We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet Friendly Rooms!”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Dimas, California
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly Rooms!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had never brought my dogs along to a resort to stay before. It meant a lot to me that the staff were incredibly welcoming to my dogs. At check in I was offered dog bowls and a doggie bed, but I had brought our own. I was glad to see many other well behaved dogs at the resort as well. There were convenient doggie pick-up bags available. Walks with my dogs were lovely. I worried that my dog might bark or cause other issues. My dogs felt and home and were comfortable in the room and in the surroundings. They were quiet as were the other pooches in the hotel. I would miss them if I came alone and I truly enjoyed having them along. I look forward to coming again!

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms would also be great for surfers or beach goers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMcClureDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
DMcClureDVM ~ I'm so glad that you and your pups enjoyed your getaway. Next time feel free to leave their gear at home, we try to provide amenities that will make you and your dogs comfy during your stay. It looks like you were able to enjoy the beach below our hotel as well, your photos are stunning!
We look forward to your next stay with us, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    301
    104
    56
    47
See reviews for
268
415
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

These guys host a really great Sunday Brunch. Mimosas, eggs, potatoes, fruit, you name it. Eating outside is amazing w the view of the ocean. If you have kids you can over see the pool from seating on the north side.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Art M ~ I'm so glad you had a chance to relax on the patio and enjoy our Sunday Brunch. Chef Gregg, Chef Jose, and Hannah all have fun with it and enjoy spotlighting some of their favorites at Brunch. I hope you are back in our area soon, we'll save a table for you!
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I purchased a Groupon for a room with pool/ocean view, and when we were shown the room we decided we didn't really want to look down on the pool filled with happy (somewhat noisy) children SO we asked for (and paid for) an upgrade to a BEAUTIFUL room with a marble bath, and a stunning balcony view of the ocean. We watched the sets roll in, drank wine on the balcony and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Cliffs. We were especially lucky because the weather was amazing. The staff was friendly, tho I was surprised that the hallways seemed to be in the midst of wallpapering (perhaps that was the reason for offering Groupons?) Self parking seems to fill up and can also be a bit challenging for large vehicles.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
barbara m ~ what a great stay, I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Our Ocean/Pool view rooms offer a great ocean view, but as you say they overlook the pool which at times can get busy. It sounds like the suite you upgraded to was perfect for your getaway!
We look forward to seeing you again soon, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at The Cliffs, Pismo Beach,

Very nice hotel. Staff friendly, Rooms very clean and nice. Valet was great
Had great views of pool and spa from small balcony. Enough room to sit and enjoy.
Restaurant with a large patio was nice.
A really nice ocean front walkway connecting the other 2 hotels/restaurants/bars was really great
All three hotels have an oceanfront restaurant/bar.
My only con is the outdoor hot tub by the pool had the old style jets that point straight up the wall of the hot tub and really does no good and is loud. Others in the hot tub felt the same way.
All in all nice place

Room Tip: Go to the deli down the street. Very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rackman0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
rackman0000 ~ Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a chance to relax and explore the area as well. We also love DePalo & Sons, the deli down the road!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its oceanfront location and the dramatic sunset images we drooled over on the hotel's website. Unfortunately, we had some bad timing because all we saw was an ocean of fog. Overall, it was a clean, comfortable stay.

ROOMS: We booked two rooms. The first was on the 5th floor (top) with a view out to the highway. It wasn't noisy, but the view of the parking lot wasn't too spectacular. We had a nice fireplace in the room, but when we turned it on it smelled a bit gassy and made creaking sounds. The second room was a partial ocean view. Again, all we could see was fog. The rooms weren't anything fancy, but they were large and comfortable and I miss that comfy bed to this day. On the down side, there was hard flooring in the hallways outside the room doors that were quite loud when suitcases rolled over them.

SERVICE: The service was pretty good overall. The front desk receptionist made us feel like we had her full attention when we were checking in. She was patient and professional despite the phone ringing, a small line building up behind us, and some malfunctioning computer systems. Great job! We had trouble communicating with some of the housekeeping staff though. The first one didn't understand English, and the second one gave a less than friendly look when I asked for a replacement coffee machine because ours wasn't working.

AMENITIES: We didn't have much time to check out the restaurants or the gym, but the pool looked really nice. I've made a mental note to go back in the summer time.

LOCATION: Again, a fantastic oceanfront location that we couldn't see with all the fog. But I'm sure on a nice sunny day, the view would be spectacular. The highway is a stone's throw away, so pretty easy to access.

FOOD: Didn't try, but wish we did!

Room Tip: The entry level rooms face the parking lot and highway even though the hotel calls them mountain vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wangderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
wangderlust ~ I'm so sorry you missed the ocean views and sunset this trip! From your photos, it looks like you were here for one of our rare days of actually being socked in! The best times to avoid the fog for your next visit, are spring and fall (and our pool is heated, so you can even use it in the fog). I'm glad to hear that you found the bed so comfy and felt well taken care of by the front desk. If you need assistance with anything, they are the place to go!
We look forward to your next (fogfree) visit!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Cliffs Resort is very clean and the grounds and view of the ocean are beautiful. Every employee that we encountered from check in to check out was very friendly and always started a conversation with you. The rooms were very pretty and clean and quiet. We were there for a long holiday weekend so the hotel was fully booked. We did go to the bar one evening and had drinks and soup, both were very good. Would like to return when it is not a holiday and a little less busy. Also, the weather the weekend that we were there was around 80 degrees. I loved seeing all the dogs, as they are welcome at The Cliffs Resort. I would love to bring mine if he wasn't so nervous all the time. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tron2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
tron2 ~ Thank you for your kind review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your weekend with us! We would love to have you back at a quieter time when you can bring your pup. Maybe long walks on our beach, serene ocean views and stunning sunsets will help ease his nervousness!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We checking in on Friday February 14th. The hotel is very well located. The front desk staff and everyone was very nice, friendly and helpful. The room was good size and very nicely appointed. Clean and comfortable. We stayed 3 nights. The restaurant and bar on the property were very nice. Quite large outside patio area off the bar area. The weather was great. Pool and spa was great. Nice walk down to the beach. Great place, we will come again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Tron4 ~ I'm so glad you had a chance to explore our property and great weather to enjoy it.
We look forward to seeing you again soon, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,949 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,369 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,935 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,195 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing