We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet & relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shore Cliff Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Cliff Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Pismo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Quiet & relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We rounded off our adventure in CA with 3 nights at the Shore Cliff Lodge.

We were in #231 overlooking the ocean and lawns. The room was well laid out, clean and had a comfortable bed. The bathroom was basic but had a respectable shower and again was immaculately clean. The outside balcony was a little weather worn and had quite a bit of bird poop on it together with the large seagull that left it. All in all the room was comfortable.

On the downside the breakfast was something of a scrum down with what is described as a European buffy which wasn't great but was rescued by decent coffee. We used the Cinnamon Rolls shop in town after the first morning. Given that we didn't realise breakfast was included its probably a little crass of us to complain though. The reception staff were a little worn around the edges one with a dirty blouse. During check in there was no eye contact which was a little disconcerting and despite having to walk through reception throughout the stay not once did any of the reception staff look up and acknowledge us.

This is a nice hotel. Sort the breakfast and the staff put and it could be a great hotel

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hi,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed our newly appointed guest rooms. We are now in the process of painting the exterior along with the patio railings.Unfortunately, we were not able to complete this prior to your stay. Providing superior guest service is our highest priority and greeting our guest within 10 feet is expected by our employees. I am sorry that the guest service agent did not acknowledge you during your stay.
I hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    588
    146
    61
    38
See reviews for
560
838
48
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose this hotel for our wedding because of its beautiful scenery overlooking the ocean. There is an excellent restaurant The Ventana Grill located next door in walking distance with the same beautiful scenery perfect for catching a sunset. The property is at the North end of town to Pismo so you are not is the hustle of the tiny town but just close enough to walk into town if needed. The staff was very helpful with all of our needs. We will definitely be back to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and hosting your event at The Ventana Grill. We have made many improvements begining with the remodel of the guest rooms and finishing with the full renovation of the restaurant. We are constantly striving to improve our product and guest service. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Love staying at the Shore Cliff in Pismo beach. The hotel has just been renovated; the rooms are beautiful and have great views of the water. There is a wonderful restaurant next door and it’s just a few feet away. I love the 30 day in advance discount we use it every time and enjoy all the savings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hi

Thank you for the feedback! I am glad that you enjoyed the view and the remodel of the rooms and breakfast area. Please watch for additional promotions coming soon. As you may know, October and November are the perfect months to return to the coast. Hope to see you soon.

Once again, Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
465 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We actuallly stumbled upon this place quite by accident. And were very pleasantly surprised. First, the Pismo Beach area is just lovely. This property sits right at the edge of the cliffs in it's name on Pelican Point. The birds also like it here. The grounds are quite lovely, with paved walking areas to enjoy it all safely and pavilions to sit under with a coffee. The room was lovely and we sat on the balcony listening to the surf (until the bugs discovered us) and then we went inside and the surf lulled us to sleep through the open balcony door. We also enjoyed the hot buffet-style breakfast in the adjacent restaurant the next morning.
This would be a lovely venue for weddings and other formal parties with excellent photo ops.
Very clean and comfortable with reasonabe rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for the very nice comments. I am glad that you stumbled upon us and discovered the hotel and what we have to offer.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here on our way down south along Highway 1 and the views from this hotel are absolutly amazing. The rooms are nice and the pismo beach area around the hotel has tons of good food to explore. While the water is freezing the beach itself is very clean and nice with a good break for surfing. A bit out of the way from the big cities but I think thats its appeal, would stay here again in a heartbeat. Staff was very friendly and helpful which is very important to me in my travels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our charming little town and what it has to offer. A great venue for a wedding, family reunion or just a simple family vacation.
Please give us a call if we can assist you in any accomodations you may need in the future

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Too bad the fitness center don't open until 8am. I was very disappointed about that. the view is great, the room is clean but the fridge was very loud. not sure if they can control it. looked like they just remodel the room .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel overlooks the ocean. We picked the third floor (they have elevators) and had a view of the beach. the room was huge and nicely decorated. They had a gazebo on the edge of the cliff on the other side of our location by the spa and swimming pool. It overlooked many cliffs that harbored birds, seagulls and pelicans galore. There were many beautiful flowers around the gazebo trail also. The sunsets were spectacular from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlgrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, General Manager at Shore Cliff Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. I hope you give us a call if you ever return to Pismo Beach!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pismo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#6 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#8 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Cliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Cliff Hotel

Property: Shore Cliff Hotel
Address: 2555 Price St, Pismo Beach, CA 93449-2111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Pismo Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Pismo Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pismo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shore Cliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched atop the cliffs in Pismo Beach, 90 feet above the Pacific Ocean, Shore Cliff Hotel, formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Shore Cliff Lodge features a beautiful newly renovated oceanfront location. Boasting private balconies or patios from every room to enjoy the panoramic views, the Shore Cliff Hotel offers travelers the ideal Pismo Beach location. Enjoy the largest oceanfront heated pool in Pismo Beach, spa services, complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Cliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Shore Cliff Hotel Pismo Beach
Best Western Pismo Beach
Pismo Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing