We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
preston uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

This was one of the best hotels we stopped in on our 4 week trip to c.a the suites were so large and clean, great pool and tub plus 2 free drinks at teatime. About a 25 minute walk to Pismo Pier (to far) had 2 good nights in Harry's bar great live music taxi home 7 dollers just great

  • Liked — rooms and pool
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    387
    160
    34
    36
See reviews for
553
425
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bakersfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

This was a lovely hotel. The review from Alaska could not be faher from the truth! My family and i loved this hotel. The rooms face courtyard inward. no noise for us. The staff was wonderful, the breakfast was great. Great location. Very surprized by the negitive review. Did they stay at the oxford!!! try it!!

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — nothing GREAT
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank august003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

Oxford Suites in Pismo Beach was a disappointment. To begin with, it is noisy. The hotel is located across the street from the 101 Freeway and I don't think a dime has spent on soundproofing. There are loud traffic noises all day and all night.

Our “suite” (two smallish rooms stacked front to back) had several tacky touches including a sink that sits outside a tiny bathroom and a noisy fan that goes on whenever you turn on the bathroom light. It guarantees that you will wake up your spouse if you go to the bathroom during the night. The decor is dated and drab and it literally seems as if no attempt has been made to upgrade this place any time during recent years.

The breakfast room is much too small for the hotel and tends to be crowded and noisy all morning long. The breakfast choices are so-so and include no pastries of any kind. The coffee is so pathetically old and weak that after the first day my wife and I skipped the breakfast entirely and drove up the street to a Starbucks.

An aura of cheapness is all pervasive. The rooms offer thin plastic cups and the most pathetic in-room coffee maker I have ever seen. The breakfast room has a bucket labeled “butter” that contains pre-packaged pats of some sort of artificial solidified vegetable oil product. The management is even too cheap to offer Splenda as an artificial sweetener choice.

I would recommend this hotel to no one. It is FAR below the level of other Suite hotels that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank herberq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2008

This was our 2nd stay at Oxford Suites. The first time dropping our daughter off at Cal Poly and this time picking her up. We like this place due to the proximity to the 101, happy hour treats, FULL breakfast, close to factory outlet stores and eatery's in the beach areas and the comfortable beds. I like the 2 TVs in each room. The guy running the happy hour has a great personalty and the beer is cold on tap. Wine is available too.

The coffee pot is always full of good ,hot coffee in the lobby.

I would of given it a 5 star but the breakfast food was not hot enough. The pancakes and oatmeal were PERFECT but the sausages were cold and below average. The hash browns were a little stale and I wish they had fried eggs instead of scrambled eggs too. How about a omelet bar??

The hotel has FREE internet in the lobby and EACH room has FREE WiFi. That is a real deal, no subscription.

The grounds and pool are very clean and groomed.

The staff at the front desk are very friendly and helpful too.

Watch out Embassy Suites!!! (Did I say that before? ha ha ha)

  • Liked — Free breakfast
  • Disliked — Cold sausages
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SDCalNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2008

We are so glad that we picked Oxford Suites for our visit to Pismo Beach. Our room is lovely and well decorated and we really like that it's not the traditional one room set-up that we've seen at the other hotels we've visited recently. The extra seating area is a really nice touch to an already beautiful room.

  • Liked — Beautiful room, great location.
  • Disliked — No elevator (really heavy suitcase)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamSadler916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2008

Minuses: Hotel is located right near the freeway. No views and it looks a bit old on the outside. Included breakfast was generous and convenient but not great. This is an older mediocre property with upgraded rooms.

Pluses: A good option for travelers with dogs. Rooms are very comfortable, and if you need some space, you can't beat having two rooms. Comfortable bed. The room had been recently upgraded and tastefully decorated.

  • Liked — Very pleasant room/suite
  • Disliked — Location of hotel and older motel exterior
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank boomerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

This is the second time we stayed at the Oxford Suites. It is convenient for us, since we travel with our dog(s). The rooms are very clean, and well-maintained. I can't comment about the evening reception, as we did not participate. However, I'll add that I really thought the hot breakfast was very good - in line with many of the other comments I've read. It's very convenient, and you can make it as healthy as you want, as they offer oatmeal and cereals in addition to the standard eggs, breakfast meat, potatoes, toast, etc. When I was there, the lady in front of me even asked for cooked-to-order eggs, which were done with a smile. The staff really is quite courteous.

The suite approach to the rooms is nice! With just 2 adults and one dog, the suite seemed much larger of course than a regular motel room. On this last trip, I noticed that wireless has been added throughout the facility. It's great - blazing fast, and I was able to get some urgent work done without spending a lot of vacation hours waiting for info to upload/download. I really thank the staff for that.

The only minor annoyance was a very strong "Airwick" air freshener that was really giving us a headache after a few hours. The staff was sure it was a plug-in, but none of us, including the staff, was able to locate it. Finally, as I was later taking-apart the ceiling vent in further search, I found it plugged-into the outlet behind the TV in the bedroom. So, if you're ever there and start feeling a bit woozy from the Airwick, keep looking - it's there!

The location is really convenient, but can be a bit noisy from the nearby 101. I could hear the highway from our bedroom (#148), but it was not a big problem.

So it's been two visits, and two positive experiences. We're definitely heading back to Oxford Suites on the next trip to Pismo. Just fyi, there are not many hotels/motels in Pismo Beach that are pet-friendly, so it was really nice to find this one.

  • Liked — Great wireless, hot breakfast, Pismo Beach
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelswithdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-4099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing