We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than we expected - especially for a pet friendly room”
Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Better than we expected - especially for a pet friendly room”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Booked via phone and got an OK rate, a tad expensive, but Pismo Beach was full that weekend for a car show so took what we could get. Plus we needed a pet friendly room so our small dog could join in the fun, along with 2 queen beds as we had 3 adults in our group. There was a $25 charge per day for the dog extra which seemed reasonable compared to other pet friendly hotels.
When we arrived the room wasn't ready, but they promised it would be by 4pm. We left for a late lunch and they rang at 3.59pm to tell us the room was available. Reception was quite busy but they were maximum capacity. We had a parking space and a parking sticker for the car.
The room was soooo much better than we expected. The 70's style blue shabby motel exterior of the hotel belies the updated rooms and cliff top sea views you are met with when you enter the room. Ours was on the ground floor, 105, a few rooms away from the breakfast room. A huge room with 2 queen beds with luxury linens and plenty of pillows, big screen TV, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker, table and chairs, with a nice large bathroom (shower only) and good toiletries, hairdryer, and finally a little patio with chairs which was perfect to sit and soak in the view of the sea. Our room overlooked the little grassed area which was pet friendly, and there was a patch of grass with rocks and flowers outside the front door too so it was very easy to toilet our pup. The hotel also provided a soft blanket, a dog bowl and tasty treats for our pooch too! Nice touch :) We were super impressed with the cleanliness of the room - pet rooms can often be covered in hair and smell, but this was spotless and smelt fresh the entire time.
Breakfast was DIY cereal, pastries/toast, sausage and egg muffins, boiled eggs, yoghurt, and an entertaining pancake machine, with plenty of juices/coffee/tea to choose from. There are tables to eat at, or like most guests, you can take trays back to your room. The microwave in the room makes it easy to heat the sausage and egg muffins if you have a late riser who might miss breakfast. It was a little odd having to walk our pooch through the breakfast room to access the grassed area for dogs, we got a few outraged looks, but it was the only way to get there.
There is a pool/spa but it was crawling with kids so we gave it a miss.
Just down the road, within walking distance, is a nice park where you can walk your pooch for a real walk. Great views from the cliff tops too. We walked into Pismo within 5 mins so it is close to restaurants and cafes, in both directions.
We would stay at this hotel again, it is expensive, but worth it.

Room Tip: 105 is a great pet friendly room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwisLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    620
    152
    64
    37
See reviews for
613
919
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the minute we arived we were greeted with great smiles and out standing service! We had a second floor ocean front room with a perfect view and balcony with 2 chairs and a table. The maid kept our room immaculate for the 5 days we were there. The grounds and pool area were well cared for also. They have a free continental breakfast and the resturant next door has a good lunch and dinner menu. We wll definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardG31234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great property, great location. View was amazing, even though it wasn't a clear day. Took a bunch of pictures from the gazebo.

Rooms & beds were quite comfortable.If it's warm, sleep with the slider open to hear the waves at night. You will hear them somewhat even with the door closed, but it's a wonderful sound. Very soothing. Slept wonderfully.

Rooms open to an outdoor corridor if that matters to you. The bathroom was larger than I expected and quite nice. We were mid-way through a road trip, so were very happy to be able to use the coin operated washer & dryer. Decent workout room. We were able to find plenty to eat at breakfast.

If you're planning to grab dinner in town, call first. Apparently town closes early on weeknights. We tried two places that were closed before settling on the Thai place, which was pretty good.

If we're ever in the area again, this will absolutely be the first place I look for a room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WA147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay in Pismo Beach. It's Best Western, so you get to look after yourself a fair bit.
Great that there's a laundry!
No concierge service.
Good rooms, great views, clean & tidy resort. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub, close to great shipping too.
Extras available if ordered.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The great thing about this place is of course its spectacular location, right on top of the beach and ocean. But unlike some hotels, this one adds to the location, by providing and maintaining a high standard of accomodation. If you book a two bedroom suite at the end of the hotel away from the lobby, like we did, it's like having a private appartment at the edge of the ocean. You wake up and look down, literally, at waves crashing into the shore.
Minor point: the airco in the living room let through voices from the pool... (fortunately it wasn't busy). Hotel naturally attracts lots of people who come for the beach, so sometimes hall ways can get noisy.. But, well, behind closed doors in the bedrooms, you just heard the sea...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjoerdd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I don't want to comment upon the views, that is to be expected from a hotel on the ocean side, beautiful though nevertheless. I would like to comment upon this most fantastic, spacious, luxurious room that we had. Reading from the other reviews, this seems to be the general feature of the hotel and not just an exception. Such a spacious, well appointed room we did not expect and that was indubitably the biggest surprise when entered the room. And the bathroom, 2 sinks, lots and lots of place for the toiletries and my wife's make up stuff, huge mirrors. In the room there is a small corner with a sink, a fridge and a micro, a coffee machine and even a small cupboard to keep stuff. Shame that we didn't use it much. Most of all proper glasses and cups and not just paper cups which most of the American hotels provide these days.

Inspite of all the plus points and inspite of us being absolutely happy and satisfied with most things, we have to mention 2 negative points;
Firstly and predominantly the hotel should do something about the numerous birds/seagulls all over the place and naturally their droppings everywhere. This certainly mars the overall impression at the end of the day. I don't really fancy bird droppings in the pool and even a few of them taking a swim with me. This did apprehend me so much that I didn't go into the water after this incident for fear of catching some infection.
The second issue is not really a fault of the hotel but seems to be a general practice in America these days. This was the third weekend we spent in a hotel while in the USA and everywhere we encountered this phenomena. Many a folks just go to a hotel over the weekend to party and do not take any consideration of the next door neighbors. Towards the afternoon on Friday we had noticed some young people emptying their cars filled with beer in huge coolers, so it was with trepidation that we faced the outcome as the night approached. And we were not disappointed, as the night advanced the louder they became. No doubt after a complaint with the night staff at the desk, the security tried to put an end to it, but the folks just went to the other side of the hotel and continued with their loud partying. So another call with the night staff and eventually they stopped, but it takes time and I ask must it be. Why can't one go to a pub and party there. In my opinion the hotel should specifically inform such guests while check-in, that this will not be tolerated.

All in all, a hotel we would certainly recommend. In Pismo beach there is nothing much to do or see, specially when one has been to Monterey and Carmen before.

Room Tip: If you like room with a view then you should take one with a full view and not just a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. I am glad that you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms. The suites are the most spacious rooms we have in the hotel and definitely most family friendly.

The birds are definitely a problem that we all face at the coast. It is an up hill battle trying to stay one step ahead of them. I have added additional staff members so that we can provide the clean environment and accommodations our guest deserve.

I am sorry that you experienced noise complaints from surrounding rooms. We do have a “NO” Party policy and a penalty fee if it is broken. We do our best to enforce it but sometimes guest will do what they want no matter what. I am sorry that you had to experience this during your stay.

Please give me a call the next time you are in the Pismo Beach Area!


Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room was overlooking the pool and the ocean. It was a amazing view. Room size was nice and comfortable for four of us. Room had a nice TV, microwave, coffee marker, mugs, mini refrigerator, table and chairs. The bathroom was very nice and clean. The breakfast better than other Best Western Hotels we have stayed. They had pancakes, pastries, cereal, Oatmeal, eggs, bread, apple juice, orange juice, tea, coffee and fruits

We paid $179 + Tax. It is a little too pricy but for the location and view it was worth it. We really enjoyed our stay. Only bad thing was the heater was noisy and woke us up in the night. Once we shut off the heater we were able to sleep. Hotel staff was nice and helpful. Lobby is over looking the nice well maintained garden and ocean.

We only stayed one night, wish they had a room available for another night. I will definitely like to come back and stay in this hotel for 2 days. I recommend to anyone who enjoy the ocean and want to relax.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shereen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FunInSunPismoBeach, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I apologize for the noisy heater in your room. We try our best to make sure that these things are noticed by our staff prior to our guest checking in. I have made the necessary recommendations to the maintenance department to replace the unit. Your comments are very important to us, so giving us this information is instrumental in the success of our company.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank you
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,954 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,668 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 29 in Pismo Beach
823 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing