We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant but lots of room for improvement”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“pleasant but lots of room for improvement”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for a weekend, family of 4 including 2 toddlers. Property grounds was great, well kept but room needed an update. One of their selling points is that you get a marble bathroom, which you do, but the marbles definitely have seen better days with stains and cracks. Bathroom fixtures are old and rusty. I did not allow my kids to take a bath in the tub as the drain plug looked pretty grubby.
We got a room overlooking the pool and the ocean beyond the pool, great but noisy at nights from the pumps. They do keep the pool temperature very warm like other reviewers have said, very nice as the weather was quite chilly when we were there. The beds were pretty comfortable, we slept well after having gotten use to the noise. The glass sliding door in our room was not properly sealed-there was a gap where it meets the wall. It also did not lock, we had to use the security bar attached to the door. There was even a sign on the door telling you to do that!
They provide you bottled water, but it's not clear if it's unlimited (there were 2 bottles in the room when we checked in) since you need to ask at the front desk for more. There was no pool side services I think because it was off season, so it was a bit awkward to have to go to the lobby for your pool towels.
We dined at Marisol 3 times, once for dinner when we first arrived, again for a late night snack, and then their Sunday champagne brunch. Of the three, the brunch was probably the most fun and "most bang for your bucks". The wait staffs were hit and miss, loved Kimberly and Jose! Their food is ok, nothing spectacular, but I did love my fish sandwich. The Midori Sour I got was also one of the better ones I've had in awhile :-) (I got wined out that night).
Overall, I think it was a good experience, but at almost $300 a night, during off season, I did feel a bit cheated, mostly with the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Audeli, thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed the pool and Sunday Brunch! I wish you would have told us about the tub while you were here, so we could have found a room you were comfortable with, as we strive for you to be as comfortable with us as you are at home. I will address this with our team, and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    300
    104
    56
    47
See reviews for
266
414
25
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've stayed at this resort a few times now and it is our "go to" resort to the Pismo area. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating to any of our needs. The rooms are very comfortable with fluffy duvets and pillows. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous with unobstructed views of the water.
My two favorite parts of this hotel is the pool area and the beach access.
The pool is kept at 85 degrees and for location that is prone to a cool beach breeze this is the perfect swimming temperature. The hot tub is big and kept very hot. The bar is just inside the restaurant and you can order drinks, charge them to your room and take them right out to the pool or hot tub to enjoy. There is also a large gas fire pit with plenty of chairs and loungers to relax and enjoy your company overlooking the ocean.
The beach access is steps away from the hotel and leads you a private cove with only a few passing couples or singles walking their friendly dog.
One negative is that the rooms are not very sound proof and if it's busy and people are coming and going the doors of the rooms slamming are VERY loud. If you trying to take a nap during the day...forget it. Which is why I rated the sleep quality as average. But by nightfall, after most have taken to their beds, quiet does come.
We feel it's worth it. We love this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room or a suite, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidsnt0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty, we are honored to be your "go to" resort! I love that you are enjoying our property from pool to beach, and of course the view! Thank you for your input as well, we are currently looking at door closers that will lessen the noise of the door closing, but still ensure that it is closing completely. Hopefully we will have these installed by your next visit. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference and was very happy with this hotel. Overall, it is a very nice place to stay. The people are great, the rooms are comfortable, and the views can't be beat. The staff did a good job catering lunches and snacks for the conference. I didn't have time to take advantage of the pool, but it looked nice. The patio outside the restaurant is a wonderful place to hang out and watch the sunset.

The only downside for this hotel (and all the hotels in along this stretch of coastline) is that it is close to the freeway - there isn't much land between the mountain and the ocean, so everything is close to the freeway. This is only really a problem if your room faces inland - toward the mountain and the freeway - noise can be a problem and the view isn't good. Freeway noise isn't even noticable if your room faces toward the ocean though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank november_moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that your conference went well! Next time, I hope you can stay longer to relax by the pool area as well, but it looks like you were able to sneak away to our beach. These are great photos, thank you for sharing them (what a gorgeous sunset)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel has very spacious rooms with modern bedding and furniture. The staff was extremely polite and helpful. Anything we needed was taken care of immediately. The onsite restaurant is okay, but there are lots of great nearby restaurants in San Luis Obispo and Pismo, so this is not a drawback. The Shell Beach area of Pismo has beautiful views and the sunset view from our room was awesome! The rates paid were a good value for what we got.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are fine. Still great views, no need to pay extra for ocean front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Penny, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to be in such a stunning area ~ your photo captured the amazing sunset beautifully, thank you for sharing it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved our stay at the Cliffs Resort in Pismo Beach. The ocean view is spectacular. The rooms were even better than we expected - large, nicely designed, great bathroom with a spa tub. My husband & daughter had an event to attend but I was quite happy in the room. Room Service had good dinner options, lovely wine and it arrived very quickly with excellent service. We also appreciated the gift shop. I've been to gift shops at large hotels that actually didn't carry any of the toiletries a traveler-on-the-go may have forgotten. My husband picked up a swim suit (which he forgot) there. My daughter and I also went to the spa for a massage & facial which were both wonderful. I also loved the staff - very, very friendly and happy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazed336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review, it sounds like you were able to relax and enjoy your time with us. I'm glad you found what you needed at the gift shop, and that you were well taken care of during your stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
455 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This has some of the most amazing cliff beach views that are breathtaking. Seeing a sunset over the cliffs is a must. The staff was very helpful and provided free drink coupons for the resturant on site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Josh,
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and were able to revel in our amazing views! Although they're always changing, we never have a bad sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a King Oceanfront Suite on the 4th floor for two nights in mid-January. The rate was $244/night which is almost half of what they charge at the Dolphin Bay Resort right next door. The view from our deck was wonderful, beach access was close and convenient and the walkway along the cliffs overlooking the ocean provided a pleasant place to stroll. The bed was super comfortable, and the bathroom was well appointed. The room was broiling in the late afternoon sun when we checked in, but a call to the front desk resulted in a prompt visit from a maintenance worker who fixed the problem immediately. The shower was nice, although it had two shower heads (one at the end of a wand and the other fixed on the wall) and when you turned on the shower, I couldn't get the water to come out of just one at a time. A little frustrating but no big deal. Free breakfast next door at Marisol was a nice touch, but Marisol seems a little akwardly run in the evening. There are apparently two sections of the restaurant that offer different menus, which was a little confusing. We also encountered some problems trying to order a bottle of wine, none of the bottles we ordered were in stock and the waiter eventually comped us for the bottle that finally arrived. Apparently, the waiters go across the restaurant to an area apart from the bar where wine bottles are stored. The bartenders seemed completely clueless about what wines were in stock. Despite the almost hour-long delay in getting a bottle of wine to enjoy with dinner, the dinners we ate here were quite tasty. All of the employees we encountered were open and friendly. I thought the pool design was a little weird, though. From the hotel, you have to walk up some stairs to the pool deck which is actually on the second floor...and the pool itself is surrounded by an almost moat-like decorative separate strip of pool that isn't used. The hot tub was in a nice location, and although the jets made a lot of noise, they were really ineffective. These are very small complaints in a stay that was otherwise quite pleasant and enjoyable. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay ~ the room, the view and our ammenities. I'm sorry about the confusion with your wine, but so glad you enjoyed your dinner. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,927 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,353 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
810 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,899 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing