We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent value here”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and found this hotel to be pretty good. The rooms were good size and very comfortable beds. Travelling with a small child, we appreciated the child's bed being the convertable counch in the lounge and a TV in each room - ahhh... peace at last! The price was very reasonable - but we were there in winter - and a Thurday/Friday. The hotel filled with teens on Friday night and we found ourselves between teens but the hotel immediately gave us a new room when we expressed a concern about the congregations on the stairs that we feared might party into the night - which they didn't - but we appreciated the immediate response and were relocated, no question, to a distant and peaceful room. Small bar fridge in room which always is useful for us. Clean bathroom with a bath. No faults here

The breakfast is buffet style and included in the tariff with vouchers. I could not recommend the powdered scrambled egg and the weak coffee, however on the 2nd day there was a different guy cooking and we ordered our eggs over easy and they were a vast improvement as were the fresh pancakes over the so-so french toast of the previous morning. Coffee was still thin but tolerable.

They also gave us free drinks vouchers for the evening and to be honest we passed on this on the first night but went on the 2nd and found the very attentive barman and the ambience very nice for a quiet free drink with nibbles provided. This, for us, was a bonus, although our child could not come in and waited for us, also with a free drink and a magazine within a close range - not optimal - but for desperate, isolated parents who rarely get out alone, it was a winner.

We enjoyed a diner down at Pismo, an old style place that did a fantastic burger.

We also drove to Arroyo Grande and had a fabulous Alaskan Reindeer sausage pizza, (even though I am not a big meat lover) and a nice beer at Klondikes Pizza in Bridge St and I would put this on a 'must do' list because we loved it. The decor and ambience was fantastic and we would definitely go back here again... if we were ever in this part of the world.

We shopped quite a bit at the handy outlet shops and got some fantastic deals there.

All in all, a good experience passing through...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthTraverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    395
    167
    36
    38
See reviews for
573
437
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inland Empire, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2009

This hotel is overall clean, with a very friendly staff.
The Managers nightly reception is OK. (No big deal). The breakfast is really good.
If you plan to stay here to rest, you must bring a good pair of earplugs, because the A/C-Furnace system is so outdated that when it turns on it
makes a horrendous turbine like noise that will prevent even the most
exhausted guest from falling sleep. The toiletry amenities provided in the rooms are not all of the same brand/company, which is very unsual for any hotel to do. The overall condition of this hotel is very outdated, Tv's as well as coffemakers in rooms are very old. I have recently stayed in less expensive hotels that have provided Flat screen Tv's, modern radios, and Keurig coffeemakers. In my opinion, too much $$ for the value.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecmagiclight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

On our road trip after leaving Hearst castle we decided to stop for the night along the way. After logging onto Hotwire and getting a really good rate, we arrived at Oxford suites. The lobby is most inviting and a basket of apples or other fruit is always offered. We were kept to wait quite a while at check in, but when we saw our room we were not disappoined. It was large, clean and had a lovely bathroom and kitchen area. We were given tokens for a drink at the bar, which we enjoyed. Breakfast was fantastic. One of the best we were offere over our month trip. The pool looked great but as we arrived late and left after breakfast we didn't get a chance to enjoy it. I would have gladly stsyed another night if time had allowed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Pros: Full breakfast had the best hash browns I've every tasted. There were some nice updates to room decor such as granite/marble countertops, lamps, bedding, bedroom furnishings. The price was good, but partially because they incorrectly gave us govt rate. The pool looked nice, but we didn't have time to partake. Room seemed very clean.

Cons: Bathrooms are still not updated - acoustic tile ceilings and old tile floors; Exterior is also very old; couch was worn and ratty. Hotel has some smoking rooms, and allows pets - which is good if you are a smoker or have pets, but not so good if you don't want to hear barking or smell smoke. The parking lot in back is a little scary - it backs to some kind of waterway, which also meant mosquitoes (I got 4 bites)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and two kids and we had a great time. I read some complaints in the other reviews, and the way I look at it is it all depends on your expectations. You are not going to get Four Seasons quality at a value price, especially in a beach town. And I do agree that the title "Suites" might be a little misleading to some. Our suite was comprised of two rooms, one with a King sized bed and a bathroom, the other was kind of a living room/bedroom, with a pullout sofa (which the kids loved sleeping on). If you think of it as an upscale motel that really goes the extra mile, you will not be disappointed. If you are expecting anything particularly fancy, pay more money and stay somewhere else. Yes, some of the furniture was a bit shabby. But the beds were very comfortable, and the pillows were uncommonly good. I especially loved the hardwood/Pergo floors in the living room. Anything that gets me away from hotel carpets is great for me! There was a reception that had evening food and drinks, and although it was technically adults only since it is served in the cantina, the kids are more than welcome to sit in the library area and eat food the parents bring them. There are also cookies and apples available at the front desk. The pool area was standard, but nice and the kids had a great time swimming. The (free) hot breakfast surpassed my expectations. The food was a notch up from other hotel breakfasts I've had, and if I had any complaints at all it would be that it was crowded with a long line when we went, however the staff moved things along efficiently. One should know that this is *not* located directly on the beach, but is a 5-15 minute drive depending on which beach you're going to, so I did not see this as a big deal. Overall our family had a great experience here and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hscafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed here for just one night at end of trip to California. Oxford Suites are a motel type experience similar to a lot of hotels in this area. Our suite was on the second floor with a large wrap around balcony outside. The suite itself was well furnished and quite large, very clean too. There was a swimming pool in the centre of the compex. The rooms are made of quite thin material and the balcony outside vibrated with the constant thumping of children's feet as they ran up and down. Hence my title "package holiday feel". Oxford seemed to be a place that attracted families who appeared to be staying there for their entire holiday. It was difficult to obtain privacy unless you closed your door and remained indoors all the time. Oxford did provide an evening drinks and tapas reception along with an enormous breakfast buffet.... well done on that score. Generally it's not really a hotel for a one night stay such as ours. We felt like intruders on a group's package holiday deal.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We needed a place to stay that takes dogs and this place did. They have really nice rooms comfortably beds and Pillows...They breakfast was great for free. What more could you ask for..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psanchez14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,920 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,181 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 28 in Pismo Beach
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 28 in Pismo Beach
826 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 28 in Pismo Beach
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-4099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing