We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night was not enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One night was not enough!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed one night on our road trip from LA to San Francisco. The hotel is in a great location, above the beach and with good views across the bay into downtown Pismo Beach. Even in a non-sea view room we could see the sea from our good-sized balcony. The room was very well equipped and comfortable, with a Keurig coffee machine and complimentary bottled spring water as just 2 of the nice extra touches. We were on the 4th floor of the south tower, which is actually only 2 stories up from ground level as the hotel is set into the cliff side. It was quiet, and there was a rooftop patio with fire pit at the end of the passage. Complimentary continental breakfast was the usual fare, but the seating area is on the sun terrace overlooking the pool, gardens and ocean. Whilst we were there they were renovating the well-kept gardens and installing a terrace area that included guest BBQs. Reception staff were generally helpful and polite, and coffee was available round the clock. For dog owners they have dedicated 1st floor rooms that have direct access to a patio area, and dog bedding and bowls are provided. There's a Marie Callender restaurant adjacent to the hotel, and the Ventura Grill is 5 minutes's walk, whilst in the town there's a range of decent cafés and restaurants. The only less good thing I can think of to mention is that the free WiFi signal was very poor in our room, but that may have been down to demand as the hotel was full for Presidents' Day weekend. Pismo Beach is a really nice spot and close to San Luis Obispo, so if we visit again we would definitely stay longer.

Room Tip: South Tower 4th floor is quiet and has easy access to the roof top patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudyscrumptious_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeaCrestPismo, General Manager at SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Trudyscrumptious, Thank you for your nice comments in your recent review. You are very right, one night is not enough. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,059
    588
    147
    64
    38
See reviews for
630
843
65
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
luvsadog
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Altho my online reservations indicated that the SeaCrest would still be undergoing renovations of its grounds during my short visit, it would have been nice if the check-in clerk had mentioned that our oceanfront room was going to be just above where workmen were cutting and laying tile. The loud, whiny noise from the tile saw started in the early morning and was ongoing thru the day, which pretty much diminished the peacefulness we expected to have by having an oceanfront room. We couldn't enjoy sitting on the balcony during the day due to the noise -- it was so loud and irritating, it even drowned out the sound of the ocean. Also, the online reservation did NOT mention that the hotel's beach access stairs would be closed during our visit, which was a major inconvenience that we didn't expect. Also, the chairs on the balcony are way too low -- you can't see the view if you are sitting. Otherwise, the room itself was great -- decently large and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two-queen oceanfront room on the third floor of the North Tower -- except for the ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We had a fabulous ocean front room with the most beautiful sunsets, hearing the waves break and a palm tree swaying; we could have been in Hawaii! The room's amenities were perfect too. There was even a magnifying mirror. We even had a personalized greeting in our room. We already booked our 54th wedding avviersary for next year!

Room Tip: North building deluxe room is ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wantgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. Our reservation was originally for 2 nights, but after we saw how beautiful the hotel was we decided to extend our reservation for one night. We booked the spa suite. Our room had a huge jetted hot tub in it, which was the best part. Overall the room was very large,  clean and accommodating. The view from our balcony was stunning. We were originally given a room on the first floor, but since the first floor rooms have no balcony we decided immediately that we wanted to switch rooms. We didn't have much issues with this, we just had to wait about an hour for another room to finish getting cleaned. Once we got into our 3rd floor room we were very pleased. Overall everything was great despite the beach access was temporarily closed for construction, which is understandable. The only complaint I have is that Victor from the front desk was rather rude. He accused my husband and I of smoking on our balcony, which clearly wasn't the case. We didn't appreciate the accusation. Other than that our stay here was a very relaxing and pleasant one

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Rod88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Recently stayed here for business and checked in late at night after work so didn't see much of the hotel itself apart from a nice lobby and extremely friendly staff. The room was excellent and I enjoyed the quirky signs they had around the room which really gave the hotel character. Free bottles of water and a microwave in the room were a nice touch, as was the large balcony with furniture. Having got up early the next morning I was blown away by the view and while the breakfast wasn't amazing, it was adequate. They are renovating some of the grounds at the minute but to be honest I didn't really see much need, and thought the grounds were very nice anyway. They do have beach access but unfortunately not at present due to renovation. This didn't put me off much as the weather was quite bad at the time. All in all I loved it here and my only issue was that I could only stay one night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aidanjmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice property, nice sized, recently updated room with modern touches and amenities (Flat-screen, wall-mounted TV w/Dish receiver, Keurig coffee maker, iPod-dock alarm). Other amenities include microwave and fridge, ironing board & iron, hair dryer, modern hotel-style A/C-heating unit. We stayed in a ground-floor, dog-friendly room (with dog bowls and small dog bed). Convenient sliding door access to a small, unenclosed patio (2 patio chairs w/small table). (Proved handy for toweling off our Belgian Malinois and entering directly to room without trekking thru the hallways.) Our room on the South edge of the property was listed (and priced) as a "partial view room", but it faced the attractive central common area and pool/jacuzzi, and we could enjoy a nice view of the ocean and a bit of coastline beyond just by looking out our patio door.

Loved the main outdoor terrace area outside the lobby! It was quipped with plenty of chairs, patio tables and umbrellas, plus propane heaters and fire tables -- great for enjoying breakfast outside with our pup outside the main lobby & breakfast room, with great views of the grassy common area, pool, and the beautiful ocean and coastline.

There's a Marie Callendar's that shares the parking lot (and provides room service), but we had no need given the included breakfast set up daily in the breakfast room. Well-stocked with plenty of muffins, pastries, bagels, and waffles (toaster available too), fresh fruits, cereals, hard-boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, juices and yogurt cups. Plenty of packets of jams, cream cheese, honey, butter, etc. too.

Decent brewed coffee available all day; fresh cookies provided every afternoon.

Not aware of any fitness room, but bikes available on property for rent. However, there's a public access path connecting almost all of the adjacent hotel properties, perfect for nice walks -- you can walk Northward all the way to Shell Beach and beyond almost all the way along the bluffs above the ocean. There's also a stairway for direct access down to the beach from this property (although it was closed during our stay for renovation -- but another stairway down to the beach is just a couple blocks away).

Can't think of any complaints -- our stay was even a great bargain (February, so off-season rates, plus we were lucky to take advantage of a 3 nights-for-two special that they were offering). If we can get anywhere close to similar rates, we are definitely coming back - and hopefully on a regular basis...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We coordinated a training camp for a women's professional cycling team, and the hotel worked out great for a group. They gave us a group rate, and they had the use of the conference room for meetings. The location was perfect for bike riding, and the view…the view of the ocean is world class. Staff was very accommodating.

The details: decent breakfast with cereal, bagels, scones, eggs, fruit, yogurt, and drinks. Not the best in the world but adequate for athletes. The room had everything we want: good lighting, a refrigerator, very nice bed and bedding, free toiletries, a bathtub, and that awesome view.

The afternoon cookies were good, too.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaesacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel

Property: SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
Address: 2241 Price Street, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 5-acre oceanfront bluff top our iconic hotel features direct access to the beach, outdoor heated pool and three hot-tubs. All retro-modern rooms have latest the amenities and technology, including Free WiFi, iPod docking stations, flat-panel HDTVs with DirecTV,complimentary Continental Breakfast and 7,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space including our roof top terrace with spectacular views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seacrest Hotel Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Pismo Beach
Seacrest Pismo Beach
Sea Crest Motel Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Sea Crest
Sea Crest Resort Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing