We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUDE STAFF”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

There is a major disconnect btwn the staff/hotel and reservations. We booked it under our Rewards program and when the family arrived they not only made us wait for an hour to "clean the room" but when we checked in they said there was no res.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Kelly,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western Shore Cliff Lodge we strive every day to provide a superior customer service experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you.

I am sorry for any confusion you experience regarding your arrival process. I imagine when you came to check in originally we most likely preregistered your reservation while waiting for the room to be completed by housekeeping. Perhaps the staff member that checked you in didn't realize that this had been done. In any case, we will use the feedback you have given us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

We would be honored to have you come back and give us the opportunity to WOW you!

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,052)
There are newer reviews for Shore Cliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Rooms are clean and comfortable -- check out the pancake machine for breakfast -- walls between rooms allow a lot of noise to go back and forth, and the noise that was coming up from the pool was distracting as well. The facility is open, and the staff pay attention to detail. The snickerdoodles on check in were exactly what I needed after that long, long drive!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are so glad to hear that our prime location offered great views and clean comfortable accommodations. I have to admit that the cookies are pretty delicious! Please come back and visit us again soon, we will have the cookies waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Love this hotel, I thought we booked the hotel north of this one, wow, what a fantastic mistake on behalf of the 800#, Katie checked us in and made us feel like family, great room, view was awesome, breakfast was very good, hot tub was a little hot, I know you say its a hot tub, I have one at home this was way up there, heated pool, and did mention views, if u love the pacific ocean you will love hotel, we had the Pismo side view, unbelievable. #travelswitherick

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank splntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled to see that we exceeded your expectations. Our staff takes pride in providing excellent service to our guests and your feedback inspires us to continue to do so each day! I am gtad to hear that Katie made such a positive impression on your stay. We hope to see you again soon, when you visit the beautiful Central Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great hotel, clean room. We stay here often on our way to Southern California and on the return home to break up the trip and give ourselves a special time at the beach. Only regret...didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sherry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Sherry,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are so glad to hear that our prime location offered great views and clean comfortable accommodations. Please come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in Room 225 - an end unit directly facing the Ocean on the 2nd floor. The room was recently remodeled and the finishes were lovely. The property is immaculately maintained. Breakfast was plenty filling with a cool pancake machine to delight the kids and hard boiled eggs, yogurt and sausage breakfast sandwiches for protein. We also saw Dolphins from our balcony a few times.

You are within walking distance of downtown Pismo and the beach - but you do have to walk along the main road a bit.

There is a nicely equipped exercise room that didn't seem to get a lot of use - it's also easy to find a great jogging route along the coast.

Room Tip: 2nd floor ocean view in the main building where the lobby is...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Loved the stunning view of the sunset from the gazebo , the lush landscaping and the gorgeous ocean view from my room. An ideal Sunday morning was spent sipping coffee on my private patio and listening to the birds and the waves. Would go back for this experience alone.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 657avantikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We discovered this place quite by accident and Justin at the front desk really helped us with some nice room options. During our two week stay, front desk manager Valerie and front desk professionals Justin and Katie proved to be solid ambassadors of both the Best Western Shore Cliff Lodge and also Pismo Beach / surrounding area, culture, and vibe as a whole. Bravo to a front desk team that gets it right and continued getting it right during the two weeks we were there. And the views are wonderful, thanks to the scenic oceanfront beautifully landscaped grounds. We'll be regulars from now on.

Room Tip: There are many different room views and different buildings. Check for your preferences.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThereDoneThat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $160 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing