We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot to stay when visiting SLO”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you want the perfect spot to relax, spend time walking on the beach, hike a mountain trail that overlooks the coast, or do some wine tasting near San Luis Obispo the Cliffs is it! We spent 2 nights and 3 days at the resort and didn’t want to leave. The accommodations were upscale and the facility was in the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing weekend. We were only 10 minutes from SLO and were able to visit and take in the city.
The staff at the Cliffs were polite and professional. The valets (Ian and Logan) even helped us plan our wine tasting tour and gave us discount tickets to do some free tasting! The food at the restaurant was great and the views of the Pacific were unobstructed. Sunday morning brunch and jazz on the patio made it difficult for us to leave.
We’ve already made our plans to return. Can’t wait!

Room Tip: Look for an ocean view room. We did and were VERY happy!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdh814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience ~ I'm so glad you enjoyed your getaway! If you are with us on a Friday during your next stay, join us in Marisol, our restaurant, for a complimentary guest wine tasting with our wine expert Jeff Chaney. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for The Cliffs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Resort sits on the bluff overlooking the ocean. It has everything you need for a short stay--nice restaurant, pool, gym, spa. The gym was lacking, with only one exercise bike, two treadmills, and an eliptical that was broken. Also had free wights, a couple of benches and two Universal machines that focused on upper body exercises. The walk down to the tide pools is steps away, but watch for the tides. Very lovely setting. The rooms were clean, the hall ways seemed very clean. It was raining so they were on top of keeping floors mopped and clean. The bathrooms are marble, lovely, the furnishings, modern (very cool leather, wing back chair & ottoman in our room) but the headboard is just a facade, fastened to the wall, so the bed would bang against when we moved. We moved the bed for our son against the way, so the faux-headboard was two feet away from him. The tv is big, the rooms were large, we had our dogs and they made them comfortable with a large fluffy bed, water bowls and treats, and a menu with steak or chicken--made my husbands mouth water to read it. We had trouble with our heater making a loud noise and they sent someone to fix it immediately. They gave us the option to change rooms, but we didn't want to deal with packing up/unpacking again, so we had hiim fix it while we were in the room--pretty painless. Our patio door lock was broken so they sent someone from maintenance to show us where the stick to lay across the tracks was. Both my husband and I thought that could have been handles over the phone. We waited for a while before the guy showed up, so we were a bit late for our appointment. The people at the frontdesk are nice, but they could be better informed about the rooms.

Room Tip: Get a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariachurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

I’m so glad you were able to explore our tidepools with your son while you were here, and that your pups were comfortable during your stay. It sounds like our Engineering Team was quick and courteous in taking care of your heater. However, I’m sorry the explanation for the safety bar on the sliding door wasn’t as quick. I’m sure the Front Desk Agent wanted to take care of you, but I understand you didn’t have the time to wait as you had some place to be. We are in the planning stages of updating our workout facility, and while I don’t have a completion date, we would love to have you stay with us on your next trip to Pismo Beach. With all of the upcoming holidays, we have a lot of fun children’s activities for you and your son to enjoy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We already plan to return. As we prepared to check out, the sun was shining, a band was playing great tunes on the (ocean front) restaurant patio, the ocean view was spectacular... it was tough leaving our balcony and room! Very nice rooms, pool, jacuzzi, and grounds. Loved the comfy bed, lovely linens, and the all-marble bath. Thought the lobby just a bit dated though. Didn't utilize any spa services. The food was fantastic - great breakfasts (oh the muffins), had delicious and beautiful meals & cocktails overlooking the Pacific - indoors and out. We found the handsome staff to be friendly, professional, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area and fun things to do. Great location, walkable to a perfect beach, other restaurants, hotels, and to a trailhead. Looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Highly recommend an ocean front room, stunning views.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvs2travel333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

So glad you enjoyed your visit, and thank you for taking the time to write your review. It sounds like you were able to sample the Muffin Goddess’ amazing treats for breakfast as well as take advantage of some of our greatest assets ~ our knowledgeable (and handsome :) ) staff and the sparkling Pacific! We look forward to your next visit, we will have a cocktail awaiting you on the patio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

For their price, and their location I expected more from this place. It looks like an early 80's remodeled badly. The elevators "jolt", when they start, and the common area carpets are worn out. The rooms are well decorated and roomy enough, but the bathrooms have a single sink, low ceilings, inefficient exhaust fans, TERRIBLE showerheads, and a BREVITY OF HOT WATER. The upside of this place is the view (if you get a view room), good internet, beach access, nice pool and spa, and a decent restaurant next door. Cold showers however... not so nice.

Room Tip: Get a view room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

David, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback in
regards to your stay. I’m glad that you were able to enjoy the beach, our
pool, and the room itself. It sounds as though our bathroom, however was
not up to your standards, and as far as the cold shower, I agree ~ never
nice. In the future, please let us know if you experience an issue when
it happens so we can fix it immediately or if necessary find another room
for you. We aim for a seamless visit, but at times experience minor
glitches, and our able Engineering team is quick to respond. Our guests’
comfort and enjoyment are our number one goal. We hope you will stay with
us again on your next visit to Pismo Beach so we can show you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Amazing value for what you get -- I had a huge room with fireplace overlooking the ocean. Stunning spot to stop on your drive up the CA coastline. The staff was very friendly and accommodating also.

I would highly recommend staying here, as the views are gorgeous, and the rooms are fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! I am glad you were able to relax in your room after a day of driving along the beautiful coast and take advantage of our ocean views. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a fabulous place to experience the Pacific Coast. We had a room overlooking the pool and the ocean; and, it was spectacular. There is a stairway that leads down to the beach. The food at the hotel restaurant is delicious; and, in addition to free WiFi, laundry facilities are provided free of charge (except for cost of detergent) as a service to hotel guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It sounds like you had a chance to explore our little beach expanse at the bottom of the stairs and take advantage of our amazing Pacific Ocean from your room as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our Aussie family of three recently spent 6 weeks in the USA & drove from L.A to San Francisco choosing to take pot luck on finding a hotel late afternoon. The cliffs looked good and the room the staff gave us was so luxurious my 18 year old daughter did not want to leave it..She jumped in to a sumptuous bath in the middle of the room while we went to the bar. The bar has real Spanish character, great views and had plenty of friendly locals. .The marisol restaurant next door to the bar in the hotel was also memorable & the food The hotel was spotlessly clean & fantastic value for such a nice room. Of all the hotels we stayed in including Vegas,Florida, New York& Hawaii this hotel was the standout & the one we all remember most? If you don't like this place your hard to please

Room Tip: I think we stayed in a junior suite. It was a ground floor double double Ocean view and we paid abo...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1962crash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Wow ~ thank you so much for that title, I'm so glad you had such an amazing stay during your US tour! It sounds like your daughter was able to relax while you had a chance to meet some of our friendly locals and get a real taste for the great community we are apart of! I hope the rest of your trip was safe and enjoyable, and that you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,013 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,052 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $227 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing