We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel shame about the place”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were pleasently surprised by the hotel it was a last minuet booking while on our travels. The rooms were large and comfortable, with a proper suite to sit on not a uncomfortable convertable bed, a tv in each room and supersize king bed very comfy. The pool area and hot tub were surrounded by pleasent gardends and a nice libery to relax and have drinks in. The only down side was we were disappointed in the lack of good restaurants and night life in Pismo.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view if possible, and a downstairs room if you have difficulty with stairs as there a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janchappell1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    397
    168
    37
    38
See reviews for
576
441
34
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The quality factor of this property is its "remarkable" staff!
At the Front Desk.....Brian and Will were instrument in ensuring they were 'everywhere' taking care of all when we checked in; Bartender-Jennifer was superb, single-handedly taking care of all her guests; Rachel also guaranteed dinner was served promptly and she served solo; baggage handling was efficiently handled.
Their efficiency, professionalism, helpfulness and courteous manner merit recognition and commendation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UniversalTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Room is filthy. We have a suite and the living room is not usable. Couch has cigarette burns and the springs are totally shot. Pool and spa are supposed to be heated but pool is freezing and hot tub is a warm tub.

Couch is supposed to fold out into a bed but it looks like it would be a perfect nest for bed bugs.


Turned on the A/C in my room and it just about rattled out of the wall.

Patio light outside our room is broken and is blinking on and off like a strobe light.

All in all... This place is a total dump. The lobby is charming and I think that is all the mngt has invested in.

I would not recommend this place to anyone, no matter what the budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we stayed here for 1 night as we were travelling through before las vegas. nice rooms very good living area we had a suite so had nice bathroom and bedroom etc. Staff friendly and would stay again only draw back was the hotel did not have a resturant. Great shopping outlet walking distance away with great prices alot cheaper than the U.K!!!

Room Tip: all got a bit of noise as its oppisite a main road but not too much traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This place is good for what it is. We only stayed one night and would for sure come back to stay again for a weekend. The hotel is pet friendly, and we saw a few couples with dogs. Good thing to know when we travel with our dog.

The rooms were nice sized and the bed was comfortable enough. Really enjoyed the separate sitting area from the bedroom with flat screens in both areas. DVD, Mini Fridge, and Microwave in the room are a nice touch.

We received coupons for two free drinks (beer and wine) each when we checked in, as well as free breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was nothing spectacular, but you got eggs, potatoes, and ham. The usual assortment of cereals and toast.

Bottom line, if you are looking for something in the Pismo Beach area, and don't want to spend the extra hundreds for a beach front hotel, this is a great place you can take your family and stay that is very affordable. Add in the free drinks and breakfast and you are saving there too.

It is really close to the freeway and the Pismo Beach outlets for shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btown007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were very happily surprised with this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly especially the bartender Bob. I spoke with many people who were returning customers. Our room was really spacious with full living area, microwave, fridge, tv, dvd player, and dining table. They had a pool & jacuzzi and a kids pool which was great. The location was great and so easy to drive to the local areas. We were also very impressed with the continental breakfast, it was the best we have seen anywhere. They also had a nightly reception where you got free soup, salad, chips and salsa along with complimentary drinks. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will be back!!!

Room Tip: The family suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raja158
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The wife and I just spent 2 nights at the Oxford Suites in Pismo Beach, while visiting the granddaughter in Oceano This was our 4th time here over the last 4 years and though the property has not really changed, maybe our expectations have. We were put into a balconey room, above the cantina, and though convenient for the nightly beverages and breakfast, we could not leave the balconey door open, due to freeway noise from out front. The last time here, we had a room toward the back with no sounds of cars passing by. I asked about the noise when we checked in, and the front desk only mentioned noise from the cantina, which he said should end by its closing at 9:30, which it did. The snacks at the evening beverage service consisted of chips and salsa, soup, and a lettuce salad. It seemed that in the past, there may have been additional items, but you can order off the evening room service menu, at reasonable prices, but we thought the snacks were lacking. After staying at other properties during the last year in our travels, the breakfast even seemed that it missed its mark. The eggs, potatoes and pancakes, were all pre-cooked and warm, not hot. I thought the morning of the breakfast burrito was actually pretty good. The room was clean, as always, but in hindsight, probably bigger than the two of us needed, without grandkids in tow. Its still a good place for people on a tour bus, seemed to be a group from England, and a motorcycle group from Canada, there was plenty of room for them to socialize at night and at breakfast, and the the pool got good use on 65 degree day. Will we stay again? Probably, but it might be time for us to see what else is out there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raja158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,921 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,181 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 29 in Pismo Beach
827 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxford Suites Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Suites Pismo Beach

Property: Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Address: 651 Five Cities Dr, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-4099
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oxford Suites Pismo Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located just a mile from the surf of the Pacific Ocean, Oxford Suites Pismo Beach provides incredible access to the beach, the Oceano Sand Dunes and the nearby Pismo Beach Premium Outlets. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Heated Outdoor Pool, Kiddie Pool & Spa and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Oxford Suites Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Oxford Hotel Pismo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing