We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cheap but smelled like mold” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Pismo Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Pismo Beach
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap but smelled like mold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room was clean, cheap and not too far from the beach. We were also within walking distance to Denny's. If we were staying more than one night, I would have went somewhere else though. The room smelled badly of mold. I woke up with a sore throat and stuffy nose. Other than the smell, it wasn't too bad. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloera11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    37
    51
    28
    39
See reviews for
60
49
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We came on Saturday night. The place was totally crowded and it was very noisy around 6 pm. We were really afraid that we wouldn't get any sleep so we went first to get something to eat, then see some movies and came back late night expecting all the having loud parties and drinking. We were very surprised that everybody was quiet and calm.
The bed were really nice - firm.
The place is clean and you get what you pay for :)))) Just the walls are so thin, it seems like the're not there ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pabu10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The service was friendly. The room was spartan but clean and refurbished. It. Was away from the roads so it was very quiet. This is your basic mole room but well worth it if you want to save a few $$$ Thenrkje is a Denny's next door with free wi-fi and a 10 percent discount for motel guests

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the roads to get quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hallma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

this motel 6 is in a very good location, very close to the pismo outlets, and just a few minutes drive to downtown/ beach

the motel is a ,no frills no thrills, just a basic room, very clean, and reasonably priced, with a knowledgeble staff,, but best of all they are pet freindly with additional charges , a rare find these days!!

there is plenty to eat near by along with a denny's next door!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACER_PICKLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Went to Pismo Beach, CA for a few days, Jan 10-13, 2013. Reserved a room on the internet and got a very nice room. My wife is confined to a three wheel electric scooter and the handicap room provided plenty of room for her. The wheel in shower was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable. The channel selection on the tv could be better, but we didn't go over there to stay in the room. From an economy standpoint, it was a great value. Our room did not have a room air conditioner. It was elsewhere in the building, so there was almost no noise from the heater or A.C.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have stayed at this Motel 6 a few times. They are close to the beach, don't charge for small dogs and have a Dennys within walking distance. There is nothing fancy about it, but if you're there just for a clean place to clean-up and sleep, it's just fine. They also have a nice lighted area for walking dogs.
If you're there for shopping, the outlet mall is only about a block away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We will not stay at this property again.

While we were ostensibly in a non-smoking room, the entire room absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke. (We stayed three nights and it never did air out despite my efforts.)

It seems management is ok with this, because there was a hotel-provided ashtray in the room, with a rather contradictory "no smoking" symbol on the bottom of it.

Also, after our first night our room never got cleaned.

The one upside was the very friendly and professional desk clerk who was there when we checked in.

If cigarette smoke doesn't bother you and you're just looking for a low-end place to crash, this is an ok choice. Rooms are small, bedding and towels are sparse. But the water pressure in our shower was great.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBT213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pismo Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Palms Motel
Ocean Palms Motel
#14 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
Beachwalker Inn & Suites
#23 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pismo Beach Hotel
Pismo Beach Hotel
#19 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
Quality Inn Pismo Beach
#22 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Inn
Ocean Breeze Inn
#24 of 27 in Pismo Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Pismo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Pismo Beach

Property: Motel 6 Pismo Beach
Address: 860 4th St, US 101 at the 4th Street exit, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-3103
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Pismo Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Clam Capital of the Central Coast! Motel 6 Pismo Beach CA is 2 miles from Pismo Beach Pier. Area dining is within a mile. Visit Avila Valley Hot Springs 7 miles and Lopez Lake13 miles. Relax with Wi-Fi in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Pismo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Pismo Beach Hotel Pismo Beach
Motel Six Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Motel 6
Pismo Beach Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing