We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for Business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great Hotel for Business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great place to go for a meeting, and personally if I had more time I would have stayed personally. The staff is so friendly and the area and accommodations are lovely. Highly recommend this resort. Didn't get to use the pool, but saw a lot of patrons using it and seemed great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    294
    102
    56
    46
See reviews for
260
404
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

Take a look at the ceiling area down on 1st floor in the meeting room hallway area; spider cobwebs and dirt. I had to point out a major urinal dirt issue in the restaurant men's bathroom to the front desk. I expected more as someone is NOT performing any white glove swipe as a routine effort. Rm #327 - look inside the wall light to the right of the bathroom door; has never been cleaned out since it was installed. Again, OK hotel with location, etc. but you are not keeping up with visual maintenance details that would make me want to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Steve D,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your attention to detail! We always strive to keep our hotel clean and fresh for every guest, and it seems we missed a few areas during your stay. I have passed your comments along to the Housekeeping Management team to make sure we are doing a more thorough job of cleaning our public areas, and the small and hidden spaces in the guest rooms. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to impress you with a spotless hotel for your next stay!

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was there for a meeting and the hotel was fine for a night. Fine except that there was not hot water in the am which made for a chilly am. Nice facility otherwise, but make sure to request a view room that is one of the best parts of the location. Dog friendly is a plus. No beach access (on a bluff) and no real close walking/jogging trails adjacent to the property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Globe-trotter-too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Globe-trotter-too ~ I'm glad you found our dog friendly hotel convenient. We offer first floor (with sliding doors to the outside paths) rooms to our guests travelling with their dogs, we have dog friendly oceanfront suites to enjoy the view and a little more space as well. We have a path that leads down to the beach on the far north side of our property, we would be happy to point it out to you on your next stay. I am so sorry that you started the day without hot water, we were able to bring in a company to fix the issue that morning, but I'm sorry we couldn't resolve it before your shower! I've made a note on your reservation, so we can make up for it on your next stay!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a lovely hotel and restaurant experience! We had a great time-- everything was perfect. The staff were so nice and helpful. The food and service in Marisol were excellent. The rooms were lovely and very clean. The location is great, too-- close to so many beautiful little beach towns with activities and great restaurants. We had a blast! We will definitely stay here again.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Dolores!

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here! We are very lucky to be centrally located amongst the beach towns and to be so close to San Luis Obispo! We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our room and our view were outstanding. The service and ALL of the staff made us feel like you all actually care about our stay. Marisol was a true dining experience. Our waiter was attentive and always there when we needed him to be. Your evening manager in Marisol, Amanda Phillips, was really terrific to us. Very friendly. Very personable. Went the extra mile to make sure we had a very enjoyable dining experience. Cannot wait to repeat the trip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Sherry M,

Thank you for your glowing review! We love hearing from our guests, and I am so happy you enjoyed your stay! I will pass your compliments on to the restaurant staff and Amanda. Hope to have you back again soon!

Elise Quick
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We enjoyed our stay as always... We would go back to the location, this was our 5th or 6th stay here. We enjoy the grounds, the staff, and the atmosphere of the area, it makes for the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vicki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Construction next door made less of the beauty of the the ocean. I don't know if other rooms were available, but asking me if I minded the loud noise might have been a nice jesture. The location of the hotel is great and dining in the area has a great variety.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Front Office Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Robert!

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay! I am sorry construction was taking place during your stay, we work on upgrading our property to try and improve the guest's experience, and do try our best to create the least amount of guest impact in the process. We definitely should have taken the time to let you know about the construction, and I apologize for that oversight. Since your stay was not all that you had hoped for, I'd love to help you set up your next reservation. Please feel free to email me personally at elise@cliffsresort.com! thank you again and I hope to speak with you in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Elise Quick
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing