenery.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I was very highly impressed with this hotel. I have stayed at a few other places in Pismo and were very disappointed. The SeaCrest Hotel's personnel was very friendly and helpful. The outside of the hotel looks older but don't let it fool you. The grounds are beautiful with a pool and spa overlooking the ocean. My room had an ocean view and was spectacular! Very comfortable beds and enjoyed listening to the ocean all night long. There is lots of convenient parking and a continental breakfast with seating out side. All around great experience and will definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdlewis16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed here for two nights. We love the location of the hotel. It's about 10 minute walk on the beach to the pier and the restaurants in that area. Being 10 minute away also means that there are less crowd on the beach compared to the area by the pier. The room and the hotel grounds were very clean and has nice decor. They did have some trouble checking us in (booked through travelocity), but eventually ended up giving us an upgrade for free from a non-ocean view room to a partial-ocean view room. The pool was a bit small, but I guess there's always the beach. Althought there were quite a bit of seaweed and bugs on the sand. The staircase leading down to the beach was easy to navigate during the day, but a bit hard to locate and climb back up after dark (from walking back from the restaurant after dinner). The continental breakfast was the only thing that was sub par. Only bagles and muffins, and drinks... small area too considering how many guests were trying to get breakfast. Also if you don't get there early enough, some of the pastries run out and were not restocked. There's also a computer in the lobby area with internet access for free. Overall we enjoyed the hotel and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplxstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I stayed for a week!! the hotel view was not the only thing that made this trip perfect...its close to wineries, the beach, shops, hikes, a great farmers market, the "cracked crab"!! yum!! we were taken care of hand and foot, had soooo much relaxation I was not happy to leave!! we had a great time!! so great friends met up with us and were in "awe" as we are! we will make this a yearly thing!!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel

Property: SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
Address: 2241 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 5-acre oceanfront bluff top our iconic hotel features direct access to the beach, outdoor heated pool and three hot-tubs. All retro-modern rooms have latest the amenities and technology, including Free WiFi, iPod docking stations, flat-panel HDTVs with DirecTV,complimentary Continental Breakfast and 7,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space including our roof top terrace with spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Pismo Beach
Seacrest Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Motel Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Sea Crest
Sea Crest Resort Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing