We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place For A Special Occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Place For A Special Occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed here one night while celebrating 30th wedding anniversary. Very good choice. Ocean view king bed room was excellent with view of ocean and pool. Just 5 minute walk down to secluded beach with tide pools and everything from star fish to crabs and other creatures at low tide. Watched a gorgeous pacific ocean sunset (see pics). Great room although TV gave us issues - in hindsight should have told staff when we first noticed and not as we were leaving. Staff could not have been friendlier or more professional. You can hear muffled voices and loud televisions from adjoining rooms but it didn't keep me from a great nights sleep.

Room Tip: Stayed in king bed room with ocean view on inside of hotel (see pic) and it was excellent. Rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Bill V ~ Happy Anniversary! Thank you for choosing to spend this special day with us, we are honored. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took good care of you. Your pictures are beautiful, looks like it was a gorgeous day at the beach. We look forward to seeing you for your 31st anniversary (if not sooner)!
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    297
    103
    56
    46
See reviews for
265
406
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Introduced to us by friends a few years back, we stayed at the Cliffs Resort for the first time last year. It was a wonderful experience. We returned again a couple more times since and our last trip was a few weeks ago on 10-12 of Nov. We were always pleased with the rooms and service on previous trips, but this time it was a bit different. The room was perfect except for the rumbling noise coming from outside next to our room, didn't sleep well the whole night. Apparently the A/C unit was malfunctioning and early that morning a service repairman was already repairing the unit. In the morning as usual we would walk past the front desk and were asked by front desk attendant how our stay has been so far. I kindly explained the situation and to my surprise we were immediately told that we would be moved to a better room. Not only did get moved to a room beyond our expectations, they moved us into the beach front suite. WOW! In addition they gave a coupon for a free night when we book our next stay with them. My wife and I never expected this over the top service. A different room in the same area would have been good enough, we both felt like we received way too much compensation for our poor nights sleep, but this is the Cliffs Resort and that is why we will always return. The service and how we are always treated like royalty by all the staff is amazing.

Room Tip: The breakfast served is awesome use the complimentary discount coupon provided by the front desk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goosefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Goosefarm ~ Thank you for the glowing review! I'm so sorry for your poor night of sleep, but it made me smile to hear your response to our staff 's resolution. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in the suite, we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Sincerely, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Grove, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We used Groupon that we had found on-line and it was for an ocean front room. Although the room was smaller than most of their ocean front rooms, it was perfect for one night and we got a beautiful ocean view and did not have to pay the hefty rate. Not only that, the check-in person was friendly and was happy that we were using Groupon and said he was giving us a very nice room with a fireplace. We had a small dinner that night in their restaurant after being at a friends house for cocktails and they let us sit in the main dining room rather than the lounge where they serve light small plates and it was getting very noisy for the evening partiers. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast the next morning looking out at the ocean from their dining room. The wait staff were delightful. All in all it was a lovely stay even though we could only be there for one night.

Room Tip: A fire place makes it cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Linda v ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took such good care of you! It sounds like you were able to experience many of our property's amenities in just a one night stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Take care, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaver Lake, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

By far our favorite hotel in the area. Staff is well trained and very accommodating. We usually stay in the suites with the best ocean views. Worth the extra money. On-site restaurant is a plus. Also they offer poolside food and bar service during peak months. Suites offer spa tubs, marble bathrooms, expansive decks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliotthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
elliotthouse ~ thank you for your loyalty and your very kind review. I'm so glad we can provide a nice getaway for you and that our staff has been welcoming and friendly.
We look forward to your next stay, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsonville, CA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Designed to look like a cruise ship, The Cliffs' rooms are anything but ship rooms. They are very roomy, some with whirlpool baths, all with sitting areas and large screen TVs. Most rooms have an ocean view, and the hotel is right on the bluffs. Sliding glass doors allow you to go out on the deck or leave the window open for the sounds of surf at night. Pool, fine dining, valet parking and a friendly, helpful staff make this a total delight for a night or an extended getaway.

Room Tip: Some of the non view rooms actually have good views, so ask about what rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meade13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
meade13 ~ thank you for your review, I love your ship analogy. I'm glad you were well taken care of by our staff and that you enjoyed our hotel and location (you can't beat going to sleep to the sound of the waves). Your photo of the ocean is fantastic!
We look forward to your next stay, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Love this resort! Even when the coastal fog rolls in on the central coast, this place stays sunny. You can't find a better place to stay when visiting the area. Keep an eye out for their special pricing and book in advance. We went to school at Cal Poly and now have a student there. The perfect excuse to visit San Luis Obispo!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view if possible but top floor is preferable if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Teresa R ~ thank you for your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! With Cal Poly back in session, this is a great time to visit. You may have some coastal fog in the morning, but the afternoons have been beautiful! How fun to share this area with your child too.
We look forward to your next visit, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

This resort is awesome in every aspect! The room was beautiful, the pool perfect, the service top rate, and the food delicious!! The walk to and on the beach is beautiful and there are great tide pools to explore. We even saw an otter right off the tide pools! There is kayaking and great hiking nearby and wonderful drives. Everyone from the front desk to room service to the girl in the hotel shop could not have been any more friendly or helpful. Will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great! We did not have an "ocean front" room, but our windows opened to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Cindy W ~ Thank you so much for your glowing review! I'm glad you had a chance to explore our property and our town, and that it was such a great experience for you. Very cool that you saw the otter, you never know what wildlife will be cruising by ~ otters, dolphins, and the whales will be back soon! We look forward to seeing you again, Cindy.
Thank you, Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#5 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#9 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing