We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with a great view!”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel and we will return again. The hotel is older, but looks like it was recently remodeled and is well maintained. The pool and spa area are very nice, the breakfast is simple but nice, and the view is great! Don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Brandon,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us! We are happy to hear that you will return in the future. You are correct, our property has gone through a recent renovation of our Ocean Front Building and also our workout facilities and breakfast room! We look forward to having you stay with us again when you visit the beautiful Central Coast!

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,499 - 1,505 of 2,207 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This Best Western has all of the usual amenities of a hotel of this genre. However all of the rooms have balcony views of the ocean and the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful The free breakfast is an extra; love the pancake machine. Had to keep the kids from pressing the button over and over again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank LIANE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Liane,
Thank you for the great review of your recent visit to the Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Lodge. I am thrilled to hear that you felt the staff really went above and beyond during your visit! Your positive feedback inspires our staff to provide our guests with the best customer service every day! I am glad that you enjoyed your visit here and we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Rooms were very nicely updated and bathroom was big enough for two people. The view from our pier / ocean view room was beautiful. The amenities were abundant.


Nice breakfast selection on real plates with real eating utensils.

We love Pismo and when we return we will stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Marci,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive reivew on your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that our prime location offered great views and a good breakfast! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit!

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

when I return to Pismo I will stay here again I enjoyed the sunset view from the balcony .. the hot tub and heated pool did wonders ,,,,, nice location located right off the Highway 101 .. thje breaksfast was okay ... room was clean ... wifi worked good ...all hotel personel I had contract with was outstanding at their job ... thanks for the nice stay

Room Tip: I really liked the rooms with a view of both the ocean and the Pismo pier was nice to drink my morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear Michael,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and jacuzzi, outstanding ocean views and our staff! We look forward to your next visit to the beautiful Central Coast!

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We arrived very late at night around 1 am, on our way from AZ to San Francisco for Thanksgiving. Andrew the night clerk was right there and let us into the lobby. I asked for a "quiet" room on the ocean. He found us a top floor with a gorgeous view of the ocean and pier. We slept to the sounds of the surf and awoke to the wonderful view. Andrew offered to help us with our luggage and told us about their complimentary breakfast, which we slept through.

The room was clean and spacious. The bed comfortable. And fitted sheets! I won't stay at hotels that don't use fitted sheets. And the view spectacular.

While our check in was excellent, our check out was a little less so. We had planned to return to Pismo on our way back, but the day clerk said they wouldn't guaranty a room, even if I spoke to the manager. I'm not above "bribing" hotel staff for the best rooms and service. I do well financially and I expect and will pay for the best. My suggestion that if the hotel wanted repeat business they might want to consider accommodating good clients fell on deaf ears. Apparently they make enough money they don't need the repeat business. So we are continuing our trip via Lake Tahoe.

I rate the hotel excellent for Andrews quality service and for the location. But customer service by the daytime staff could use improvement. Overall the hotel is a fabulous place to stay. One of the best views on the CA coast, if not the world. Enjoy a wonderful location, just don't expect some of the staff or management to go out of their way for you.

Room Tip: You really have your choice of views. Looking south you see the beach and city, looking west or nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the compliments on our great views and comfortable rooms. We are thrilled to hear that Andrew really impressed you! I wanted to address a couple of the issues you mentioned just to clarify. We do appreciate our repeat guests and are very happy to hear that our guests do come back time and time again. We also try our best to accommodate each guest’s special requests for certain rooms and we are generally able to honor those requests. However, on occasion, there can be unforeseen maintenance or housekeeping issues that would prevent us from being able to guarantee a particular room. We certainly hope that you would consider coming back to visit us again in the future. I can assure you both our staff and management are very happy to go out of our way for all of our guests!

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Room had great view of coast and pier. Hotel grounds are nicely kept. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was good with many options. I can't say enough good things about the desk staff. They were extremely helpful and caring in selecting the room as well as when we had a family emergency and had to check out a day early. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review about your recent stay with us. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Our staff does strive to make you feel at home when you are with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend at Pismo Beach and stayed at this hotel. We had a partial ocean view room and it turned out that we could see the ocean only from our balcony (not from inside the room) but we could always hear the soothing sound of the waves. The hotel is located right at the ocean and the pier is at a walking distance too. There's a nice complimentary breakfast, a swimming pool, and a jacuzzi, all of which we enjoyed greatly. You also get access to the tennis courts nearby when you stay here. It was a different experience to play tennis with the Pacific ocean and the setting sun as our backdrop :) I recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeghaGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and got to take advantage of our tennis courts, heated swimming pool, and spa. It sounds like you really made the most of your time here. We hope that if you are in the area in the future that you will be able to come and stay with us again!

Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,273 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
868 reviews
1 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range: $108 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop cliffs above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge, is a beautiful, newly renovated oceanfront hotel in the heart of Pismo Beach. Each guest room boats a private balcony or patio, offering sweeping views of the Central Coast landscape. During your stay, enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and free parking at our premier Pismo Beach location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing