We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Shell Beach”
Review of The Cliffs Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cliffs Resort
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Capitola, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Shell Beach”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My Husband and I have been twice to The Cliffs and we plan to go back every year. It is on the cliffs with a magnificent view. The location is perfect for us to take small trips to adjacent towns.
We were able to get the room we requested. Great staff and service.

Room Tip: Suites are worth the price, sunny and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NubiaR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your return visit, we look forward to seeing you and your husband again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    302
    104
    56
    47
See reviews for
268
416
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just got to the hotel - our reservation was wrong - my husband and I reserved a king bed, and they gave us two full beds. The "manager" Jole was snarky and rude and told us it was our fault even though we would never reserve two beds. He also said there was nothing he could do - even though there was a king suite available he wanted us to pay the full price for it. I would have walked right out of the hotel if we weren't here for a wedding which my husband is in.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EYNord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
I know that you were disappointed with the room you reserved this weekend. While we try our best to accommodate all our guests, we unfortunately have a limited number of Non View Rooms with King Beds in the hotel, so do not sell them online. My apologies if it wasn't more clear on our site that the room you reserved had two queen sized beds only. I wish we had more availability to change the room you were in, but with three weddings on property and a Sunset Magazine festival in town, even the suite which Joel offered a discounted price on for you was sold within minutes. I always recommend calling in to speak with one of our Reservations Specialists so you can get all the options we have available and ensure that we are meeting all the needs of your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed at the Cliffs for my bachelorette party weekend, we went wine tasting and traveled to the Sycamore Springs Spa Day from the Cliff's. The stay at the Cliffs was FABULOUS! The manager treated us like royalty and put up with all our shenanigans! The buffet is OUT OF THIS WORLD! I would literally go back JUST for the brunch buffet, bottomless champagne...YES PLEASE! The room was clean, spacious and well decorated...I LOVED THE CLIFFS! The manager looks like Jeff Goldblum...pretty funny. You cannot get down to the beach very easily because it is literally located on a Cliff (thus the name) which is kind of a downfall, but if you go to the pool and spa you can sit and look out on the ocean! They always have fun things going on at the hotel too, they had a vodka tasting when we were there...which we didn’t attend but it looked like a blast! It seemed like a nice hotel for all types of people, from families, to friends, to a romantic getaway! You do have to take a taxi or drive to go to the “happening” places in Pismo, but it is worth the serenity that the hotel has to offer you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iiilucky1iii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Congratulations on your upcoming wedding! Sounds like you and your girlfriends had a great trip and got to enjoy the hotel and the area (we love Sycamore too!). I'm glad you were well taken care of, and well fed ~ Sunday Brunch is always a good time! Looking forward to your next stay with your new hubby!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I decided to stay here on our drive from Anaheim up to Sonoma. It was about 5 hours north of Anaheim, and it took us about 10 hours to get from the hotel up to Sonoma (taking the coast the whole way). We only stayed for one night, and I wish we were able to stay for more. The location is right on the cliffs of the coast, and just a stairway walk down to the beach. The views of the sunset were amazing (make sure you book a suite, or at least an ocean view). We booked a suite, and absolutely loved it. It had a bathroom, separate Jacuzzi tub, and gorgeous view from the king bed. We left the doors open all night and slept to the sound of the ocean through the California blinds. The balcony was a good size too. The pool was also nice, and slightly heated, the hot tub was fine as well. And, they were nice enough to send of bottle of wine to our room because we were celebrating our anniversary. We did eat at the restaurant and we had no complaints. The brisket dinner was amazing! We did order room service for breakfast and they got my order wrong, but offered to remake it (but i declined). We really did have a great stay, and would recommend The Cliffs!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gonesomewherewarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Congratulations on your anniversay ~ thank you for choosing to spend it with us! So glad you were able to enjoy the ocean views from your room, as well as our little beach oasis at the bottom of the cliffs and the amazing views we are lucky enough to have. I'm sorry for the confusion on your breakfast order, but I'm glad you had a safe drive north and hope you had a fantastic rest of your trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We arrived from the Yosimite National Park to The Cliff for a brief two night stay that composed of
4 nights in Napa / Sonoma , to the YNP , onto Pismo Beach for 2 evenings and then on to Carmel for 4 nights.
We found the service, the ocean front rm, great, loved the fact I could keep the dr open while sleeping, and hear the sounds of the waves, and the restaurant for a happy hour snack was very good and quite upbeat. The staff were friendly, informative, and pleasant to deal with.
The hotel is well maintained, and offers beautiful water views of the ocean! The beach below is
O.k. For a brief walk, but if you want to visit a real beach with a pier, restaurants, & shops there is a sweet little village called Avila Beach only a 10 minute drive, fun to visit, has a nice vibe!

Room Tip: We choose a room with a view directly on the ocean, Loved it! ! So beautiful, great balcony, Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancingqueen53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Sounds like you had a whirlwind trip, so glad you made it to The Cliffs! Avila Beach is a great place to spend the day, but I'm glad you were able to enjoy the ocean views and breezes from your room as well. Hope the rest of your trip was just as amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I paid a little more for a room facing the ocean and I am glad I did. Nothing beats enjoying a morning coffee on the balcony and seeing three dolphins enjoying themselves in the Bay. Plus a beautiful sunset in the evening.

Rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and everything you need. I enjoyed a good steak in the restaurant and drinks and dancing in the bar afterwards. I was there on a Friday night and it was busy.

I wish I had time to enjoy the the pool area as it looks great. If you want to impress someone then this is the place. A large tent was set up in the grounds for a wedding the next day and it would be a great place for that.

Enjoy!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BoltonionLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed yourself and that you were here for our dolphin show! I agree that is the perfect way to start your day ~ a cup of coffee with an ocean view. Thank you for taking the time to write your review, hopefully next time you can stay a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I had a wonderful getaway weekend here over Labor day. The rooms are comfy and spacious with fireplaces that warm up the room quickly. Beds were very nice and plush and we got a good nights sleep. The hotel bar, Marisol, is also amazing. It opens up to expansive ocean views and there was a DJ spinning top 40 hits and the drinks were yummy. The outdoor patio surrounding the pool would have been nice but it was soooo cold and not enough heaters for the size of the heating area. The pool area also has a fire pit but we couldn't enjoy it because of the number of people trying to warm up around it. Definitely will return as the proximity to amazing wine tasting (Paso Robles, Edna Valley and Santa Ynez) is all within an hour's drive. Not to mention Pismo Beach and all its amazing restaurants and family fun. Definitely consider this resort!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrisie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliffs_resort, Manager at The Cliffs Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Chrisie ~ We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and it sounds like you got to explore our great wine country! We look forward to your next visit, let us know if you would like winery recommendations, and ask about coupons for complimentary tastings (wineries often drop some off for us). Good point, the evenings do get chilly by the ocean, so it's always good to bring a jacket so you can still enjoy the surroundings when the sun goes down. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,940 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,198 reviews
2.5 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cliffs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliffs Resort

Property: The Cliffs Resort
Address: 2757 Shell Beach Rd, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Pismo Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pismo Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliffs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront full-service resort with sweeping ocean views, beautifully located 100 feet above Shell & Pismo Beaches. Deluxe guest rooms with private balcony and mountain, pool or ocean views. Friday night wine and cheese reception and Saturday Sangria Reception. Heated, outdoor oceanfront pool, new Spa diaFeliz and 24-hour fitness center. Full service restaurant with room service, focusing on fresh, local produce and providers, as well as an oceanfront lounge with Happy Hour specials Monday through Friday. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner Daily, as well as Sunday Brunch. Live music select days throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cliffs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Hotel Pismo Beach
Cliffs Resort Pismo Beach
Cliffs Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Cliff Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing