We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Stay, would return..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rosville, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Stay, would return..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here with my family for two nights in June. The hotel is great, right on the water. Great pool and spa, beautiful view. Access to beach. Rooms were comfortable, bathrooms a little small. Great stay and we will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sksanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
sksanche ~ Thank you for taking your time to write this review. It sounds like you were able to enjoy most of our amenities, I'm so glad you and your family had such a good time. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    277
    94
    51
    43
See reviews for
243
371
24
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was very nice. Our room faced the parking lot so it was a little noisy but not too bad. My daughter loved the pool. Even though it was pretty windy while we were there. The pool is protected by all the buildings and it made our pool time a lot more comfortable. Overall it was a very nice getaway spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
ElizabethO ~ It has been warm, I'm so glad we could provide a nice, refreshing getaway for you and your family! For your next stay, our Partial Ocean view rooms (the next category up) are very quiet as they face an open lot and look up the coast toward Avila Beach. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Comfortable, thought for the summer and right by the beach. This hotel is convenient when the beach is what you are looking for. Big rooms, some of them allow you to walk straight from your room to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
GLSMAD ~ Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Cliffs using a Groupon that we got a couple months ago. Very good deal! We were also celebrating our 8 year anniversary, and this was special because we stayed at this same hotel on our honeymoon. Everything started out great, the front desk staff was amazing, concert on the lawn was nice (brought a rowdy crowd though, luckily they weren't allowed at the pool, but police did have to come and break up a fight), and our room had a fireplace that we were excited to use later that evening.

The problems began that night as we sat down to dinner at the Marisol, all of the electricity went out. We had to eat by the light of our cell phones and pay cash. Then we used our phones as flashlights to get back to the front desk. They gave us two glow sticks for our room, and then we had to take the stairs to the fifth floor. Our room was pitch black & strangely quiet. Our fireplace didn't work :( and all we had to see was our two little glow sticks. So our night was pretty disappointing. We had to sleep with the window open for fresh air and fell asleep to the sound of the people in the pool talking to people on the balconies :/

I understand that The Cliffs had no control over the electricity going out, but it seemed there should be a better back up plan (flash lights maybe, or another backup generator?). The next morning we mentioned the problems we had the night before and we were told "Yeah, it was a bummer." I was expecting some sort of apology and either a discount on our stay, or credit toward a future stay, but nothing was offered. Under normal circumstances I would give this hotel 5 stars across the board...I love it! But I was disappointed in our trip this time :(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Bethatrix ~ Congratulations on your anniversary! We are honored that you chose our hotel first for your honeymoon and again for your 8 year anniversary. I'm sorry that your stay was during our county-wide blackout, but I understand it was not so much the lack of power, but the response that fell short. Of course we would love to have you stay with us again (and use the fireplace) and offer some compensation for your last stay. Please contact me at Stephanie@cliffsresort.com for your next reservation, and hopefully we can arrange another visit before your 9th anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying at the Cliffs Resort in Pismo Beach! The view is amazing. Rooms are clean and pretty. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We will definitely go back and stay when ever we are in the area or traveling through.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Wendy,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay ~ we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one of many stays at The Cliffs Resort. Every time our stay has been exceptional. The staff at the hotel and restaurant are always courteous, efficient, helpful and friendly. Our room was a "partial ocean view" which we enjoyed from the balcony. The room was spacious and very clean. We spent time down at the beach which is a short walk from the hotel. We enjoyed beverages on the patio overlooking the ocean at the Marisol restaurant. All in all it we had a relaxing and pleasurable stay. Great Father's Day!

Room Tip: Of course the best rooms are the Signature Suites/Ocean Front rooms. We have stayed in the pet frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Kay R, I'm so glad you enjoyed your Father's Day getaway, and that our staff took such good care of you! Thank you for being loyal guests, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way up the coast. The people at the front desk were nice and friendly. The rooms have been partially remodeled recently. Nice, newer furniture, but what was strange was two of the lamps in the room must have been from before the remodel - bad, stained, worn shades that were bent crooked on the lamps. Kind of ruined the whole look of the new room. NIce size balcony with great views over the pool and on to the ocean. Good, marble baths, though not completely remodeled. Beautiful patio at their restaurant. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hgshead, thanks for stopping by on your way up the coast! We are updating our rooms ~ I'm glad you liked the new look and that you had a chance to take in the view. Enjoy the rest of your travels, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#13 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#4 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Complimentary Friday night wine and cheese reception and Kids Club seasonally. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, Spa services and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast served Mon-Sat 7 a.m. -10:30 a.m. Sunday Brunch 8 a.m -2 p.m. Lunch Daily 11 a.m. - 10 p.m. and Dinner Daily 5 p.m.-10 p.m. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing