We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked this hotel back in March and the website made it look fantastic but we were a little disappointed really. Although the rooms are a good size and had everything you would need they were a tad dated but none the less the rooms were fine. The view wasn't all it was cracked up to be so maybe request an upstairs room. My biggest bug bear however was the location of our room, it was right next to the breakfast area so we were awoken from 7 am by the sound of hungry diners dragging chairs, slamming doors, clinking plates you name it, we heard it. It sounded like we'd gone to bed in a school canteen. Then there was some kind of maintenance work going on to add to the mix. Constant banging on paper thin walls. All we wanted was a decent night sleep to continue our drive in the morning, sadly this was not the place for us. And to add insult to injury when we went to the breakfast room it was full of ignorant Germans who left their manners at home.
Pismo itself was very cute in a weird kind of Stephen King movie way! But I think it was unfortunate we went on a Tuesday when it was exceptionally quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. We apologize for the noise you experienced while staying. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,072
    622
    152
    65
    37
See reviews for
618
922
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for a night as part of our California Road Trip, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was clean and well furnished, and the bathroom was very good. We had a superb view over the pool to the ocean, and enjoyed a spectacular sunset from our balcony. Our criticism would be the lack of nearby restaurants; the only one within walking distance was one which required prior booking, but the hotel staff were very helpful in assisting us with a take-away order. Some reviews have criticised the birds around the site, but we enjoyed watching the pelicans swooping around before landing on their cliff side perches; it added to the attractions of a cliffside hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastridingowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Lodge. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our friendly staff was able to assist you. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you visit the beautiful Central Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clovis, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Typically the coast hotels are never as clean an updated as hotels in different parts of the state. This is due to the coastal air an its ability to corrode things quickly. The bottom line is, customers will sacrifice room quality for the sound, smell and view of the ocean. This hotel really offers that feature well and still provides a clean pleasant room. My car club stays here twice a year and I would return. The ocean view is my draw. Most of the other hotels only have some ocean view rooms. this hotel only offers ocean view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you return again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We got "renovated room 239" the bathroom was renovated however the rest of the room was not renovated: smelled humid, this is a very old building, low ceiling, you can hear the wood floor as you walk, the door handle is rusted and does not open at the first try, the Air conditioner stops after 15 minutes of running and you have to turn it on again the hotel supplied a small fan since they could not fix the noisy AC. a lot of seabirds sleep in the hotel gardens/hedges and every day in the morning a hotel employee power washes all the walkways unfortunately the bird-cat poop smell does not go away. At best this is a two star (2*) hotel the Best Western corporate offices need to review their ranking of this hotel to stop other customers from losing faith in their star ranking.

Room Tip: This is a 2 star hotel at best. There is a smelly reason for the low prices of this hotel. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fm7704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and I am sorry to hear that you had some maintenance issues in the room while staying with us. While our location offers amazing views, it also offers quite a bit of wildlife in terms of the birds nesting on the cliffs surrounding our property. The birds are definitely an issue that most coastal properies will face. It is our intent to provide the clean environment and accommodations our guest deserve and as you mentioned we have staff that powerwashes the public walkways on a regular basis. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you in the future.

Yours in hospitality,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel rooms themselves are fine but the surrounds are covered in bird feathers and poo. It smells of birds as well. The hotel roof is completely covered with birds and poo. Not pleasant. Our room was completely over taken with flies. As soon as we opened the door they were in. The breakfast is good but there's not much else around the hotel. The shops and cafes in Pismo beach are a short drive away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and are always looking for ways to improve our property. While our location offers amazing views, it also offers quite a bit of wildlife in terms of the birds nesting on the cliffs surrounding our property. The birds are definitely an issue that most coastal properies will face. It is our intent to provide the clean environment and accommodations our guest deserve.

Yours in Hospitality,
Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel, great location cliffside overlooking the Pacific... will reccomend to employees and friends as it is a great place to sit on balcony viewing the ocean, easy check-in and great staff... clean and awesome value for the dollars spent - loved it!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your visit. We sincerely appreciate your favorable recommendations! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Extremely impressive accommodations, most with absolutely beautiful views of the Ocean. The grounds were well-manicured, rooms spotlessly clean, all that and friendly , courteous service. A great value ... a great time !

A must-see: Enjoy a cocktail and Check out the most gorgeous sunsets at the adjoining restaurant, Ventana Grill.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room on Ocean side, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again next time you visit the beautiful Central Coast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,956 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,670 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
825 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing