We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Emotions...”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Redlands, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mixed Emotions...”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Cliffs using a Groupon that we got a couple months ago. Very good deal! We were also celebrating our 8 year anniversary, and this was special because we stayed at this same hotel on our honeymoon. Everything started out great, the front desk staff was amazing, concert on the lawn was nice (brought a rowdy crowd though, luckily they weren't allowed at the pool, but police did have to come and break up a fight), and our room had a fireplace that we were excited to use later that evening.

The problems began that night as we sat down to dinner at the Marisol, all of the electricity went out. We had to eat by the light of our cell phones and pay cash. Then we used our phones as flashlights to get back to the front desk. They gave us two glow sticks for our room, and then we had to take the stairs to the fifth floor. Our room was pitch black & strangely quiet. Our fireplace didn't work :( and all we had to see was our two little glow sticks. So our night was pretty disappointing. We had to sleep with the window open for fresh air and fell asleep to the sound of the people in the pool talking to people on the balconies :/

I understand that The Cliffs had no control over the electricity going out, but it seemed there should be a better back up plan (flash lights maybe, or another backup generator?). The next morning we mentioned the problems we had the night before and we were told "Yeah, it was a bummer." I was expecting some sort of apology and either a discount on our stay, or credit toward a future stay, but nothing was offered. Under normal circumstances I would give this hotel 5 stars across the board...I love it! But I was disappointed in our trip this time :(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Bethatrix ~ Congratulations on your anniversary! We are honored that you chose our hotel first for your honeymoon and again for your 8 year anniversary. I'm sorry that your stay was during our county-wide blackout, but I understand it was not so much the lack of power, but the response that fell short. Of course we would love to have you stay with us again (and use the fireplace) and offer some compensation for your last stay. Please contact me at Stephanie@cliffsresort.com for your next reservation, and hopefully we can arrange another visit before your 9th anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    302
    106
    56
    47
See reviews for
273
419
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radford, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved staying at the Cliffs Resort in Pismo Beach! The view is amazing. Rooms are clean and pretty. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We will definitely go back and stay when ever we are in the area or traveling through.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Wendy,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay ~ we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is one of many stays at The Cliffs Resort. Every time our stay has been exceptional. The staff at the hotel and restaurant are always courteous, efficient, helpful and friendly. Our room was a "partial ocean view" which we enjoyed from the balcony. The room was spacious and very clean. We spent time down at the beach which is a short walk from the hotel. We enjoyed beverages on the patio overlooking the ocean at the Marisol restaurant. All in all it we had a relaxing and pleasurable stay. Great Father's Day!

Room Tip: Of course the best rooms are the Signature Suites/Ocean Front rooms. We have stayed in the pet frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Kay R, I'm so glad you enjoyed your Father's Day getaway, and that our staff took such good care of you! Thank you for being loyal guests, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way up the coast. The people at the front desk were nice and friendly. The rooms have been partially remodeled recently. Nice, newer furniture, but what was strange was two of the lamps in the room must have been from before the remodel - bad, stained, worn shades that were bent crooked on the lamps. Kind of ruined the whole look of the new room. NIce size balcony with great views over the pool and on to the ocean. Good, marble baths, though not completely remodeled. Beautiful patio at their restaurant. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hgshead, thanks for stopping by on your way up the coast! We are updating our rooms ~ I'm glad you liked the new look and that you had a chance to take in the view. Enjoy the rest of your travels, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland County, MI
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at The Cliffs Resort June 6 & June 7, 2013 after completing the Highway 1 Drive from Half Moon Bay. We stayed in an ocean front signature suite room (the one you have to call ahead of time to reserve) and it was very much worth it. The room was clean, roomy, and had a nice sized balcony that overlooked the ocean and bluffs. The hotel itself was tranquil and calm (although we heard it picks up in July). We could see the ocean view from the bed and shower, which was great! Pros of the room itself included: 1) Keurig with variety of K-cups, 2) large bath tub with room for two, 3) No noise at all was ever heard from the hall or the neighboring rooms (we stayed in room 345, which was a corner room and we highly recommend requesting), 3) open room layout. A con of the room was no fan/vent in the restroom. Each night we slept with the balcony sliding door open and the sheer drape closed, and this provided a nice calming sound of the ocean and waves, without distracting or unpleasant noises from crowds, traffic, etc. The pool was heated and we went for a swim earlier in the day to beat the crowds. The hot tub was large and nice and not over chlorinated. We really enjoyed our stay. The only complaint would be that the hotel restaurant located on site is much more casual and geared more toward families - for a more romantic experience go next door to dolphin bay resort's restaurant where beautiful outdoor eating is available with heaters. Also, the room service at the hotel took quite a long time to arrive in the bedroom. This hotel shares a paved walkway with adjacent hotels which is very nice for casual walks. Of the hotels on this strip, a clear advantage is that The Cliffs Resort is the only hotel with direct stairway access to the beach where we could go on nice walks, and watch surfers, paragliders, fishermen, and impressive sunsets. Overall, great place to vacation, we were sad to leave the beautiful room and wonderful view! We would definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: The oceanfront suites are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquikzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write this review, Jacquikzoo. I'm glad our hotel was a peaceful, quiet oasis for you after your drive down the coast. It sounds like you had a fun visit to our beach as well, checking out the "sea life". Your sunset photos are beautiful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend the night at the Cliffs to quietly celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary In May. We stayed in the Signature Oceanfront Suite. When we entered the room, we were overwhelmed by the beauty and serenity of the view which was spectacular that day. There was not a cloud in the sky, the ocean was perfectly blue and shimmery, which likely lowered our blood pressures a few points. Not only was the view amazing, but the room met our expectations and more. The bedding and pillows were very comfortable. The setting of our in-room dining table that looked out at the horizon and subsequent sunset was "delicious". The balcony wrapped around at a slight angle which only enhanced our views, left and right. Looking down on the well-manicured lawn of this hotel and the others around, was a feast for the eyes. The service was A+ and our stay was everything that we wanted it to be and more. Thanks to the staff and General Manager who made our anniversary even more unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brfandfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Congratulations on your 50th Anniversary! We are honored that you chose to spend such a special day with us. I am thrilled that the room and our staff not only met your needs, but exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you for many future anniversary celebrations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful property & great location. But the staff - oh my. A bunch of kids busy chatting with each other or on their phones without regards to the resort guests.

Do yourself a favor - Do Not Stay Here

Valets and doormen routinely engaged in personal conversations ignoring arriving or departing guests. Not once in 3 days did they open the door for my fiancee'. I even opened the door for a very pregnant woman who was trying to juggle the things she was carrying and open the hotel door. Several employees were watching her and chatting - I walked across the lobby and opened the door for her. It never occurred to them to help.

Upon arrival we found that our reservation was messed up - 25 minutes later we had a room - not the ocean view on the 4th floor we had reserved but a 2nd floor room with limited view next to the elevators, ice machines and a barking dog.

Room was clean when we arrived - good thing because house keeping is a scarce commodity - you will find yourself tracking down the staff for clean towels and supplies as they do not service the rooms everyday...at least the forgot to clean ours - other guests we talked too had the same complaint.


At check out they charged us for a no-show fee for not arriving a day earlier - this was their error. Another 15 minutes and they 'accommodated' us by removing the extra charges. Three days later they put thru a charge for the 'no-show' - repeated calls and conversations with "managers" has resulted in stalls and promises of calls back by 'persons in authority' - still no call back.

There were many other little problems - so many that we found ourselves and other guests laughing - at one point we thought it must be a reality TV show because it was hard to envision such a poorly run resort. There are many fine resorts in the area that are staffed by adults who actually care about their guests - stay at any of these but avoid the disappointment - avoid the Cliffs unless you want to stay at a resort run by the Marx Brothers.

Room Tip: Best advice - do not stay here until they change management and the culture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJEvansIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
TJEvansIII, I am sorry that you and your fiance left our hotel with such a poor impression, as we take great pride in our personalized service. It looks as though your online reservation was made for the wrong day resulting in a No Show charge and you not receiving the room you had requested. I understand your frustration in not receiving the room you had anticipated, and I'm sorry this marred your stay. I believe the No-Show charge has been credited back to your card by our Accounting Department. I hope you continue to enjoy our area, whether it is with us or at another local hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,982 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,995 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,216 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing