We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, kid-friendly, pet-friendly.”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cliffs this 4th of July weekend. We had a wonderful experience. Pool is a bit small but heated. It was a holiday weekend so spa was usually crowded, but we really like the way they are kid and pet friendly. They have s'mores out by pool at 7:00 pm and hot chocolate. Friday n Saturday they had a movie also out by pool. They have nice walking paths to take the dog out for a walk. Rooms were clean, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mruano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Mruano, thank you for taking the time to write your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were on property to take advantage of our Kids Club activities,like the movies and the s'mores (which are not just for the kids :) )!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for The Cliffs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a relaxing stay we had at the Cliffs Resort. Our room was comfortable and spacious w/frig and microwave in room. Robes for lounging were soft and comfy. Breakfast was not included but we added it to our package and it was a full-spread with an made-to-order omelet station and delicious freshly baked muffins. Easy access to the beach and walking trail. Nice pool and lounging area. The hotel staff was very helpful - great service from the valet staff. Easy access to the freeway and only a short distance to San Luis Obispo and about a 30-minute drive to Hearst Castle. I recommend this hotel if you like easy beach access.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

nrmad ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed a relaxing stay at our hotel, and found our staff helpful and accommodating. It sounds like you started your day with Hannah's freshly baked muffins too, what a treat! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I came back to this hotel with my sister and husband traveling from out of state. We wanted to show the central coast has to offer over the more familiar Beach locales, The hotel has amazing views, access to a nice beach, very dog friendly, and all of the staff is extremely helpful. The oceanfront bar is a great spot to enjoy the late afternoon sun,and many locals flock to the place for the atmosphere. The clientele is friendly and laid back an overall family atmosphere.

We got great service from Catherine at the front desk who was very accommodating and helped my sister get the room of her dreams!

We'll be back

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amookru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

amookru ~ Thank you for such a kind review and endorsement to your family! I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay and that Catherine could help make your sister's stay fantastic. Hope to see you again soon, we will save a table for you on the patio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We left a very expensive pair of sunglasses in our room upon check out. Two weeks later we realized they were gone. Called the hotel, they said Sylvia, housekeeping staff, found the glasses and kept them in housekeeping. The Cliffs resort is going to FedEx the glasses to our home. Great staff, fun place to stay, thanks to Sylvia and hotel staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Julie P, thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad we were able to locate your glasses and get them back to you quickly. Sylvia is a longtime employee, thank you for recognizing her great service and honesty. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here with my family for two nights in June. The hotel is great, right on the water. Great pool and spa, beautiful view. Access to beach. Rooms were comfortable, bathrooms a little small. Great stay and we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sksanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

sksanche ~ Thank you for taking your time to write this review. It sounds like you were able to enjoy most of our amenities, I'm so glad you and your family had such a good time. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was very nice. Our room faced the parking lot so it was a little noisy but not too bad. My daughter loved the pool. Even though it was pretty windy while we were there. The pool is protected by all the buildings and it made our pool time a lot more comfortable. Overall it was a very nice getaway spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

ElizabethO ~ It has been warm, I'm so glad we could provide a nice, refreshing getaway for you and your family! For your next stay, our Partial Ocean view rooms (the next category up) are very quiet as they face an open lot and look up the coast toward Avila Beach. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Comfortable, thought for the summer and right by the beach. This hotel is convenient when the beach is what you are looking for. Big rooms, some of them allow you to walk straight from your room to the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

GLSMAD ~ Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,014 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,053 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $227 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing